F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Do BMW have a "speed limit assist" type function?
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-18-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
andymj
Private First Class
6
Rep
120
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport Touring
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Do BMW have a "speed limit assist" type function?

One feature that I loved on my Benz was the Speed Limit Assist. Instead of like cruise, where you set your constant speed, Speed Limit Assist set a maximum speed, and if you pressed the accelerator down and kept it down, you would not go over that limit.

I found this incredible useful for average speed cameras.

Using cruise in avg speed camera zones is OK if there's little / no traffic around, but when busy, its often not possible to do 50mph in a 50 zone - and so your constantly engaging / disengaging the cruise.

I tried adaptive cruise as I thought this would be the answer, but I tried it on a Volvo and hated it.

So today I took delivery of my new 3 series - and I can't seem to find such a speed limit assist function. Cruise yes. But not what I'm after.

Is it only MB that have this feature ?

Andy
__________________
Melbourne Red 330D M Sport. Visibility Pack
Advanced Parking Pack, Professional Media Pack & Adaptive Suspension.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2012, 04:28 PM   #2
NISFAN
Brigadier General
NISFAN's Avatar
England
68
Rep
4,268
Posts

 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK

iTrader: (0)

Yep think so. I never use it on my Merc, supposed to be for Winter tyres
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2012, 04:49 PM   #3
RichardM
Lieutenant Colonel
England
21
Rep
1,584
Posts

 
Drives: F31 335D M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK

iTrader: (1)

No, I think only Mercedes offer it. There is the winter tyre function but that's not so easy to use on the go, it's designed to be set once for the season.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2012, 04:57 PM   #4
HighlandPete
Brigadier General
56
Rep
4,684
Posts

 
Drives: BMW F11 535i Touring
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland, Highland Region

iTrader: (0)

My F11 has the speed limiter function. The button is on the left side of the steering wheel controls, above the cruise REM function button, has LIM on it. Besides the speed setting as activated, the speed can be adjusted with the scroll function.

Has the F31 the same layout?

HighlandPete
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2012, 05:31 PM   #5
Sauveur
Enlisted Member
Canada
0
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi |2013
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Bmw have active cruise and go as an option but that does more than what you are looking for.

Workaroynd as follows.

Set speed limut to ehat to want.

Set your cruise control

Use thumb wheel to move up or down.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2012, 01:59 AM   #6
andymj
Private First Class
6
Rep
120
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport Touring
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HighlandPete View Post
My F11 has the speed limiter function
Doh - of course it does! lol I had a 530d Demonstrator and was happy to see this function. I thought all BMW's would have it. Seems that 3 Series only has Cruise, and not Limit (unless its available on a option somewhere ?)

Ah well, guess I'll just have to "make do" (if one can do that in a circa 40k car)
__________________
Melbourne Red 330D M Sport. Visibility Pack
Advanced Parking Pack, Professional Media Pack & Adaptive Suspension.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2012, 07:24 AM   #7
RichardM
Lieutenant Colonel
England
21
Rep
1,584
Posts

 
Drives: F31 335D M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK

iTrader: (1)

There are a few good features on the F11 that we miss, the auto brake hold, the way the load cover rises automatically and this. Shame.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2012, 11:16 AM   #8
crowdedhouse
Private First Class
crowdedhouse's Avatar
Ireland
4
Rep
122
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d MSport
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Yes the Auto Hold is very good, never really used the limiter much
__________________

Seven Worlds Will Collide
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2012, 01:32 PM   #9
RichardM
Lieutenant Colonel
England
21
Rep
1,584
Posts

 
Drives: F31 335D M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK

iTrader: (1)

The luggage cover was pretty cool. I was disappointed when I opened the boot of the F31 demo and nothing happened! I've got very used to having auto hold on the Mercedes too.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST