F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > HUD Issues
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-12-2012, 06:43 PM   #1
rohms3
Lieutenant
rohms3's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
524
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

HUD Issues

It seems that every time I get in the car the HUD is in a different position. I have all the settings at the default. I understand it resets on restart, but it seems to be constantly resetting in different positions.

Sometimes I'll get in the car and its way high, or way low, to the point that the speed is illegible or cut off. Sometimes it's not as bad as others, and its only the pop up for media that gets cut off. And, sometimes its perfect. It changes pretty much every time I get in the car.

I understand that maybe I'm sitting in the seat in different positions(posture), and tried to convince myself that was the problem at first, but its just too far off to be that. I figured I would post this as I'm not going to bother going to the dealer about it (doesn't bother me that much) but thought maybe others had experienced it also or had more knowledge on how the HUD works.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2012, 07:04 PM   #2
xDrive35i
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
45
Rep
1,784
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche Macan S
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33
It seems that every time I get in the car the HUD is in a different position. I have all the settings at the default. I understand it resets on restart, but it seems to be constantly resetting in different positions.

Sometimes I'll get in the car and its way high, or way low, to the point that the speed is illegible or cut off. Sometimes it's not as bad as others, and its only the pop up for media that gets cut off. And, sometimes its perfect. It changes pretty much every time I get in the car.

I understand that maybe I'm sitting in the seat in different positions(posture), and tried to convince myself that was the problem at first, but its just too far off to be that. I figured I would post this as I'm not going to bother going to the dealer about it (doesn't bother me that much) but thought maybe others had experienced it also or had more knowledge on how the HUD works.
Do you keep both keys with you? It's possible that the car is reading a different driver profile each time you enter the car.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2012, 07:07 PM   #3
rohms3
Lieutenant
rohms3's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
524
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by juddholland View Post
Do you keep both keys with you? It's possible that the car is reading a different driver profile each time you enter the car.
Nope same key. Haven't moved the seat either.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2012, 08:30 PM   #4
Weaselboy
Major
Weaselboy's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
1,101
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335i F30 Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
It seems that every time I get in the car the HUD is in a different position.
I'm not seeing this with mine. It does sound like the settings from another key are being picked up though.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2012, 08:42 PM   #5
rohms3
Lieutenant
rohms3's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
524
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

The other key hasn't been near the car since day one. Either way, the settings are on default, and the seat hasn't moved either. I'm pretty positive it has to do with the HUD itself.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2012, 11:55 PM   #6
xDrive35i
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
45
Rep
1,784
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche Macan S
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Other option is to hop on over to the service department and have them take a look.
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2012, 03:16 AM   #7
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,099
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

The service department can adjust the HUD. Maybe the adjustment screw is loose or something. Let them have a look at it.
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST