F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > AUSTRALIA > Reprogramming ASS
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-22-2012, 05:38 PM   #1
shakkas
0
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)

Reprogramming ASS

Hey everyone,

I finally was able to get into service and ask about reprogramming the ASS.

I was quoted $360 to have it remembered to the last setting.

Has anyone got their car reprogrammed and have they had to pay for it?
shakkas is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-22-2012, 06:39 PM   #2
Sephanite
5
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW Z4
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 543
iTrader: (0)

DIY. very easy to do
Sephanite is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 06:54 AM   #3
J1n
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: R8 V8 '14
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne CBD

Posts: 1,548
iTrader: (0)

How much is the cable and software?
J1n is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 03:58 PM   #4
David328M-Sport
34
Brigadier General
 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia

Posts: 3,454
iTrader: (0)

I really like and enjoy ASS. It's easy enough to override in an instant, so I will keep ASS active in my car.
__________________
328i M-Sport, Estoril Blue, Carbon XP 35 Tint, front heated seats, black Dakota, Sports Suspension, Anthracite Headliner, HUD, Pro Nav, Sunroof, hk 600w, Bi-Xenon, 19" 403M wheels, Reversing Camera, DAB+, Xenon, BT Ext Connect.
David328M-Sport is offline   Australia
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 05:20 PM   #5
Sherweeeny
4
New kid on the block
 
Drives: 325ci Sport, Civic Sport
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney

Posts: 414
iTrader: (0)

I wish I could reprogram my girlfriends ass
__________________
Sherweeeny is offline   Australia
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-23-2012, 06:17 PM   #6
Sephanite
5
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW Z4
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 543
iTrader: (0)

Cable is about $20. Software is downloadable
Sephanite is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-24-2012, 06:25 AM   #7
digitallust
2
Second Lieutenant
 
digitallust's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 BMW 320d Sport Line
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kalgoorlie

Posts: 244
iTrader: (0)

My dealer programmed it to remember last setting free of charge prior to delivery.
to leave it on is annoying to the say the least.. I use it in traffic etc. but dont like it on all of the time.
__________________
_________________________________________
320d Sport line, F30
Alpine White,Black Dakota, Coral Red Trim, Brushed Aluminium, Sports Suspension, Sports Seats, Anthracite Headliner, Prof Sat Nav, Bi-Xenon, 18" 397 wheels, Reversing Camera, Side-view, Top View,Lane Change Warning, Lane Departure Warning,Anti Dazzle Folding Mirrors.
digitallust is offline   Australia
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2013, 06:36 PM   #8
OzGobo
0
New Member
 
Drives: F30 320d Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sydney Australia

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

I just went through this. BMW Australia didn't want to come to the party with providing this recode for free. The dealer quoted me $300. After some force was applied including providing posts from this very site from American owners BMW finally agreed to pay for the recoding. The other option is to sweet talk the dealership and see if they'll just do it for you.
OzGobo is offline   Australia
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2013, 10:07 PM   #9
Spikey
7
Captain
 
Drives: erratically
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: around town~

Posts: 770
iTrader: (0)

$300 ??? holy crap they know how to charge~!!!!
Spikey is offline   Australia
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2013, 10:09 PM   #10
HFW003
11
Major
 
HFW003's Avatar
 
Drives: Havana 328 Modern Line
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Posts: 1,177
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephanite View Post
Cable is about $20. Software is downloadable
Did you get the PIN and Token for E SYS for free?

I have downloaded all the software but apparently you need to but the PIN and Token.

I'm going to be doign this to the new car when it turns up.

Thanks.

H
__________________
2013 Havana 328 Modern Line with Xenons,HK stereo, Sports seats, Sunroof, Pro Nav, VSS, adaptive suspension, 19" 401's and other bits and pieces.
HFW003 is offline   Australia
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2013, 12:26 AM   #11
Spikey
7
Captain
 
Drives: erratically
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: around town~

Posts: 770
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HFW003 View Post
Did you get the PIN and Token for E SYS for free?

I have downloaded all the software but apparently you need to but the PIN and Token.

I'm going to be doign this to the new car when it turns up.

Thanks.

H
Yea, this was the case previously. We could d/l the software which had the PIN and a leaked token but the earlier version of the software doesn't appear to work with later builds/system updates from dealership.

Seems like it requires the newer versions, which require the new PIN/token. Costs seem to hover around the USD60 mark... :

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
It is mostly true, although to clarify, all versions of E-Sys require an EST Token to FDL Code, including the "older online" version.

The widely circulated E-Sys 3.18.4 included a leaked EST Token, hence it is now referred to as the "Free" version. You can use this version with PSdZData up to 48.2 for F20 / F30 Chassis, or 48.3 for all other Fxx Chassis. This covers cars dealer programmed up until sometime around March 2013. If the car was programmed since then, due to new changes in the PSdZData, the old E-Sys 3.18.4 will no longer work, and you will need E-Sys 3.22.5 with 49.x PSdZData. Since E-Sys 3.22.5 does not include a leaked Token, you will need to obtain one on your own.

As for what versions you need for your car, its impossible to know without actually knowing which version of ISTA/P was last used to program the car.

In any event, I would not be buying coding software from eBay merchants.

Out of curiosity, how much was he going to charge for the software, and did it include the Token?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner44 View Post
<snip>He was going to give me E-SYS 3.22.5 with the token for 40 because I bought the cable from him, he said its originally 65....</snip>
Spikey is offline   Australia
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2013, 08:12 PM   #12
Sephanite
5
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW Z4
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 543
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HFW003 View Post
Did you get the PIN and Token for E SYS for free?

I have downloaded all the software but apparently you need to but the PIN and Token.

I'm going to be doign this to the new car when it turns up.

Thanks.

H
No. The PIN and Token will be the $100 USD. Details can be found in the coding thread
Sephanite is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST