F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Drivetrain malfunction!!!!!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-02-2012, 10:12 AM   #23
shivaswrath
Brigadier General
 
shivaswrath's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lost in NJ

Posts: 3,017
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWgasm
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
For one drives in E pro, it's just not logical to shift into DS in BMW's design logic, hence the "problem" you had.
Really guy? This is one of the more ridiculous statements I've seen. There is absolutely nothing wrong with switching to D/S for D in ANY mode. Get a clue please.
Seriously!!

I drive in Eco Pro and shift to DS to take over ppl all the time, it's a personally reasonable expectation.

Keep us informed OP...seems like an engine+drivetrain issue, but might be relevant to 335i owners Down the pike.
__________________
2012 335i Mineral Gray
M Performance Whore: PPK|Exhaust|Brakes|Performance Suspension Struts & Springs|LSD|Black Kidney Grilles|CF Spoiler and Mirror Caps|Bav Stage 1|400Ms|BMWF30.com
shivaswrath is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 11:18 AM   #24
CoolDude196
.
 
CoolDude196's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 20d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: England

Posts: 615
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyO
Makes sense. White shows the lines and creases in the car. The lines and creases get entirely lost on a black color.
+1
__________________
AW Sport 20d, 2tb, 552, lc, 397 plus others
CoolDude196 is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 11:32 AM   #25
mocohead
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 328i (ED)/ 2011 328i (ED)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

OP what gas (brand and octane) do you use?

Have you noticed the car cranking a long time before starting in the morning?
mocohead is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 12:18 PM   #26
Elk
Major
 
Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: *

Posts: 1,275
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyO View Post
Makes sense. White shows the lines and creases in the car.
True, although white is the most popular regardless of brand or styling of the car - including slab-sided vehicles.

White's may have more to do with its surprising ability to hide the fact the vehicle is dirty. It is also a safe, conservative choice.
Elk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 01:55 PM   #27
yannisap
New Member
 
Drives: F30 320d
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: AGR

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw328jc
I was driving to work in Eco pro mode and once i entered the highway, i tried to catch up on speed so I moved the gear to DS from D position and all of a sudden the car jammed up, started shaking and a signal came up in the iDrive saying Drivetrain malfunction, drive moderately, and the car wouldn't allow me to exceed 50 mls/h. The car kept shaking till I took the next exit. It was very dangerous as I entered the highway with that speed and there was a bunch of cars going at least 75 mls/hr that had to leave the lane I'm on. Darn it. The engine light is on now. I parked the car and I'm at work now. WTF!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
this has happened to my car 4 times now. Its a cylinder misfire that causes that error. It could either be a spark plug, coil pack or injector. The dealer has replaced the coil packs and spark plugs but it continues to happen. BMWNA is involved now and they have no idea what to do fix it. They have updated software as well with no luck. Im one step away from filing a lemon law suit for it.
Same problem we had on a colleague's car. We took it to various BMW and all followed the procedure by replacing everything then at our desperate call to the leasing company they suggested another dealer who immediately said that the problem was by the thermostat. It is common for the BMW's that the thermostat during the winter stacks and doesn't allow the systems to understand how to operate properly the engine. It is also the reason that the computer cannot record any problem.
yannisap is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 02:49 PM   #28
bnekic
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 328i xDrive Sport Line
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 368
iTrader: (0)

I had the drivetrain malfunction last night on my 2 day old 328i. I turned the car off then back on and everything was fine. Not to worried about it, if anything really bad happens BMW will fix it since they are aware of the problem.
bnekic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 08:14 PM   #29
NAV8TT
Major
 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mocohead
OP what gas (brand and octane) do you use?

Have you noticed the car cranking a long time before starting in the morning?
89 octane. No cranking.
__________________
NAV8TT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 08:21 PM   #30
NAV8TT
Major
 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnekic
I had the drivetrain malfunction last night on my 2 day old 328i. I turned the car off then back on and everything was fine. Not to worried about it, if anything really bad happens BMW will fix it since they are aware of the problem.
When I started the car in the morning engine light was on for a few minutes then disappeared. Car drove ok but I was very worried because of what happened on the highway. I had to bring it in.
__________________
NAV8TT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 08:22 PM   #31
NAV8TT
Major
 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CirrusSR22
Just make sure you keep us updated with the problem & fix
So far car is at the dealer for the last 3 days
__________________
NAV8TT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 10:47 PM   #32
BMWrules7
Major
 
Drives: 2011 750Li, Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boston Area

Posts: 1,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
For one drives in E pro, it's just not logical to shift into DS in BMW's design logic, hence the "problem" you had.



Lol! Somewhere, lurking in the gear shift monitor program...

If (shiftMonitor == etSportModezWhilstEcoPro) {

/*** Idiot switched shift lever to sport while he is in ecoPro ***/

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** scare the bejesus out of this environmentally foolish moron ***/

masterCautionChime();

sleep(60);

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** surprise moron again ***/

limpMode(etEnable); /*** punish this half-man-half-idiot with half a car ***/


}
BMWrules7 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 11:09 PM   #33
NAV8TT
Major
 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWrules7
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
For one drives in E pro, it's just not logical to shift into DS in BMW's design logic, hence the "problem" you had.



Lol! Somewhere, lurking in the gear shift monitor program...

If (shiftMonitor == etSportModezWhilstEcoPro) {

/*** Idiot switched shift lever to sport while he is in ecoPro ***/

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** scare the bejesus out of this environmentally foolish moron ***/

masterCautionChime();

sleep(60);

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** surprise moron again ***/

limpMode(etEnable); /*** punish this half-man-half-idiot with half a car ***/


}
:
__________________
NAV8TT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 12:35 PM   #34
ex o
 
ex o's Avatar
 
Drives: ✖✖
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: ✖✖✖

Posts: 157
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWrules7 View Post
Lol! Somewhere, lurking in the gear shift monitor program...

If (shiftMonitor == etSportModezWhilstEcoPro) {

/*** Idiot switched shift lever to sport while he is in ecoPro ***/

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** scare the bejesus out of this environmentally foolish moron ***/

masterCautionChime();

sleep(60);

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** surprise moron again ***/

limpMode(etEnable); /*** punish this half-man-half-idiot with half a car ***/


}
Haha! Best Post.
ex o is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 03:10 PM   #35
mocohead
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 328i (ED)/ 2011 328i (ED)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

OP my guess is that you had detonation due to using 89 octane fuel.

Really you should run the highest octane gas possible, and preferably only tier 1 fuel.
mocohead is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 04:28 PM   #36
phillye30fanboy
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 1988 BMW 325, now with 24v!
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: philadelphia

Posts: 245
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWrules7 View Post
Lol! Somewhere, lurking in the gear shift monitor program...

If (shiftMonitor == etSportModezWhilstEcoPro) {

/*** Idiot switched shift lever to sport while he is in ecoPro ***/

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** scare the bejesus out of this environmentally foolish moron ***/

masterCautionChime();

sleep(60);

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** surprise moron again ***/

limpMode(etEnable); /*** punish this half-man-half-idiot with half a car ***/


}
i hate that i understand that. haha
__________________
I'm not superstitious, but I am a little stitious.
phillye30fanboy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 07:05 PM   #37
Elk
Major
 
Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: *

Posts: 1,275
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mocohead View Post
OP my guess is that you had detonation due to using 89 octane fuel.

Really you should run the highest octane gas possible, and preferably only tier 1 fuel.
Complete rubbish.
Elk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 01:23 AM   #38
SwampCat84
Private First Class
 
SwampCat84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SoCal

Posts: 121
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWrules7 View Post
Lol! Somewhere, lurking in the gear shift monitor program...

If (shiftMonitor == etSportModezWhilstEcoPro) {

/*** Idiot switched shift lever to sport while he is in ecoPro ***/

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** scare the bejesus out of this environmentally foolish moron ***/

masterCautionChime();

sleep(60);

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** surprise moron again ***/

limpMode(etEnable); /*** punish this half-man-half-idiot with half a car ***/


}


Thats (in so many words) what I was thinking... It doesnt make much sense to switch into Drive 'Sport' when you are in 'Eco' Pro.. lol
SwampCat84 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 09:39 AM   #39
mocohead
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 328i (ED)/ 2011 328i (ED)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CA

Posts: 397
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elk View Post
Complete rubbish.
I'm willing to admit if I am wrong, but hopefully you have something intelligent to add. Complete rubbish because...
mocohead is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 10:24 AM   #40
NAV8TT
Major
 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mocohead
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elk View Post
Complete rubbish.
I'm willing to admit if I am wrong, but hopefully you have something intelligent to add. Complete rubbish because...
Well the owners manual and also written on the gas tank that the recommended octane is 89 or higher. So I don't understand how using what's recommended can cause a problem!!??
__________________
NAV8TT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 10:27 AM   #41
NAV8TT
Major
 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwampCat84
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWrules7 View Post
Lol! Somewhere, lurking in the gear shift monitor program...

If (shiftMonitor == etSportModezWhilstEcoPro) {

/*** Idiot switched shift lever to sport while he is in ecoPro ***/

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** scare the bejesus out of this environmentally foolish moron ***/

masterCautionChime();

sleep(60);

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** surprise moron again ***/

limpMode(etEnable); /*** punish this half-man-half-idiot with half a car ***/


}


Thats (in so many words) what I was thinking... It doesnt make much sense to switch into Drive 'Sport' when you are in 'Eco' Pro.. lol
Well it happened again while driving in comfort on D. It has nothing to do with Eco pro + SD.
__________________
NAV8TT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 10:50 AM   #42
brio
Second Lieutenant
 
brio's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 330i, '09 e92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central FL

Posts: 287
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2009 BMW M3  [0.00]
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
Well it happened again while driving in comfort on D. It has nothing to do with Eco pro + SD.
So, you got the car back from the dealer already?
brio is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 11:03 AM   #43
NAV8TT
Major
 
NAV8TT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ///M3 E92 DCT ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The greatest country in the world

Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by brio
Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
Well it happened again while driving in comfort on D. It has nothing to do with Eco pro + SD.
So, you got the car back from the dealer already?
Not yet, they are still working on it, BMWNA is involved. I got a call from them yesterday that they are still working on it.
__________________
NAV8TT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2012, 11:17 AM   #44
Fishjr
New Member
 
Drives: Daily Driver
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: GA

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ONE-77 View Post
Well it happened again while driving in comfort on D. It has nothing to do with Eco pro + SD.
They forgot to add a couple of lines of code. Correct code as follows:


Public void MessWithEnvironmentalMoron() {

If (shiftMonitor == etSportModezWhilstEcoPro) {

/*** Idiot switched shift lever to sport while he is in ecoPro ***/

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** scare the bejesus out of this environmentally foolish moron ***/

masterCautionChime();

sleep(60);

misFire(rnd(etMaxNoCyls)); /*** surprise moron again ***/

limpMode(etEnable); /*** punish this half-man-half-idiot with half a car ***/

sleep(Random.Next()); /*** Randomly kickoff script again for being a moron ***/

MessWithEnvironmentalMoron();


}
}
Fishjr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST