F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > radio volume??
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-05-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
emtrey
Captain
 
emtrey's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 335 AW sport 06 Carrera S
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midwest

Posts: 651
iTrader: (0)

radio volume??

When I turn off my car with the radio set at a given volume, the radfiod does not retain that volume and comes back on at a much lower volume.

Is there a setting that controls the radio volume where the normal user volume is retained when the car or radfio is turned off ?

thanks in advance.
emtrey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2012, 07:41 PM   #2
fshubert
First Lieutenant
 
fshubert's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F30 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northwest NJ

Posts: 320
iTrader: (0)

Have not noticed that. Radio seems to come on at the volume I last left it at. Perhaps a different FOB is making the change?
__________________
2013 F30 335i | Sportline | Imperial Blue Metallic | Black Dakota | 6-speed | HK | Cold | Premium | 19" Staggered Sports | M-Performance Exhaust
Previous loves:
2009 E90 335i
2007 E90 328xi
fshubert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 08:35 AM   #3
emtrey
Captain
 
emtrey's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 335 AW sport 06 Carrera S
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midwest

Posts: 651
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fshubert View Post
Have not noticed that. Radio seems to come on at the volume I last left it at. Perhaps a different FOB is making the change?
I drive the car 99.9% of the time. Just can't figure this out..
emtrey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 10:07 AM   #4
john08135i
Major
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 1,014
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
Yea it does that
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 10:16 AM   #5
ric124
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ric124's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i SP 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,556
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by fshubert View Post
Have not noticed that. Radio seems to come on at the volume I last left it at. Perhaps a different FOB is making the change?
Yeh it does start at a lower level. I've been looking for away to change the start up volume but couldn't find it. My Gti had this feature too but I knew how to set that start up volume.
__________________
Timeline: 335i Sport W/ Adaptive M suspension| Sport Variable steering| Technology PKG| HK Sound PKG| BMW apps| BMW Assist| Sport line hand brake grip| M Performance black kidneys|
ric124 is offline   Jamaica
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 12:53 AM   #6
RPM90
Major General
 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 6,095
iTrader: (1)

My last 3 BMW's and the A4 did the same thing, the audio volume starts at a lower level than if I turned the system off at higher volume.

I like this feature very much. It's nice in the morning when you don't want something LOUD blarring at you like some of my older cars that retained the last volume setting.

I'm not positive, but I thought there was start up volume setting where you can set the "start up" default level. Maybe that was in the A4?
Not sure. Look for it in the manual, I'll have a look too.
RPM90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 07:20 AM   #7
jwilly
Private First Class
 
Drives: They're all white now.
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mebane, NC

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

Speaking of radio volume, does anyone notice that the volume control is not very speed sensitive? By that, I mean that the volume does not decrease very much when stopping from highway speeds and vice versa. In my E46, this feature worked very nicely. Not seeing it so much with the F30.

Joel
__________________

That's a lot of white
jwilly is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 08:56 AM   #8
emtrey
Captain
 
emtrey's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 335 AW sport 06 Carrera S
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midwest

Posts: 651
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM90 View Post
My last 3 BMW's and the A4 did the same thing, the audio volume starts at a lower level than if I turned the system off at higher volume.

I like this feature very much. It's nice in the morning when you don't want something LOUD blarring at you like some of my older cars that retained the last volume setting.

I'm not positive, but I thought there was start up volume setting where you can set the "start up" default level. Maybe that was in the A4?
Not sure. Look for it in the manual, I'll have a look too.
did not see anything in manual and did not get much info from CA either.
'09 135 did not do this..
emtrey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 09:20 AM   #9
Latinnftl
New Member
 
Drives: MY 13 328i Mineral Grey
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

The volume is speed sensitive and drops significantly when I come to a stop. However, at start up if I have pulled right into the drive way the volume is the same as when I turned off the car.
Latinnftl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 10:03 AM   #10
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,715
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilly View Post
Speaking of radio volume, does anyone notice that the volume control is not very speed sensitive? By that, I mean that the volume does not decrease very much when stopping from highway speeds and vice versa. In my E46, this feature worked very nicely. Not seeing it so much with the F30.

Joel
You can adjust the speed volume sensitivity.

I have mine cranked up to about 80%, it helps a lot.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2012, 10:19 AM   #11
jwilly
Private First Class
 
Drives: They're all white now.
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mebane, NC

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
You can adjust the speed volume sensitivity.

I have mine cranked up to about 80%, it helps a lot.
It's a very subtle change on the F30 compared to my E46.

Joel
__________________

That's a lot of white
jwilly is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 06:26 PM   #12
RPM90
Major General
 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 6,095
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtrey View Post
did not see anything in manual and did not get much info from CA either.
'09 135 did not do this..
Must have been the A4.
I don't see setting either, cause there ain't one, as you say from the manual.
RPM90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 06:28 PM   #13
RPM90
Major General
 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 6,095
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilly View Post
Speaking of radio volume, does anyone notice that the volume control is not very speed sensitive? By that, I mean that the volume does not decrease very much when stopping from highway speeds and vice versa. In my E46, this feature worked very nicely. Not seeing it so much with the F30.

Joel
It works noticeably in my 335i HK system.

But, now that you mention it, it does seem to come UP as speed increases, but doesn't seem to go DOWN as much as speed decreases. Hmmm...
I'll have to listen closer next time to hear the differences.
RPM90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 06:45 PM   #14
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,715
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM90 View Post
Must have been the A4.
I don't see setting either, cause there ain't one, as you say from the manual.
Agreed, the picture in the manual does not show it, but the text mentions it. I have in on my non-HK system.
Attached Images
 
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 07:30 PM   #15
emtrey
Captain
 
emtrey's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 335 AW sport 06 Carrera S
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midwest

Posts: 651
iTrader: (0)

talked to service yesterday. This is a FEATURE to prevent blown speakers. No way around it unless they do a software update at some time.

Maybe I am spealling FEATURE wrong..should be PIA......
emtrey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-05-2012, 08:25 AM   #16
Robin_NL
S0THPAW
 
Robin_NL's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 1M , Assetto Corsa
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Netherlands, Europe

Posts: 4,687
iTrader: (0)

Question. I have the Traffic Anouncement obviously on. The volume gets higher when there is a Traffic Anouncement on the radio, AND you cannot switch /fade that button from F---->R anymore at that moment, 'all' sound goes to the front speakers. This is imo exaggerating uncomfy and useless.

So which button do I push to get back to normal volume/cd HD/iPhone music when that happens?

Or just put the whole TA off, and that's what I cannot find anymore in the menu....

I have the OEM HK set.

Thanks.

Cheers
Robin
Robin_NL is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST