F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Is my car missing a gauge?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-09-2012, 02:47 PM   #1
ItsmeAnuj
New Member
 
Drives: Honda s2000
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NNJ

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Hello,

I picked up my car doing the european delivery program and am wondering if I am missing something.

Unfortunately I have yet to re-pick up my car (due next week) but I believe all the f30 have the same 'efficient dynamics' gauge under the tachometer. It should be a digital screen showing mpg or when it's charging the battery. My car has the older 'analog' style display that I have seen in previous generations.

The only reason I bring this up is because I was going through another thread and noticed a sport line with the efficient dynamics gauge. After picking up the car in Germany i just assumed it was left off the sport line.

It's a 2013 sport line 328i if that makes any difference.

Thanks for your help in clearing up my confusion. I am posting off my phone so I am unable to attach a picture.
ItsmeAnuj is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 02:52 PM   #2
nikneo
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30 328i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 124
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsmeAnuj View Post
Hello,

I picked up my car doing the european delivery program and am wondering if I am missing something.

Unfortunately I have yet to re-pick up my car (due next week) but I believe all the f30 have the same 'efficient dynamics' gauge under the tachometer. It should be a digital screen showing mpg or when it's charging the battery. My car has the older 'analog' style display that I have seen in previous generations.

The only reason I bring this up is because I was going through another thread and noticed a sport line with the efficient dynamics gauge. After picking up the car in Germany i just assumed it was left off the sport line.

It's a 2013 sport line 328i if that makes any difference.

Thanks for your help in clearing up my confusion. I am posting off my phone so I am unable to attach a picture.
What you're referring to is part of the 'instrument panel with extended contents' that you get only if you get the tech package or the driver assistance package. Otherwise you get the analog instantaneous mpg indicator. Personally, it's not a big deal and I kinda like the look of having an analog gauge
nikneo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
Teme
New Member
 
Teme's Avatar
 
Drives: 320iA xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Europe

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

It appears you do not have option 6WA on your car. The first one below is the standard instrument cluster and the second is with the optional enlarged display with option 6WA.



Teme is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 02:55 PM   #4
Roki_014
Major
 
Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago

Posts: 1,230
iTrader: (0)

if you dont have technology package it comes with the analog gauge, it looks cool is it better than analog no but its cooler
Roki_014 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 02:55 PM   #5
ItsmeAnuj
New Member
 
Drives: Honda s2000
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NNJ

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Thank you for clearing it up. It didn't bother me and I was just wondering if this was a rare error after reading about someone's car missing a trunk light from the factory. I think I'm going crazy waiting for it. Payment two is due next week!

Thanks again!
ItsmeAnuj is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 02:56 PM   #6
Roki_014
Major
 
Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago

Posts: 1,230
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teme View Post
It appears you do not have option 6WA on your car. The first one below is the standard instrument cluster and the second is with the optional enlarged display with option 6WA.



it looks generations apart
Roki_014 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 03:18 PM   #7
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,525
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roki_014 View Post
it looks generations apart
The "standard" display looks even more ancient if you've ever driven a new 5er/7er with the Extended Black panel 6WA, where even the mph and tach numbers are LCD generated.



Then of course, there's the "super futuristic" 6WB display:

__________________
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 03:25 PM   #8
HighlandPete
Brigadier General
 
Drives: BMW F11 535i Touring
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland, Highland Region

Posts: 4,413
iTrader: (0)

Do you guys get any display in the lower quadrant of the speedo? It looks empty. Nothing like the F10/11 as it is filled with data.

http://f10.5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500027

HighlandPete
HighlandPete is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 03:29 PM   #9
Roki_014
Major
 
Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago

Posts: 1,230
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
The "standard" display looks even more ancient if you've ever driven a new 5er/7er with the Extended Black panel 6WA, where even the mph and tach numbers are LCD generated.



Then of course, there's the "super futuristic" 6WB display:

second one looks cool cuz its all digital, where the first one is half digital
Roki_014 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 04:28 PM   #10
TheObviousChild
First Lieutenant
 
TheObviousChild's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335xi - M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Broomfield, CO

Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)

This is interesting. I have yet to take delivery of my car, but I did NOT get the tech package. (HUD looked cool, but I live in Colorado where we replace windshelds every other year due to cracks and chips...expensive...yadda yadda...)

Anyway, I just punched in my VIN and I see the following:

S6WAA INSTRUMENTENKOMBI. M. ERW. UMF. Instrument cluster, expanded equipment

Doesn't this seem to indicate that I have the extended instrument panel even in the absence of the tech package?
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi EBII over Coral Red / ///M sport / Premium / Cold Weather / 6MT / Nav / Dynamic Handling / HK audio
Previous: 2010 328i / MT
Previous: 2007 328i / AT (boo)
Previous: 2004 325i / MT
TheObviousChild is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 04:51 PM   #11
Teme
New Member
 
Teme's Avatar
 
Drives: 320iA xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Europe

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheObviousChild View Post
This is interesting. I have yet to take delivery of my car, but I did NOT get the tech package. (HUD looked cool, but I live in Colorado where we replace windshelds every other year due to cracks and chips...expensive...yadda yadda...)

Anyway, I just punched in my VIN and I see the following:

S6WAA INSTRUMENTENKOMBI. M. ERW. UMF. Instrument cluster, expanded equipment

Doesn't this seem to indicate that I have the extended instrument panel even in the absence of the tech package?
Did you by any chance specify the Active Cruise option?
Teme is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:17 PM   #12
TheObviousChild
First Lieutenant
 
TheObviousChild's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335xi - M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Broomfield, CO

Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teme View Post
Did you by any chance specify the Active Cruise option?
I don't believe so. I do have Navigation & BMW Apps, but that's not really dash-related.
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi EBII over Coral Red / ///M sport / Premium / Cold Weather / 6MT / Nav / Dynamic Handling / HK audio
Previous: 2010 328i / MT
Previous: 2007 328i / AT (boo)
Previous: 2004 325i / MT
TheObviousChild is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:23 PM   #13
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,525
iTrader: (0)

Active Cruise is a $2400 option in the US, you'd definitely know if you have it!
__________________
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:25 PM   #14
wayman519
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 184
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheObviousChild View Post
I don't believe so. I do have Navigation & BMW Apps, but that's not really dash-related.
Navigation gets the Extended instrument cluster. You need it for turn by turn info. (it may just be for the professional navigation and not the business navigation in other countries)
wayman519 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:27 PM   #15
MaestroAl
Major
 
Drives: Superman 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 1,194
iTrader: (0)

It is often called "black panel display" - does it say anything about that anywhere?
__________________
"Superman 330D M Sport" Estoril Blue / Coral Red
2PF|ZAP|ZMP|ZVI|2VF|3AP|420|488|494|5DC|688|6NR
IT ARRIVED!
MaestroAl is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:32 PM   #16
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,525
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaestroAl View Post
It is often called "black panel display" - does it say anything about that anywhere?
I think that term is most properly used when describing either 6WA or 6WB on the 5-series on up.
__________________
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:36 PM   #17
MaestroAl
Major
 
Drives: Superman 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 1,194
iTrader: (0)

Dunno about over there but what we have in the 3 series is called "black panel display" in the UK

From the BMW configurator...
Quote:
Black panel display, 6WA 140.00 Price-
And that's what's in the pictures at the beginning of the thread with the ED gauge and whatnot
__________________
"Superman 330D M Sport" Estoril Blue / Coral Red
2PF|ZAP|ZMP|ZVI|2VF|3AP|420|488|494|5DC|688|6NR
IT ARRIVED!
MaestroAl is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:37 PM   #18
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,525
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaestroAl View Post
Dunno about over there but what we have in the 3 series is called "black panel display" in the UK

From the BMW configurator...
Could be different, in different regions. I think the term "Extended Display" fits with what the F30 uses, regardless.
__________________
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:39 PM   #19
MaestroAl
Major
 
Drives: Superman 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK

Posts: 1,194
iTrader: (0)

I'd agree since the 3 series isn't a true black panel display per se but merely a slice of lcd embedded in the dash
__________________
"Superman 330D M Sport" Estoril Blue / Coral Red
2PF|ZAP|ZMP|ZVI|2VF|3AP|420|488|494|5DC|688|6NR
IT ARRIVED!
MaestroAl is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 05:41 PM   #20
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,525
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaestroAl View Post
I'd agree since the 3 series isn't a true black panel display per se but merely a slice of lcd embedded in the dash
Exactly!
__________________
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 07:39 PM   #21
Number
 
Number's Avatar
 
Drives: ✚
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ✚ ✚

Posts: 1,214
iTrader: (1)

I have the extended display and I just turned it off. It looked too cluttered... What does the "efficient dynamic" or "eco pro" blue gauge thingy mean anyways? I really have no clue.

I only have the gear numbers showing up on the extended gauge and it's much nicer and cleaner IMO.
Number is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2012, 08:53 PM   #22
nikneo
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30 328i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 124
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremolo View Post
I have the extended display and I just turned it off. It looked too cluttered... What does the "efficient dynamic" or "eco pro" blue gauge thingy mean anyways? I really have no clue.

I only have the gear numbers showing up on the extended gauge and it's much nicer and cleaner IMO.
nikneo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST