F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Sport Display
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-22-2012, 09:45 PM   #1
fg3
New Member
4
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

Sport Display

For those who don't know me, I have a 2012 335i Sport Line, Premium, Adaptive M Suspension, Heated Seats, Heated Steering Wheel on order (Status 152 as of this morning). For those who care, I've had a 2000 323i Sport Premium and a 2002 330i Sport in the past. Since then I've strayed, driving a 2005 350Z Touring, 2008 Cadillac CTS and 2010 Audi A4 (all manual transmissions, except for the CTS).

Now, to my question. Yesterday I stopped by my dealership and had a chance to play with a 328i Sport Line that had the non-nav (small) iDrive display (which is what my car will have). The car did not have the Sport Display (Torque and HP gauges on the iDrive display).

I'm guessing this is only available on nav equipped cars with the larger display?

Can anyone confirm or deny?

Last edited by fg3; 02-22-2012 at 09:49 PM. Reason: typos
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 09:46 PM   #2
pokerface
Lieutenant Colonel
pokerface's Avatar
Canada
27
Rep
1,703
Posts

 
Drives: B8 A4 2.0T
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Hi

I don't have an answer to your question but I'll add to it:

What would the Sport Display show if the ECU was tuned?
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 10:25 PM   #3
90degreeman
Private First Class
10
Rep
173
Posts

 
Drives: Crappy 2001 Accord
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Universe

iTrader: (0)

Not sure and I would like to add a relevant question:

On the sport display gauges, is there any way to change the SI units (kW & N-m) to Imperial Units (hp & lb-ft)?
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2012, 11:28 PM   #4
PrinceBarin
Major
17
Rep
1,279
Posts

 
Drives: 430D
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Birmingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

I cannot remember where I read it but this feature is exclusive to the sport line. I have no idea as to whether it's customisable though.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 12:19 AM   #5
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,544
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

I asked the same question to my local distributor & they said Sport Display is standard on all cars.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 01:31 AM   #6
NGuyadeen
First Lieutenant
NGuyadeen's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
392
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami,Fl

iTrader: (0)

📱
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 02:23 AM   #7
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,098
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

You need Pro Navigation to see the Sport Display
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 07:04 AM   #8
ramonE90-NL
Private First Class
Netherlands
4
Rep
167
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F30 320iA
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The netherlands

iTrader: (0)

True, you will need the pro nav to use the sports display, i dont have i either . I chose the business nav with sport line pack.

Maybe its possible to activate it at some time in a business nav? I do hope so. But i'm not willing to spend €800,- (Netherlands) on a pro nav. It only has a hard drive, bigger screen, sports display and you can split the screen.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 07:48 AM   #9
fg3
New Member
4
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

Oh well. Except for the novelty and cool factor, it's kind of pointless anyway.

My dealer did say that a future software update would change the units to HP/LB-FT.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 10:00 AM   #10
SomeRandomer123
Colonel
SomeRandomer123's Avatar
England
90
Rep
2,572
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Luxury - Sport Auto
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, North West England, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fg3
Oh well. Except for the novelty and cool factor, it's kind of pointless anyway.

My dealer did say that a future software update would change the units to HP/LB-FT.
I want HP/NM !
__________________

Gone: 2006 BMW E60 520d SE 6MT
Gone: 2009 BMW E90-LCI 330d SE 6MT
Current: 2012 F30 328i Luxury 8AT
My 328i initial thoughts + media!http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712673
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 10:41 AM   #11
shoptb
Captain
shoptb's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
763
Posts

 
Drives: 13 328i MSport EBII 8A
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Columbus OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrinceBarin View Post
I cannot remember where I read it but this feature is exclusive to the sport line. I have no idea as to whether it's customisable though.
I believe that you only need the Professional Nav to show Sport Display (Sportanzeige). I drove a 328i Modern Line w/ Nav and it had the Sport Display option as well.
__________________
Current --> '13 F30 328i, 8SA, EBII, ZMM, ZPP, ZTP, ZLP, ZDA, ZCW, ZDH
Past ------> '08 E92 335xi, 6MT, DGM w SDL, ZPP, ZTP, ZLP
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 04:28 PM   #12
svache
Lieutenant Colonel
svache's Avatar
United_States
85
Rep
1,881
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoptb View Post
I believe that you only need the Professional Nav to show Sport Display (Sportanzeige). I drove a 328i Modern Line w/ Nav and it had the Sport Display option as well.
It did? That's cool coz I thought I wouldn't get it in my Luxury Line..not that I need it, but with everything else, it's cool to have
__________________
F30 328i Luxury w/ Mojave metallic, beige interior (timeline)


Note: Many PM me for links to the software needed to code. Please note that I do not have download links to this software. Your best bet is using the search function in the coding thread
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 05:19 PM   #13
MacAttackBMW
First Lieutenant
6
Rep
299
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 Sport Line - Alpine
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fontana, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonE90-NL
True, you will need the pro nav to use the sports display, i dont have i either . I chose the business nav with sport line pack.

Maybe its possible to activate it at some time in a business nav? I do hope so. But i'm not willing to spend €800,- (Netherlands) on a pro nav. It only has a hard drive, bigger screen, sports display and you can split the screen.
Wow - I don't live in the Netherlands but bigger drive and screen sure sound worth it
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 05:20 PM   #14
Yobyot
Lieutenant
Yobyot's Avatar
15
Rep
558
Posts

 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fg3 View Post
Oh well. Except for the novelty and cool factor, it's kind of pointless anyway.

My dealer did say that a future software update would change the units to HP/LB-FT.
Very interesting.

I'm not surprised that there will be updates -- only that a dealer would know what's in them in advance of BMW releasing it.

And, I wonder, will this be like the E90 updates -- where you had to "prove" you had an issue before BMW would pay to update the car? Or can you simply say, "I want English units display on my sport display, please update the car."?
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 05:59 PM   #15
svache
Lieutenant Colonel
svache's Avatar
United_States
85
Rep
1,881
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacAttackBMW View Post
Wow - I don't live in the Netherlands but bigger drive and screen sure sound worth it
The Netherlands are a benefit and a downside at the same time. The benefit is that they can still order almost everything option, instead of having to choose packages like we have to (for example, if we have nav, we couldn't even get the smaller screen, even if we wanted to), but the downside is, they pay a lot more for everything (mostly because of taxes).
__________________
F30 328i Luxury w/ Mojave metallic, beige interior (timeline)


Note: Many PM me for links to the software needed to code. Please note that I do not have download links to this software. Your best bet is using the search function in the coding thread
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 08:02 PM   #16
stampchez
Captain
stampchez's Avatar
29
Rep
644
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 135is
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

I wonder why the displays go up to 430 hp but only 300 ft lbs.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 09:15 PM   #17
sjohal
Private
2
Rep
87
Posts

 
Drives: None
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

So you can't change the units from kW to bhp in the iDrive?
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 10:47 PM   #18
90degreeman
Private First Class
10
Rep
173
Posts

 
Drives: Crappy 2001 Accord
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Universe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjohal View Post
So you can't change the units from kW to bhp in the iDrive?
Yeah, this is just laziness from BMW. How hard is it to write software of these kind of little things? A couple of hours worth of coding.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 11:38 PM   #19
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,544
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stampchez View Post
I wonder why the displays go up to 430 hp but only 300 ft lbs.
It's more of a toy than sth necessary.
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2012, 12:18 AM   #20
matt_335Ci
Colonel
matt_335Ci's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
2,291
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i Sport
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arizona - West Valley

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2012 335i sedan  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to matt_335Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot View Post

And, I wonder, will this be like the E90 updates -- where you had to "prove" you had an issue before BMW would pay to update the car? Or can you simply say, "I want English units display on my sport display, please update the car."?
+1

i hope they figured out how to update software in minutes instead of hours/days...that is why we had to practically beg to get updates in the past.
__________________
'12 335i Glacier Silver w/everest grey leather/aluminum&black gloss trim/ZSL/ZPP/ZTP/ZPS/Sport8spd/PDC/hot seats/20% ceramic tints

*RETIRED* 2009 z4 35i [e89] | 2007 335i coupe [e92] | 2001 325Ci [e46] *RETIRED*
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2012, 02:13 PM   #21
ramonE90-NL
Private First Class
Netherlands
4
Rep
167
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F30 320iA
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by svache
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacAttackBMW View Post
Wow - I don't live in the Netherlands but bigger drive and screen sure sound worth it
The Netherlands are a benefit and a downside at the same time. The benefit is that they can still order almost everything option, instead of having to choose packages like we have to (for example, if we have nav, we couldn't even get the smaller screen, even if we wanted to), but the downside is, they pay a lot more for everything (mostly because of taxes).
Yep the taxes are a big problem in the Netherlands, if i want to buy a 335i i might as wel buy a 5 series. If i would order a 335i with the same options as my f30 320i, i would pay over 65.000 euros. And a 528i touring would cost me 68.000 euros.

But i sure hope that with coding or a software update the sport display will also word on the business nav
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2012, 02:46 PM   #22
CoolDude196
.
CoolDude196's Avatar
England
12
Rep
615
Posts

 
Drives: f30 20d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeRandomer123 View Post
I want HP/NM !
+1
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST