F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > This nav system is hilarious.
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-22-2012, 10:55 AM   #23
lauruskamj
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (0)

The best system I have used by far is on an Acura. They really seemed to have nailed it. The worst on the planet that I have used is lexus. The passenger can't even aded an address while your driving, it couldn't be more annoying. So far the BMW seems pretty good although I really haven't used it enough to really gain a full opinion on it. At least you can input destinations while the car is moving, that is huge.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 11:06 AM   #24
stampchez
Captain
stampchez's Avatar
28
Rep
644
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 135is
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

I had a good experience with VW's nav in Europe. Of course I wouldn't have had much clue if it took me hundreds of miles out of the way.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 12:27 PM   #25
Alpine F31
Lieutenant Colonel
Alpine F31's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
1,833
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328i M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by E36toF30 View Post
Yet another reason why I'm not going to pay $2500 for it, even if the head-up display is cool.

Exactly. Garmin Nuvi for me. I'll use the $2500 elsewhere.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 12:33 PM   #26
jims2321
New Member
0
Rep
23
Posts

 
Drives: 1994 Mustang GT Vert
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stampchez View Post
I don't think that was the case. I left at 4:30 am so there wasn't any traffic. On the way back, it wanted me to get off the interstate and take the business route through a couple of towns.
Probably looking for an all nite restaurant for breakfast, you know how your bimmer worries about you not eating!

On a stranger note, my TomTom never had an issue finding a Hooters, but locate the a public landmark, forget.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 12:57 PM   #27
The X Men
Colonel
26
Rep
2,006
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 535xi 2013 X3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lauruskamj View Post
The best system I have used by far is on an Acura. They really seemed to have nailed it. The worst on the planet that I have used is lexus. The passenger can't even aded an address while your driving, it couldn't be more annoying. So far the BMW seems pretty good although I really haven't used it enough to really gain a full opinion on it. At least you can input destinations while the car is moving, that is huge.
I agree, Acura has the best nav system and their sound system is very good as well, too bad their grille is so ugly and the sheet metal are as durable as a tin can. The Lexus system is the worst, it locks you out of everything while you are moving. If you are on the highway, you need to pull over or exit the highway just to input a destination or look for a POI. The BMW navi seems to be as good as the Audi.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2012, 01:38 PM   #28
jddssc121
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
266
Posts

 
Drives: vroom
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The X Men View Post
I agree, Acura has the best nav system and their sound system is very good as well, too bad their grille is so ugly and the sheet metal are as durable as a tin can. The Lexus system is the worst, it locks you out of everything while you are moving. If you are on the highway, you need to pull over or exit the highway just to input a destination or look for a POI. The BMW navi seems to be as good as the Audi.
IMHO Infiniti makes a good system as well
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2012, 08:53 AM   #29
lsbuffs
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Highlands Ranch Colorado

iTrader: (0)

I just recently moved into an F30 (my first BMW) from the Acura RL. While I have no idea if Acura has the best navigation system, I can tell you the directions/routing that this BMW provides is absolutely worthless. It is truly a joke. I have tried various configuration options (fastest, ECO, etc.) without success. If I followed the direction this system spits out, I'd never get where I was going. Never had this problem with my Acura RL.

That said, I do like having the larger display and the HUD, so not overly bothered by the add'l cost.
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2012, 09:50 AM   #30
ATX78703
Major
22
Rep
1,001
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

i agree with most here that, unfortunately, your iphone or droid provides better directions than your $2500 nav. H/w, it is not really safe to be referencing your phone when you get a much larger map on your nav. I wish there was a better soln.
__________________
2014 335i RWD: ZMM, ZDA, ZDH, ZPP, ZTP, 2NH, 2TB, 5DL; Z4A MPPK; AW ext / VB int

2014 ML350: P01, R33, 297, 319, 846, 864, 889, 996; LB ext / AB int
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2012, 02:07 AM   #31
yujyh
New Member
1
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

How does the extended panel display show GPS route indicators? Is it well designed?
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2012, 02:31 AM   #32
Blue_Sky
Enlisted Member
Blue_Sky's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
38
Posts

 
Drives: --
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATX78703 View Post
i agree with most here that, unfortunately, your iphone or droid provides better directions than your $2500 nav. H/w, it is not really safe to be referencing your phone when you get a much larger map on your nav. I wish there was a better soln.

I found this on Amazon with some good reviews.. I can let you know when I receive it though.. Just sharing

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o01_s00_i01
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2012, 09:13 AM   #33
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,798
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by yujyh View Post
How does the extended panel display show GPS route indicators? Is it well designed?
The extended display shows what's shown on the HUD if you turn the HUD off.

It looks mostly like the arrow display that's shown on the split screen.

It's useful and designed pretty well, but I only enabled it once on the extended display as it's much more convenient to look at in the HUD.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2012, 11:39 AM   #34
cavm335i
Private First Class
1
Rep
130
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335i F30
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (1)

I used it to go to ft worth & dallas from Houston this weekend, it was OK but I am spoiled with Google navigation on my phone. I really just wanted it for the bigger screen and local map in perspective mode without having to dig out my phone.
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 07:15 AM   #35
yujyh
New Member
1
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

If you don't have the HUD then I guess it always shows in the extended display then?
tks
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 08:11 AM   #36
LAnderson23
Lieutenant
United_States
17
Rep
512
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i MG Sportline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by yujyh View Post
If you don't have the HUD then I guess it always shows in the extended display then?
tks
What if you don't have HUD or extended display?
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 09:55 AM   #37
pcbrew
Captain
pcbrew's Avatar
12
Rep
772
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335i 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAnderson23 View Post
What if you don't have HUD or extended display?
Extended display is included with Nav.
__________________

2012 F30 335i 6MT - Imperial Blue w/Everest Gray: Sport, Adaptive M, Premium, Tech & Parking Pkgs, Assist, Apps
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 10:09 AM   #38
yujyh
New Member
1
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Does the nav take advantage of the size of the extended display (as u know most of the info is showed in a small rectangle which is stupid as u can't see the mileage well due to the tight size of the upper wheel see-through *******, not sure the Nav in the UK shows it on the extended display but I guess it would; even if u don't have the HUD
tx
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 03:00 AM   #39
yujyh
New Member
1
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

If you don't have the HUD then I guess it always shows in the extended display then?
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 08:51 AM   #40
Silver F30
New Member
Silver F30's Avatar
0
Rep
18
Posts

 
Drives: F30 Sportline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Washington DC

iTrader: (0)

How To....

Quote:
One serious annoyance is that I can go to the scroll feature and highlight a spot but I can't drop a point on it to set as a destination, its as if I have to highlight the spot, take notes on the address then go all the way back out of the nav and enter it in the destination... Am I doing something wrong?!
@ 1.fresh.f30.335
If you go to interactive map and find the place you want to go press the idrive wheel down then scroll up one notch and that should guide you to the point you selected without having to enter the address. I do it all the time.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 09:18 AM   #41
Rick4345
Lieutenant
Rick4345's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
459
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Mineral Gray
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (7)

It doesn't seem to be as good as the Garmin I have. I recently took a trip going through Indianapolis. I couldn't have done a better job at getting lost myself. It didn't indicate the exits I needed to take and then it rerouted me to a turn around to get back to the exit it missed. I'd much rather use my Garmin.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2012, 04:30 PM   #42
BXL4
Private First Class
United_States
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 328i Alpine White
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bainbridge Island WA

iTrader: (0)

HI gps

Quote:
Originally Posted by svache
Not to mention the streetnames being awkwardly off in Hawaii :/
I found that both Google maps and MapQuest had some serious issues with addresses on Oahu and Big Island. Must be problems in source data.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2012, 06:39 PM   #43
Drk280
Second Lieutenant
Drk280's Avatar
Australia
3
Rep
254
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia - NSW - Central Coast

iTrader: (0)

I had forgotten about the strange nav routes, here is Australia the prof nav on my X5 took us through some unsealed back roads that resembled old paddock trails, that we didn't know even existed on our way to Jenolan Caves (tourist caves in the blue mountains) the distance might have been shorter but it took longer due to the unsealed roads it took us through. Needless to say we had a good laugh as we felt we were lost at some time as it took us across the top of an old dam.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 12:27 PM   #44
pej7445
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328i Sport
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Jacksonville, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The X Men View Post
Maybe thats the problem, the dynamic routing detected traffic on the normal route and automatically detour you around the traffic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1.fresh.f30.335 View Post
I use a nav as a reference, if you live by it you'll find yourself in the ocean or a pond or a rock wall... Trust your instincts not the artificial voice in a box!

One serious annoyance is that I can go to the scroll feature and highlight a spot but I can't drop a point on it to set as a destination, its as if I have to highlight the spot, take notes on the address then go all the way back out of the nav and enter it in the destination... Am I doing something wrong?!

-> Audi has the best imo, bmw's isn't too bad and both are decades ahead of the porsche system I had in my cayenne...
Quote:
Originally Posted by The X Men View Post
I agree, Acura has the best nav system and their sound system is very good as well, too bad their grille is so ugly and the sheet metal are as durable as a tin can. The Lexus system is the worst, it locks you out of everything while you are moving. If you are on the highway, you need to pull over or exit the highway just to input a destination or look for a POI. The BMW navi seems to be as good as the Audi.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsbuffs View Post
I just recently moved into an F30 (my first BMW) from the Acura RL. While I have no idea if Acura has the best navigation system, I can tell you the directions/routing that this BMW provides is absolutely worthless. It is truly a joke. I have tried various configuration options (fastest, ECO, etc.) without success. If I followed the direction this system spits out, I'd never get where I was going. Never had this problem with my Acura RL.

That said, I do like having the larger display and the HUD, so not overly bothered by the add'l cost.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lauruskamj View Post
The best system I have used by far is on an Acura. They really seemed to have nailed it. The worst on the planet that I have used is lexus. The passenger can't even aded an address while your driving, it couldn't be more annoying. So far the BMW seems pretty good although I really haven't used it enough to really gain a full opinion on it. At least you can input destinations while the car is moving, that is huge.
I agree, the Honda/Acura Navi systems are really clean and easy to use. They do lack the connected functionality of Audi and BMW though (Send to Car).
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST