F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Drivetrain malfunction!!!!!
PYSPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-29-2012, 07:36 PM   #1
NAV8TT
Major
United_States
107

 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world


Posts: 883
iTrader: (0)

I was driving to work in Eco pro mode and once i entered the highway, i tried to catch up on speed so I moved the gear to DS from D position and all of a sudden the car jammed up, started shaking and a signal came up in the iDrive saying Drivetrain malfunction, drive moderately, and the car wouldn't allow me to exceed 50 mls/h. The car kept shaking till I took the next exit. It was very dangerous as I entered the highway with that speed and there was a bunch of cars going at least 75 mls/hr that had to leave the lane I'm on. Darn it. The engine light is on now. I parked the car and I'm at work now. WTF!!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 08:47 PM   #2
claykin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
30

 
Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida


Posts: 1,893
iTrader: (0)

What happens when you shut off engine and restart? Does car contine to throw errors and run in limp mode?

If so, take it in.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 08:59 AM   #3
NGuyadeen
First Lieutenant
United_States
19

 
NGuyadeen's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami,Fl


Posts: 392
iTrader: (0)

Remember guys these are very sophisticated cars and malfunctions happen, It's happend to me. When you switched the car from d- ds there a change in engine funtion and unlocks more performance so somthig happend. Restart the car and try the highway again no need to take the car in and waste time
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 11:25 AM   #4
SomeRandomer123
Colonel
England
169

 
SomeRandomer123's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Luxury - Sport Auto
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, North West England, UK


Posts: 2,565
iTrader: (0)

D to DS is just a software change, so all your car should do is drop 2 or 3 gears for higher revs.
How odd. Must not've liked the downchange!
Let us know how it goes.
__________________

Gone: 2006 BMW E60 520d SE 6MT
Gone: 2009 BMW E90-LCI 330d SE 6MT
Current: 2012 F30 328i Luxury 8AT
My 328i initial thoughts + media!http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712673
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 12:52 PM   #5
NAV8TT
Major
United_States
107

 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world


Posts: 883
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGuyadeen
Remember guys these are very sophisticated cars and malfunctions happen, It's happend to me. When you switched the car from d- ds there a change in engine funtion and unlocks more performance so somthig happend. Restart the car and try the highway again no need to take the car in and waste time
Something odd happened that shouldn't happen. The car did that again in D in comfort mode. The car was shacking and there was a weirded sound that came from the engine. I brought it in today and they said it will take 2-3 days to figure out what is going on. Of course... I placed another call to BMWNA with another issue. Do you guys thing anything happened in the transmission?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 01:05 PM   #6
NGuyadeen
First Lieutenant
United_States
19

 
NGuyadeen's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami,Fl


Posts: 392
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
Something odd happened that shouldn't happen. The car did that again in D in comfort mode. The car was shacking and there was a weirded sound that came from the engine. I brought it in today and they said it will take 2-3 days to figure out what is going on. Of course... I placed another call to BMWNA with another issue. Do you guys thing anything happened in the transmission?
Well anything is possible there could be thousands of reasons something like that would happen. Good job brining the car in fast
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 04:24 PM   #7
YMB_M3_j2
Lieutenant
United_States
13

 
YMB_M3_j2's Avatar
 
Drives: YMB M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida


Posts: 598
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
I was driving to work in Eco pro mode and once i entered the highway, i tried to catch up on speed so I moved the gear to DS from D position and all of a sudden the car jammed up, started shaking and a signal came up in the iDrive saying Drivetrain malfunction, drive moderately, and the car wouldn't allow me to exceed 50 mls/h. The car kept shaking till I took the next exit. It was very dangerous as I entered the highway with that speed and there was a bunch of cars going at least 75 mls/hr that had to leave the lane I'm on. Darn it. The engine light is on now. I parked the car and I'm at work now. WTF!!
this has happened to my car 4 times now. Its a cylinder misfire that causes that error. It could either be a spark plug, coil pack or injector. The dealer has replaced the coil packs and spark plugs but it continues to happen. BMWNA is involved now and they have no idea what to do fix it. They have updated software as well with no luck. Im one step away from filing a lemon law suit for it.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 05:06 PM   #8
mocohead
First Lieutenant
24

 
Drives: 2012 328i (ED)/ 2011 328i (ED)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

OP - 328 or 335?
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 05:11 PM   #9
YMB_M3_j2
Lieutenant
United_States
13

 
YMB_M3_j2's Avatar
 
Drives: YMB M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida


Posts: 598
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mocohead View Post
OP - 328 or 335?
328
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 05:46 PM   #10
NAV8TT
Major
United_States
107

 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world


Posts: 883
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mocohead
OP - 328 or 335?
328i :
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 05:59 PM   #11
howiegu
Member
United_States
5

 
howiegu's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' 335xi Msport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New England


Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

For one drives in E pro, it's just not logical to shift into DS in BMW's design logic, hence the "problem" you had.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 04:57 PM   #12
David328M-Sport
Brigadier General
Australia
76

 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia


Posts: 3,454
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
For one drives in E pro, it's just not logical to shift into DS in BMW's design logic, hence the "problem" you had.
No, that's not right. You can change from any setting to any setting without issue. Well at least I can in mine.
__________________
328i M-Sport, Estoril Blue, Carbon XP 35 Tint, front heated seats, black Dakota, Sports Suspension, Anthracite Headliner, HUD, Pro Nav, Sunroof, hk 600w, Bi-Xenon, 19" 403M wheels, Reversing Camera, DAB+, Xenon, BT Ext Connect.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 06:35 PM   #13
SomeRandomer123
Colonel
England
169

 
SomeRandomer123's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Luxury - Sport Auto
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, North West England, UK


Posts: 2,565
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by David328M-Sport View Post
No, that's not right. You can change from any setting to any setting without issue. Well at least I can in mine.
Exactly. It's nothing you've done. There's nothing you can do!!
__________________

Gone: 2006 BMW E60 520d SE 6MT
Gone: 2009 BMW E90-LCI 330d SE 6MT
Current: 2012 F30 328i Luxury 8AT
My 328i initial thoughts + media!http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712673
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 06:45 PM   #14
CirrusSR22
Captain
15

 
Drives: E36 318ti, R50 MINI
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Minnesota


Posts: 950
iTrader: (0)

Just make sure you keep us updated with the problem & fix
__________________
If you want things done right, you gotta do it yourself.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 06:54 PM   #15
Dabaitu
Colonel
Australia
86

 
Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au


Posts: 2,962
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
328i :
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 07:48 PM   #16
BMWgasm
Hooah!
United_States
2

 
BMWgasm's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335i M Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germany


Posts: 126
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
For one drives in E pro, it's just not logical to shift into DS in BMW's design logic, hence the "problem" you had.
Really guy? This is one of the more ridiculous statements I've seen. There is absolutely nothing wrong with switching to D/S for D in ANY mode. Get a clue please.
__________________
'11 E90 335i M Sport Black Sapphire
'13 F30 328i M Sport Black Sapphire
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 09:02 PM   #17
NAV8TT
Major
United_States
107

 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world


Posts: 883
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabaitu
Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
328i :
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 09:08 PM   #18
NAV8TT
Major
United_States
107

 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world


Posts: 883
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWgasm
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
For one drives in E pro, it's just not logical to shift into DS in BMW's design logic, hence the "problem" you had.
Really guy? This is one of the more ridiculous statements I've seen. There is absolutely nothing wrong with switching to D/S for D in ANY mode. Get a clue please.
Agree...

What is the definition of BMW logic? The car was designed to be driven in three different modes smoothly and interchangeably without jamming up with a warning signal in front of a truck on the highway...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 09:29 PM   #19
NAV8TT
Major
United_States
107

 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world


Posts: 883
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CirrusSR22
Just make sure you keep us updated with the problem & fix
+
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 09:34 PM   #20
NAV8TT
Major
United_States
107

 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world


Posts: 883
iTrader: (0)

Thing is, they gave me an alpine white F30 loaner. Mine is sapphire black metallic.

Since I bought my car I didn't get any comments about it from anyone. Since I had the alpine white loaner (2 days ago), I got 6 comments about how nice the car is ...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 10:22 PM   #21
Elk
Major
13

 
Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: *


Posts: 1,275
iTrader: (0)

White has been the most popular car color for years - one of the many mysteries of the world.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 09:47 AM   #22
JoeyO
Lieutenant
United_States
35

 
Drives: silver car
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA


Posts: 547
iTrader: (0)

Makes sense. White shows the lines and creases in the car. The lines and creases get entirely lost on a black color.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST