View Single Post
      08-10-2012, 06:54 AM   #1
Frankisme
Private
Frankisme's Avatar
6
Rep
70
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Thumbs up SIB/TSB: BMW will reprogram Auto Start-Stop to default to last user mode

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
I have an appointment with dealer on Monday to convert my A.S.S. to the last user mode.
It will never come back on again one it's selected off. I can't wait.

Service Bulletin listed below.

SIB 12 15 12

INFORMATION
The Automatic Start/Stop (MSA) system is a further BMW Efficient Dynamics measure aimed at meeting BMW's commitment to reducing CO2 emissions and enhancing fuel economy.

BMW, always a leader in innovative technology, will be the first automobile manufacturer to bring MSA technology to all new models.

Automatic Start/Stop systems will become prevalent in the future, as manufacturers strive to meet increasingly stringent emissions and fuel economy requirements.

By automatically switching the engine off when the car is stationary, MSA can improve fuel economy and reduce emissions.

New F-vehicles now incorporate the second generation of MSA (MSA II), which has been further developed to operate in combination with an automatic transmission and the BN2020 electrical system.

A detailed description of the MSA Automatic Start/Stop function can be found in the ICP Technician library under Technical Training course ST1112.

SITUATION

Some drivers have expressed the desire to deactivate this function in certain situations. This can be done manually via the Automatic Start/Stop function button with the LED switched on, indicating that the start/stop function is deactivated.

However, by default, the Automatic Start/Stop function is reactivated each time the engine is started.

At the request of an owner, it is possible to modify this default logic to "Last user mode."

With this logic, the current MSA's activated or deactivated setting is stored and used on the next trip.

Note: All new BMW M models have the "Last user mode" as the default setting from production.