F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires > F30 TPMS Facts!
Bimmertech
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-09-2012, 12:11 PM   #23
Mako
2000 M Roadster (sold), 2006 M Coupe (sold)
 
Drives: '12 X3 35i M Spt '13 335 M Spt
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago

Posts: 1,315
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocso1606 View Post
Hope this still on topic.
I fail to understand the logic of not using TPMs. They are a safety feature - why make your car LESS safe?
They are not only for "lazy" people, who never check their tire pressure - they will warn you ahead of time that you will be getting a flat (even more important if you are not using runflats). Yes, "ahead of time", may only be 1-second or less, but that gives you time to reduce speed and prepare for what may happen (loss of control)....this has happened to me - I hope you never have to use any safety features in your car, but you'll be damn happy they are there when you do need them.
I think its more of a cost issue, originally Tire Rack for instance had the TPMs for $370 for this car!!! now they have since reduced it to $225 or so which is the same price as the X3 system has always been from them (and I believe its the same monitors...). Now I will pay $225 for it, but $370 is a different story, I can replace two winter tires or a tire and wheel (non BMW) for that price!
Mako is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 11:25 PM   #24
ocso1606
Lieutenant
 
ocso1606's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Syracuse,NY

Posts: 531
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 525xi  [0.00]
2010 Volvo  [0.00]
2013 BMW 335i M-Sport  [0.00]
Totally agree with you IMAPE!! You made perfect sense.
__________________
2013 335i M-Sport, Alpine White, Red Coral Leather, 6SP M/T, 403m 19" wheels, M- Suspension, CWP, M-Performance Exhaust, M-Performance Power Pack!
ocso1606 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 02:28 PM   #25
BMWinGE
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany

Posts: 639
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarianx View Post
On the E9X, if the system was run for long enough without TPMS the function would be locked in the warning position, in other words if you tried to add TPMS it would not register and needed to be re-flashed by the dealer to work again.
anyone verify if you can run without tpms and/or if you can have the fault removed by the dealer?
BMWinGE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2012, 02:56 PM   #26
PGT
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i M-Sport in Estoril Blue
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Leesburg, VA

Posts: 281
iTrader: (0)

I like being able to monitor tire pressures.....and actively do so on my SRT8. I did it on my Merc as well. I'd like to code the F30 to read actual pressure as well, since there's no spare and I got regular A/S tires vs. runflats for the second set.
__________________
| '13 328i M Sport - Estoril Blue | '12 300C SRT8 | '12 Wrangler Rubi Unlimited - COD MW3 Edition|
PGT is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-28-2012, 04:03 PM   #27
bavarianx
 
bavarianx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,781
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
These will work with the new gunmetal and black valve stems!



bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2013, 01:35 PM   #28
bonsai
OG 3er
 
Drives: F30 335 Sportline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA.

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

Just dealing with this issue myself.

Thought that my aftermarket wheels with TPMS from my E92 would work on my F30.

I can confirm that I get a warning light (not yet locked, as far as I know) that TPMS is malfunctioning.

I plan to pick up a set of TPMS for the F30.

BavarianX - I have my eye on the gunmetal stems, but the additional cost of that optional part might push me to find another vendor. Just my $0.02
bonsai is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:12 AM   #29
vigalent
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 318D
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: England

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

So glad the UK versions have a different TPMS system and we don't have to worry about this when we change wheels
vigalent is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 11:59 AM   #30
f1swk
Second Lieutenant
 
f1swk's Avatar
 
Drives: f31 330d
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: uk

Posts: 250
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vigalent View Post
So glad the UK versions have a different TPMS system and we don't have to worry about this when we change wheels
how does the uk version work,is it the small box with the lever attached to the suspension that is sited on the inner wing wheelarch
f1swk is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 12:03 PM   #31
eric@helix
 
eric@helix's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 M Coupe, 08 135i, '12 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Philadelphia

Posts: 859
iTrader: (0)

Anyone dealing with Tire Rack should beware that they have to wrong sensor listed for the F30 and will send you the early E90 Sensors (or at least they have up until recently). I've notified them, but just be sure to confirm which sensors you are getting if you go that route.
eric@helix is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 12:15 PM   #32
rado
Private
 
Drives: F30 328i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Duxbury, MA

Posts: 74
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric@helix View Post
Anyone dealing with Tire Rack should beware that they have to wrong sensor listed for the F30 and will send you the early E90 Sensors (or at least they have up until recently). I've notified them, but just be sure to confirm which sensors you are getting if you go that route.
Always good to double check, but FWIW I bought a set of snows/wheels/sensors from Tire Rack back in late Aug-2012, and they provided the correct sensors. They've been on my 2013 F30 since November, and are working fine, all I did was indicate year and model car when I was picking parts.
__________________
-Ed
2013 F30 328i M Sport
2008 Lotus Exige S240
rado is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 12:17 PM   #33
vigalent
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 318D
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: England

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vigalent View Post
So glad the UK versions have a different TPMS system and we don't have to worry about this when we change wheels
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1swk
how does the uk version work,is it the small box with the lever attached to the suspension that is sited on the inner wing wheelarch
Not entirely sure, all I know is it FTMS and uses the rotational speed of the wheel to detect deflation issues.
vigalent is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 02:58 PM   #34
f1swk
Second Lieutenant
 
f1swk's Avatar
 
Drives: f31 330d
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: uk

Posts: 250
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vigalent View Post
Not entirely sure, all I know is it FTMS and uses the rotational speed of the wheel to detect deflation issues.
must be through the abs sensors then
f1swk is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 12:30 AM   #35
ScarecrowBoat
Zooombie attaaack!!
 
ScarecrowBoat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NEB

Posts: 877
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2012 BMW  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot View Post
I have a MY12 F30 335i that's arriving next week and I've begun investigating winter wheels and tires for it.

Tire Rack offered me a -1 (225/50R17) package of some fugly wheels, Michelin RFT snow plus TPMS sensors, mounting balancing and shipping for about $1700.

A guy in the BMWCCA is selling a set of four style 189 OEM 18" wheels plus some shoddy non-RFT snows for $500.

So, it's a toss up between buying the OEM wheels and fitting them with trustworthy tires (and optionally new TPMS sensors) versus buying the Tire Rack package.

Does anyone know what happens in the F30 if there aren't TPMS sensors in the wheels? If I buy non-RFT tires for the OEM wheels, I am not sure I need TPMS sensors because I could instantly tell if a tire is flat (and I'm manic about checking tire pressure at least monthly).

What do you think?
I have my m5 reps without sensors, though I'm going to be installing them before I put them back on this spring. I used them w/o sensors for a good 3 months with no issues other than a stupid warning.
__________________
12 BMW 328i
08 Range Rover Sport SC
ScarecrowBoat is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-04-2013, 02:31 PM   #36
Brian@bavarianx
Banned
 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brea, CA

Posts: 2,268
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to Brian@bavarianx
Quote:
Originally Posted by vigalent View Post
Not entirely sure, all I know is it FTMS and uses the rotational speed of the wheel to detect deflation issues.
That small box in the fender attached to the lower control arm is tha adaptive headlight sensor. Euro still does not have a mandate for TPMS so they are using the FTM (flat tire monitor) based on wheel rotation. 2015 EU will have a TPMS mandate like the US... so its coming.
Brian@bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-04-2013, 02:33 PM   #37
Brian@bavarianx
Banned
 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brea, CA

Posts: 2,268
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to Brian@bavarianx
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScarecrowBoat View Post
I have my m5 reps without sensors, though I'm going to be installing them before I put them back on this spring. I used them w/o sensors for a good 3 months with no issues other than a stupid warning.
If you run it too long w/o sensors the receiver will get locked and you will need to go to the dealer to get it flashed to reactivate the TPM system.
Brian@bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2013, 02:16 PM   #38
Jamesons Viggen
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '98 M Roadster stg 2 S/C
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 3,529
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarianx View Post
We have received a lot of questions from F30 owners about changing their TPMS sensors and if they are compatible with the earlier E90,E91,E92, and E92 versions.

BMW made a part number change in 09/09 for the 3 series from OE #36236781847 (HUF #RDE008) to a newer version #36106790054 (HUF #RDE012) until the end of the E9X chassis.

The new F30 chassis uses a 433MHz sensor with OE#36106798872 which will not work with any of the previous versions.

Here are some reference pics earliest to latest..

36236781847


36106790054


36106798872

So I bought a used set of sensors from a member who took them off an F30.

But the PN is
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/partxref.do?part=36106856227

That lists other F series cars, but not the F30.

The ones I bought are orange, and not the gray ones with PN
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/partxref.do?part=36106798872

Those are F30 specific.

So what gives?

Is this maybe a change where there are these orange 433mhz sensors that now fit all across the F series?

Or am I F-ed and need to sell these and buy 36106798872

Someone help!
__________________
'98 M Roadster stg 2+ S/C @ 13psi(cracking 500hp this summer) +'13 EBII M Sport 328i 6mtFOR SALE
Jamesons Viggen is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2013, 07:03 PM   #39
Brian@bavarianx
Banned
 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brea, CA

Posts: 2,268
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to Brian@bavarianx
F30 part number is unique. F10 and F01 are still using E chassis parts for now.
Brian@bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2013, 06:30 AM   #40
SandysABtch
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2003 e46
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

i dont know if anyone has brought this up but TPMS are notorious for malfunctioning or better put being "tempermental" due to outside drastic temp changes. i have tpms malfunctions come through my dealership all the time.
SandysABtch is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2013, 06:06 PM   #41
bavarianx
 
bavarianx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,781
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
Update!

There is now a generation 2 valve stem. Huf has eliminated the extra washers and replaced them with an attached plastic washer as well as a squared end self locking attachment screw. Be aware there is also a break away washer inside the valve nut that breaks loose when torque is achieved.

bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-14-2013, 12:04 PM   #42
Brian@bavarianx
Banned
 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brea, CA

Posts: 2,268
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to Brian@bavarianx
As these vehicles are getting more miles its important to be sure and replace the service kits whenever your tires are serviced. The service kit contains a new rubber seal, valve core, valve cap, and hex nut. This will assure that your valve stem will not leak causing a flat.

[IMG]***********************v/vspfiles/photos/Huf.SK-2T.jpg[/IMG]

Whenever dismounting a tire, a TPMS service kit should be used to prevent air leaks or future hazards. This service kit fits all Huf valve stems, including the RDV001, RDV002, RDV003, RDV004, RDV005, RDV001B, and the RDV001G.
For use with:
36111095375
36146792829
36111095373
36146792827
36111096449
36146792830
Brian@bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-16-2013, 08:47 AM   #43
ZheHbKa
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ZheHbKa's Avatar
 
Drives: the Wind
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,796
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW 335 Xi  [5.00]
thanks for solid info, i had to dig deep to find the this
__________________
2014 F30 335 X-Drive | 6-MT | Alpine White/Coral Red | ZMM ZDH ZDA |

ZheHbKa is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2013, 04:37 PM   #44
EvenKeel
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

Does one have to "program" the vehicle to recognize a new set of TPMS.

Lets say you remove your summer wheels and mount a new set of winter wheels that are already equipped with TPMS, how does one get the vehicle to recognize the correct sensors?
EvenKeel is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST