F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires > F30 TPMS Facts!
TAG Motorsports
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-02-2012, 03:15 PM   #1
bavarianx
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
bavarianx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,826
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
F30 TPMS Facts!

We have received a lot of questions from F30 owners about changing their TPMS sensors and if they are compatible with the earlier E90,E91,E92, and E92 versions.

BMW made a part number change in 09/09 for the 3 series from OE #36236781847 (HUF #RDE008) to a newer version #36106790054 (HUF #RDE012) until the end of the E9X chassis.

The new F30 chassis uses a 433MHz sensor with OE#36106798872 which will not work with any of the previous versions.

Here are some reference pics earliest to latest..

36236781847


36106790054


36106798872
__________________
Tim Quaranta
(714) 983-7491
www.bavarianx.com
AIM: quaranta@mac.com
sales@bavarianx.com
bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
m3 guy
Major
 
m3 guy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5M
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hawaii

Posts: 1,284
iTrader: (3)

Thanks for the info
__________________

2013 F30 335 Estoril Blue-Black SOLD
2012 E70 X5M Monte Carlo Blue-Silverstone Journal
m3 guy is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2012, 05:53 PM   #3
onehungevo
Captain
 
Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2008

Posts: 831
iTrader: (0)

FYI....you can transfer your stock TPMS to new rims without a problem.
onehungevo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 04:08 PM   #4
bavarianx
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
bavarianx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,826
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
Quote:
Originally Posted by onehungevo View Post
FYI....you can transfer your stock TPMS to new rims without a problem.
Yes you can, however it is recommended that you replace the service kit (rubber seal) when you do so there is no chance of leaks.
__________________
Tim Quaranta
(714) 983-7491
www.bavarianx.com
AIM: quaranta@mac.com
sales@bavarianx.com
bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 03:01 AM   #5
tiltmode43
I plead the 5th.
 
tiltmode43's Avatar
 
Drives: AW F30 328i & IB E85 Z4M
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SoCal

Posts: 547
iTrader: (6)

Send a message via AIM to tiltmode43
Did not know this! Almost swapped in a set of '11MY TPMS to come aftermarket wheels thinking the later version would be F30 compatible - saved me a headache Bavarianx, thanks!
__________________
-Matt

@violetnites
tiltmode43 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 08:08 AM   #6
martinf79
Captain
 
martinf79's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 640
iTrader: (0)

Are TPMS sensors needed in Canada? Have been told that BMW cars in Canada do not use TPMS sensors. Can you confirm for the F30?
__________________

2013 335i ///M-Sport | MPPK ON ORDER | AW | BD Leather | 19” M3 ZCP Wheels | M-Sport Brakes | Adaptive M-Suspension | Variable Sport Steering | Premium Package | Enhanced Bluetooth | Sirius | BMW Apps | Heads Up Display | Speed Limit Info | M Performance Grill | Front/Rear Painted Reflectors | Coded
martinf79 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 04:40 PM   #7
bavarianx
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
bavarianx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,826
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinf79 View Post
Are TPMS sensors needed in Canada? Have been told that BMW cars in Canada do not use TPMS sensors. Can you confirm for the F30?
E9X chassis it was NOT, however the F30 may start coming standard with them. Best bet is to ask your dealer if your vehicle has them via VIN look up.
__________________
Tim Quaranta
(714) 983-7491
www.bavarianx.com
AIM: quaranta@mac.com
sales@bavarianx.com
bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2012, 10:43 AM   #8
rswbmw
Private
 
rswbmw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i SE
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I have 328 Sport with standard 18in package and have the FTM system. Measures rotation not pressure of the tire. Not sure about M Sport.
__________________
RSW
rswbmw is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2012, 01:08 PM   #9
martinf79
Captain
 
martinf79's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 640
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rswbmw View Post
I have 328 Sport with standard 18in package and have the FTM system. Measures rotation not pressure of the tire. Not sure about M Sport.
Thanks - that gives me some reassurance that it will likely be the same for the M Sport for Canada
__________________

2013 335i ///M-Sport | MPPK ON ORDER | AW | BD Leather | 19” M3 ZCP Wheels | M-Sport Brakes | Adaptive M-Suspension | Variable Sport Steering | Premium Package | Enhanced Bluetooth | Sirius | BMW Apps | Heads Up Display | Speed Limit Info | M Performance Grill | Front/Rear Painted Reflectors | Coded
martinf79 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2012, 12:01 PM   #10
Yobyot
Lieutenant
 
Yobyot's Avatar
 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 556
iTrader: (0)

I have a MY12 F30 335i that's arriving next week and I've begun investigating winter wheels and tires for it.

Tire Rack offered me a -1 (225/50R17) package of some fugly wheels, Michelin RFT snow plus TPMS sensors, mounting balancing and shipping for about $1700.

A guy in the BMWCCA is selling a set of four style 189 OEM 18" wheels plus some shoddy non-RFT snows for $500.

So, it's a toss up between buying the OEM wheels and fitting them with trustworthy tires (and optionally new TPMS sensors) versus buying the Tire Rack package.

Does anyone know what happens in the F30 if there aren't TPMS sensors in the wheels? If I buy non-RFT tires for the OEM wheels, I am not sure I need TPMS sensors because I could instantly tell if a tire is flat (and I'm manic about checking tire pressure at least monthly).

What do you think?
__________________
MY12 335i ZSL with a deep dive into the options list
Produced: 2012-06-22
ED: 2012-07-19; Arrived in Jersey City: 2012-08-23
Redelivered: 2012-09-12
Yobyot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2012, 01:02 PM   #11
tiltmode43
I plead the 5th.
 
tiltmode43's Avatar
 
Drives: AW F30 328i & IB E85 Z4M
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SoCal

Posts: 547
iTrader: (6)

Send a message via AIM to tiltmode43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot View Post
I have a MY12 F30 335i that's arriving next week and I've begun investigating winter wheels and tires for it.

Tire Rack offered me a -1 (225/50R17) package of some fugly wheels, Michelin RFT snow plus TPMS sensors, mounting balancing and shipping for about $1700.

A guy in the BMWCCA is selling a set of four style 189 OEM 18" wheels plus some shoddy non-RFT snows for $500.

So, it's a toss up between buying the OEM wheels and fitting them with trustworthy tires (and optionally new TPMS sensors) versus buying the Tire Rack package.

Does anyone know what happens in the F30 if there aren't TPMS sensors in the wheels? If I buy non-RFT tires for the OEM wheels, I am not sure I need TPMS sensors because I could instantly tell if a tire is flat (and I'm manic about checking tire pressure at least monthly).

What do you think?
I would guess that a TPMS light will come on in the dash, but nothing more. I haven't heard of a car that is equipped with TPMS and by removing the TPMS, causes any sort of real problems. Never hurts to confirm though!

Let's hear it from someone who has put wheels on with no TPMS
__________________
-Matt

@violetnites
tiltmode43 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2012, 01:18 PM   #12
Yobyot
Lieutenant
 
Yobyot's Avatar
 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 556
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiltmode43 View Post
I would guess that a TPMS light will come on in the dash, but nothing more. I haven't heard of a car that is equipped with TPMS and by removing the TPMS, causes any sort of real problems. Never hurts to confirm though!

Let's hear it from someone who has put wheels on with no TPMS
Yeah, I suspected the light would be on. But would it stop there? For example, if you have BMW Assist (and I do), would this "check condition" cause it to call the dealer, as it's supposed to do when a malfunction is noted?

Worse -- and more speculatively -- would it cause the safety systems like ABS and DTC to change behaviors?

These cars are heavily digital. The wheels are there just to keep the computers from scraping the road. I doubt anyone really knows what the impact of no TPMSs would be in the car.

Still, it would be crazy, wouldn't it, to engineer a car so that something else failed if the TPMS sensors failed or were not present.

Maybe I can code the car to turn off a TPMS warning.
__________________
MY12 335i ZSL with a deep dive into the options list
Produced: 2012-06-22
ED: 2012-07-19; Arrived in Jersey City: 2012-08-23
Redelivered: 2012-09-12
Yobyot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2012, 04:55 PM   #13
BMWinGE
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany

Posts: 647
iTrader: (0)

where is the best/cheapest place to get new TPMS for the F30?
BMWinGE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2012, 06:23 PM   #14
cardnation
Güten Täg
 
cardnation's Avatar
 
Drives: 91 E30 & 13 F30
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Louisville

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 328inGE View Post
where is the best/cheapest place to get new TPMS for the F30?
I really like these guys (http://www.thebmwpartstore.com/), they are great to work with and super responsive.
__________________
2013 F30 328i Sport 6MT MG

1991 E30 318iC 5MT M20B25 swapped Vert Black - gone
cardnation is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2012, 11:14 PM   #15
bavarianx
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
bavarianx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,826
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot View Post
Yeah, I suspected the light would be on. But would it stop there? For example, if you have BMW Assist (and I do), would this "check condition" cause it to call the dealer, as it's supposed to do when a malfunction is noted?

Worse -- and more speculatively -- would it cause the safety systems like ABS and DTC to change behaviors?

These cars are heavily digital. The wheels are there just to keep the computers from scraping the road. I doubt anyone really knows what the impact of no TPMSs would be in the car.

Still, it would be crazy, wouldn't it, to engineer a car so that something else failed if the TPMS sensors failed or were not present.

Maybe I can code the car to turn off a TPMS warning.
On the E9X, if the system was run for long enough without TPMS the function would be locked in the warning position, in other words if you tried to add TPMS it would not register and needed to be re-flashed by the dealer to work again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 328inGE View Post
where is the best/cheapest place to get new TPMS for the F30?
check our site, we have them with the valves included.
__________________
Tim Quaranta
(714) 983-7491
www.bavarianx.com
AIM: quaranta@mac.com
sales@bavarianx.com
bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2012, 02:10 AM   #16
brian99997
Private
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Am I missing something about TPMS in these cars? I can't seem to find where it reads the actual pressure that I am used to seeing in other cars.

If they just say low, why bother at all?
brian99997 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-27-2012, 04:32 PM   #17
bavarianx
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
bavarianx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,826
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian99997 View Post
Am I missing something about TPMS in these cars? I can't seem to find where it reads the actual pressure that I am used to seeing in other cars.

If they just say low, why bother at all?
The sensors transmit the actual psi, but BMW decided not to include it in the interface with the driver...
__________________
Tim Quaranta
(714) 983-7491
www.bavarianx.com
AIM: quaranta@mac.com
sales@bavarianx.com
bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-27-2012, 08:51 PM   #18
brian99997
Private
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

hmm.. is there anything that reads them then? I wouldn't use the sensor data as a bible but the sensors in my P car were always quite close to what a quality hand held gauge would read
brian99997 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 08:46 PM   #19
RPM90
Major General
 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 6,095
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian99997 View Post
hmm.. is there anything that reads them then? I wouldn't use the sensor data as a bible but the sensors in my P car were always quite close to what a quality hand held gauge would read
Search for a "coding" post by a member named "svache".
He has great information about items that can be coded.
Actual tire psi readout is available by coding.

I'm planning on doing it.
It's surprising that BMW didn't just include this as standard, considering it's already available within the system code. It just needs to be turned on. Odd.
RPM90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 03:05 AM   #20
vegadonovan
New Member
 
Drives: F12 Black
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)

Hello RPM90, have you tried it yet? I am also thinking of doing it but wondering if it's just about getting the sensors in the tires and then coding it.

=)
vegadonovan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 10:24 AM   #21
ocso1606
Lieutenant
 
ocso1606's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Syracuse,NY

Posts: 531
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 525xi  [0.00]
2010 Volvo  [0.00]
2013 BMW 335i M-Sport  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot
I have a MY12 F30 335i that's arriving next week and I've begun investigating winter wheels and tires for it.

Tire Rack offered me a -1 (225/50R17) package of some fugly wheels, Michelin RFT snow plus TPMS sensors, mounting balancing and shipping for about $1700.

A guy in the BMWCCA is selling a set of four style 189 OEM 18" wheels plus some shoddy non-RFT snows for $500.

So, it's a toss up between buying the OEM wheels and fitting them with trustworthy tires (and optionally new TPMS sensors) versus buying the Tire Rack package.

Does anyone know what happens in the F30 if there aren't TPMS sensors in the wheels? If I buy non-RFT tires for the OEM wheels, I am not sure I need TPMS sensors because I could instantly tell if a tire is flat (and I'm manic about checking tire pressure at least monthly).

What do you think?
Hope this still on topic.
I fail to understand the logic of not using TPMs. They are a safety feature - why make your car LESS safe?
They are not only for "lazy" people, who never check their tire pressure - they will warn you ahead of time that you will be getting a flat (even more important if you are not using runflats). Yes, "ahead of time", may only be 1-second or less, but that gives you time to reduce speed and prepare for what may happen (loss of control)....this has happened to me - I hope you never have to use any safety features in your car, but you'll be damn happy they are there when you do need them.
__________________
2013 335i M-Sport, Alpine White, Red Coral Leather, 6SP M/T, 403m 19" wheels, M- Suspension, CWP, M-Performance Exhaust, M-Performance Power Pack!
ocso1606 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2012, 11:10 PM   #22
IMAPE
New Member
 
IMAPE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M-sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse,NY

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocso1606 View Post
Hope this still on topic.
I fail to understand the logic of not using TPMs. They are a safety feature - why make your car LESS safe?
They are not only for people, who never check their tire pressure - they will warn you ahead of time that you will be getting a flat (even more important if you are not using runflats). Yes, "ahead of time", may only be 1-second or less, but that gives you time to reduce speed and prepare for what may happen (loss of control)....this has happened to me - I hope you never have to use any safety features in your car, but you'll be damn happy they are there when you do need them.
+1
IMAPE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST