F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Coding: Bluetooth Audio
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-13-2012, 01:55 PM   #1
demge01
Private First Class
demge01's Avatar
2
Rep
145
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Coding: Bluetooth Audio

Had a go with this and thought I'd cracked it but got stuck...

In the HU entry i coded the following:
A2DP_PROFILE - aktiv
CDMM_BLUETOOTH_AUDIO - aktiv


It's greyed out in the Multimedia menu despite all of the above and obviously no music coming through..

Any ideas and advice appreciated.

Cheers.

Last edited by demge01; 10-21-2012 at 12:47 PM. Reason: Images Removed.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 02:41 PM   #2
dc_bmw
Private
1
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 320i (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

disconnect from the usb port.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 04:37 PM   #3
reidpath
Private
United_States
3
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: DC/Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Sadly it won't work without a COMBOX :-(

Edit:
You need the combox to handle the A2DP.

Also of note, according to BimmerTech, the Combox's they sell only work with the HU_CIC so it is a $2000 upgrade :-(
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
demge01
Private First Class
demge01's Avatar
2
Rep
145
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by reidpath View Post
Sadly it won't work without a COMBOX :-(

Edit:
You need the combox to handle the A2DP.

Also of note, according to BimmerTech, the Combox's they sell only work with the HU_CIC so it is a $2000 upgrade :-(
Thanks for your help its appreciated.
Its odd how the Bluetooth works perfectly for handling phonecalls, data and contacts etc but can't handle audio without a combox.

Cheers.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 04:52 PM   #5
reidpath
Private
United_States
3
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: DC/Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by demge01 View Post
Thanks for your help its appreciated.
Its odd how the Bluetooth works perfectly for handling phonecalls, data and contacts etc but can't handle audio without a combox.

Cheers.
No problem, I am going to try to source an OEM new COMBOX media for my car spec soon. I will let you know what happens. It is definitely possible to do it. I am also going to have to find the wiring from somewhere..
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 08:05 PM   #6
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
United_States
9
Rep
330
Posts

 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

iTrader: (0)

I'm interested to know how you got "data transfer" to show up (unless you already had it...?)?? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 08:07 PM   #7
reidpath
Private
United_States
3
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: DC/Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
I'm interested to know how you got "data transfer" to show up (unless you already had it...?)?? Thanks.
It usually shows up when it it syncing the phone book.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 08:10 PM   #8
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
United_States
9
Rep
330
Posts

 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

iTrader: (0)

Not mine- I enabled bmw live and internet to show up in the menu, however, it says to please activate data services over bluetooth. I can't figure that part out... In my bluetooth settings, only office, telephone, show pictures, shows up.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2012, 08:12 PM   #9
reidpath
Private
United_States
3
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: DC/Maryland

iTrader: (0)

The challenge is going to be getting the combox media to work without the HU_CIC.

Callout to anyone who codes or has the advanced bluetooth to help!
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2012, 03:58 PM   #10
demge01
Private First Class
demge01's Avatar
2
Rep
145
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
I'm interested to know how you got "data transfer" to show up (unless you already had it...?)?? Thanks.
I already had it in another menu as well as this before but enabling A2DP_PROFILE - aktiv brings this particular menu up.
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2012, 04:06 PM   #11
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
United_States
9
Rep
330
Posts

 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

iTrader: (0)

I've enabled that setting, but still "data transfer" under bluetooth is not coming up
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2012, 10:43 PM   #12
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,544
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reidpath View Post
The challenge is going to be getting the combox media to work without the HU_CIC.

Callout to anyone who codes or has the advanced bluetooth to help!
If u don't mind losing satellite radio u can always order a EU/ROW-spec radio professional headunit which is compatible with either 6NK/NL.
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2012, 02:06 PM   #13
Quelque
New Member
Netherlands
0
Rep
20
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320iA
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
I've enabled that setting, but still "data transfer" under bluetooth is not coming up
Sorry for asking, but what phone do you use? Did you try with other phones?
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 08:40 AM   #14
AgentZero
New Member
0
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: A Slow Beast
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
Not mine- I enabled bmw live and internet to show up in the menu, however, it says to please activate data services over bluetooth. I can't figure that part out... In my bluetooth settings, only office, telephone, show pictures, shows up.
I think you have to set up a tether from your phone.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2013, 08:10 PM   #15
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
Not mine- I enabled bmw live and internet to show up in the menu, however, it says to please activate data services over bluetooth. I can't figure that part out... In my bluetooth settings, only office, telephone, show pictures, shows up.
I have the exact same problem. I even enabled BT Dun Profile under CMB_MEDIA and same thing.

Have you had any luck with it? I get BMW Live and Internet but I have no bluetooth data transfer profile on my options.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 12:52 PM   #16
vithy
Private First Class
Canada
11
Rep
181
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 320i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Aritaurus, To enable BT Data, You need to code one more function.

HU_CIC or HU_ENTRY

3003 - Funktionen - BT_DATA_SERVICE - Aktiv.

Then FDL Code. If it doesn't show up after FDL Code, Do FDL Code again and then you should see it.

You might have to repair your phone again.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 10:45 PM   #17
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
United_States
9
Rep
330
Posts

 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

iTrader: (0)

Aritaurus- can you confirm if this works for you? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST