F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
rolloface
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-20-2012, 10:34 AM   #1101
demge01
Private First Class
 
demge01's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolandleth
Hello guys,

I changed RDC_SAFETY (display tire pressure and temperature) to aktive, the PSI and C labels appear next to each tire, but no values. If I do a "Confirm Tire pressure", then "--" appears where values should be.

Anyone knows why this is happening and might be able to help out?

I have a 2012 328i, EU build and using 47.5 files if that matters :S

Thanks.
Same for me it did not work either.

Rubber tyre valves here...
demge01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 11:00 AM   #1102
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolandleth View Post
I honestly don't know at the moment, but will head to the car for the last coding session and will come back with an answer.

But you might be right, EU cars might do it through rotational speed.

Where do I check if I have RDC or RPA? I suppose 2VB can be checked with a VIN decoder, right (if so, I don't have it)?
You could check your VO options in E-Sys or just go to bmwvin.com.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 01:37 PM   #1103
rolandleth
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bucharest

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Yes, apparently you were right, EU builds do it by rotation. I don't have 2VB and have RPA.

Thanks for the help yet again
rolandleth is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 01:48 PM   #1104
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by demge01 View Post
Same for me it did not work either.

Rubber tyre valves here...
Sorry. FTMS (RPA)
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2012, 03:23 PM   #1105
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (0)

TPMS is only fitted on US-spec cars, it isn't available on any other country even as a cost option. Flat tyre indicator is standard tho for those countries.
clarence is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 06:09 AM   #1106
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
A few people (can't locate their posts) have been asking about opening the tailgate w/o unlocking doors.

Correct me if I'm wrong but this is a default option here on my car (Belgium, thats EU for you yankees )
idrive -> settings -> locks -> second option available iirc


Also I'd love it if anyone can send me the links for esys as well. I probably cant receive PM yet so here's my mail (laraake@'remove'gmail.com)


Last but not least, any Belgians/Dutchmen/Germans who could help me coding? I live close to Aachen, but willing to drive around abit
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 06:55 AM   #1107
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
just went out for a quick check and its:

idrive -> settings -> door locks -> 2nd option "Tailgate"
open it and ou can select for tailgate only/tailgate + doors
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 08:40 AM   #1108
dc_bmw
Private
 
Drives: BMW 320i (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103
just went out for a quick check and its:

idrive -> settings -> door locks -> 2nd option "Tailgate"
open it and ou can select for tailgate only/tailgate + doors
Any idea which coding shows that option?
dc_bmw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 08:45 AM   #1109
Yobyot
Lieutenant
 
Yobyot's Avatar
 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 558
iTrader: (0)

Has anyone played around with options trying to set the power steering in Comfort mode to the effort level of Sport mode?

I know this is deep in an ECU somewhere. If nobody has tried this, does anyone have theory on which module might contain the settings?

This is an MY12 N55 ZSL, June 2012 production.
__________________
MY12 335i ZSL with a deep dive into the options list
Produced: 2012-06-22
ED: 2012-07-19; Arrived in Jersey City: 2012-08-23
Redelivered: 2012-09-12
Yobyot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 08:49 AM   #1110
martinf79
Captain
 
martinf79's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 640
iTrader: (0)

Can someone please sehd light on how to create a back up of my cars files before I begin coding (or please direct me to the correct document). Went through a bunch of the documents, and couldn't find it. I want to code today/tomorrow (all software on the laptop is up and humming ... have the cable ... just want to make sure I have a back up in the event that something goes wrong).
__________________

2013 335i ///M-Sport | MPPK ON ORDER | AW | BD Leather | 19 M3 ZCP Wheels | M-Sport Brakes | Adaptive M-Suspension | Variable Sport Steering | Premium Package | Enhanced Bluetooth | Sirius | BMW Apps | Heads Up Display | Speed Limit Info | M Performance Grill | Front/Rear Painted Reflectors | Coded
martinf79 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 11:47 AM   #1111
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,712
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinf79 View Post
Can someone please sehd light on how to create a back up of my cars files before I begin coding (or please direct me to the correct document). Went through a bunch of the documents, and couldn't find it. I want to code today/tomorrow (all software on the laptop is up and humming ... have the cable ... just want to make sure I have a back up in the event that something goes wrong).
Read in all of the CAFD FDL sets by right clicking on each green-checked CAFD and select "Read Coding Data".

Then go to explorer and navigate to the CAFD directory (mine is C:\ESysData\CAF) and copy the .ncd files somewhere safe. The .ncd (net coding data) are the value sets for each CAFD.

If you have to revert them, you can use those to restore the settings to the factory defaults.

I've also heard that you can restore to factory vales by selecting the "Code" option when the CAFD is active. I have not tried it myself. I think Shawn is the expert on this.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 11:54 AM   #1112
zibawal
Major
 
Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA

Posts: 1,057
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Read in all of the CAFD FDL sets by right clicking on each green-checked CAFD and select "Read Coding Data".

Then go to explorer and navigate to the CAFD directory (mine is C:\ESysData\CAF) and copy the .ncd files somewhere safe. The .ncd (net coding data) are the value sets for each CAFD.

If you have to revert them, you can use those to restore the settings to the factory defaults.

I've also heard that you can restore to factory vales by selecting the "Code" option when the CAFD is active. I have not tried it myself. I think Shawn is the expert on this.
I did back up my m3 hard drive on flash drive through USB in glove box , mostly music but when trying to load it back, car won't read it? I tried to cross transfer all music to my x5 hard drive en mass but as I said it was read as data files, I was not successful to install it back?
So may be ur solution shall be helpful to me too
zibawal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 12:59 PM   #1113
martinf79
Captain
 
martinf79's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 640
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zibawal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Read in all of the CAFD FDL sets by right clicking on each green-checked CAFD and select "Read Coding Data".

Then go to explorer and navigate to the CAFD directory (mine is C:\ESysData\CAF) and copy the .ncd files somewhere safe. The .ncd (net coding data) are the value sets for each CAFD.

If you have to revert them, you can use those to restore the settings to the factory defaults.

I've also heard that you can restore to factory vales by selecting the "Code" option when the CAFD is active. I have not tried it myself. I think Shawn is the expert on this.
I did back up my m3 hard drive on flash drive through USB in glove box , mostly music but when trying to load it back, car won't read it? I tried to cross transfer all music to my x5 hard drive en mass but as I said it was read as data files, I was not successful to install it back?
So may be ur solution shall be helpful to me too
Thanks, but I was actually talking about the cars coding files, not music/personal filea
__________________

2013 335i ///M-Sport | MPPK ON ORDER | AW | BD Leather | 19 M3 ZCP Wheels | M-Sport Brakes | Adaptive M-Suspension | Variable Sport Steering | Premium Package | Enhanced Bluetooth | Sirius | BMW Apps | Heads Up Display | Speed Limit Info | M Performance Grill | Front/Rear Painted Reflectors | Coded
martinf79 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 01:22 PM   #1114
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_bmw View Post
Any idea which coding shows that option?
Its in the default menu mate, haven't done any coding yet.
Still waiting for a kind soul to send me links
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 02:37 PM   #1115
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Read in all of the CAFD FDL sets by right clicking on each green-checked CAFD and select "Read Coding Data".

Then go to explorer and navigate to the CAFD directory (mine is C:\ESysData\CAF) and copy the .ncd files somewhere safe. The .ncd (net coding data) are the value sets for each CAFD.

If you have to revert them, you can use those to restore the settings to the factory defaults.

I've also heard that you can restore to factory vales by selecting the "Code" option when the CAFD is active. I have not tried it myself. I think Shawn is the expert on this.
Yes, if you right-click on an ECU itself (NOT the underlying CAFD in the subfolder) and select CODE, you will reset the ECU to its as delivered condition, so long as you have the original factory FA (VO) active when doing so.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 02:41 PM   #1116
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
Its in the default menu mate, haven't done any coding yet.
Still waiting for a kind soul to send me links
Yes, but what is standard in Belgium isn't always standard elsewhere, hence really the whole premise or coding ones car. So, behind your standard iDrive option lies an FDL code that must be set to enable that option on non-Belgium cars, that others outside of Belgium will have to code.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 04:52 PM   #1117
rolandleth
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bucharest

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, if you right-click on an ECU itself (NOT the underlying CAFD in the subfolder) and select CODE, you will reset the ECU to its as delivered condition, so long as you have the original factory FA (VO) active when doing so.
So, if I only done coding (don't even know how an FA is changed, I suppose it doesn't happen when coding, heh) I can keep only one set of files, the ones holding my current settings. Then when I take my car in for service, I plug in, reset the ECU like you described, then restore after I take my car out, right?

How do I restore from my current saved files? I know it's written in this thread somewhere, but I honestly didn't understand how to do it.


On an (important) side note, I also have 2 problems:
1. I modified V_SCHWELLE_1 and V_SCHWELLE_2 within REM_01 AND from within PMA, but the rear view camera and the top view camera still can't be activated at high speeds. Any ideas, please?
2. In the F10 cheat sheet there is FLA_AUTO_AKTIV under FRM module, it sets High Beam Assistant to Automatic On. Is there a way to do this on the F30? The F30 has no FRM module and I have no idea which one is its "counterpart".

Last edited by rolandleth; 10-22-2012 at 05:07 PM.
rolandleth is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 09:11 PM   #1118
rs3tier
New Member
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: tasmania

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Hi to all
I picked up a new F30 (328i) about a month ago and am now keen to get into some coding. My cable arrived a few days ago - from Codecard so now I need to get hold of the software and data files.

Could someone (shawnsheridan ) please send me a link to download them ... rs3tier@gmail.com

Thanks for any help.
rs3tier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 10:17 PM   #1119
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolandleth View Post
So, if I only done coding (don't even know how an FA is changed, I suppose it doesn't happen when coding, heh) I can keep only one set of files, the ones holding my current settings. Then when I take my car in for service, I plug in, reset the ECU like you described, then restore after I take my car out, right?

How do I restore from my current saved files? I know it's written in this thread somewhere, but I honestly didn't understand how to do it.


On an (important) side note, I also have 2 problems:
1. I modified V_SCHWELLE_1 and V_SCHWELLE_2 within REM_01 AND from within PMA, but the rear view camera and the top view camera still can't be activated at high speeds. Any ideas, please?
2. In the F10 cheat sheet there is FLA_AUTO_AKTIV under FRM module, it sets High Beam Assistant to Automatic On. Is there a way to do this on the F30? The F30 has no FRM module and I have no idea which one is its "counterpart".
Right-Click on the ECU, select Add or maybe it's New, and then navigate to your corresponding .NCD file to add it. Then select it, and FDL Code the ECU.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 10:18 PM   #1120
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs3tier View Post
Hi to all
I picked up a new F30 (328i) about a month ago and am now keen to get into some coding. My cable arrived a few days ago - from Codecard so now I need to get hold of the software and data files.

Could someone (shawnsheridan ) please send me a link to download them ... rs3tier@gmail.com

Thanks for any help.
PM Sent.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 10:46 PM   #1121
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,712
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Right-Click on the ECU, select Add or maybe it's New, and then navigate to your corresponding .NCD file to add it. Then select it, and FDL Code the ECU.
Isn't there some danger in doing this if the dealer updated the software module?

For example:

1. You save an old .ncd file for CAFD_001_002_003 (made up number).
2. Service updates the module to CAFD_002_003_004.
3. You apply the 001_002_003 ncd file to the 002_003_004 software version.

Isn't there some risk that the .ncd layout changed between 001_002_003 and 002_003_004 that would completely screw up the FDL data?

i.e. if you changed the value for RDC_SAFETY, are we sure that the value location in the saved .ncd file is always going to be in the same regardless of the software version?

I would think it would be safer to just re-code everything field by field with the new CAFD files.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2012, 10:51 PM   #1122
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Isn't there some danger in doing this if the dealer updated the software module?

For example:

1. You save an old .ncd file for CAFD_001_002_003 (made up number).
2. Service updates the module to CAFD_002_003_004.
3. You apply the 001_002_003 ncd file to the 002_003_004 software version.

Isn't there some risk that the .ncd layout changed between 001_002_003 and 002_003_004 that would completely screw up the FDL data?

i.e. if you changed the value for RDC_SAFETY, are we sure that the value location in the saved .ncd file is always going to be in the same regardless of the software version?

I would think it would be safer to just re-code everything field by field with the new CAFD files.
Yes, If during dealer programming, the ECU CAFD was updated to a new version, that should be read and backed up as "original", then FDL Coded and backed up "as coded". If the CAFD was not updated, then the last "as coded" backup .ncd could be restored.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST