F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > USB stick for audio
MINHS Auto Care Center
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-16-2012, 02:13 AM   #23
Sirrus
Private First Class
 
Sirrus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM90 View Post
This thread reminded me that I do have a USB input.
Now I'm going to load up some .wav files.
Your system should support Lossless WMA. I've been using those on my e92 for a while and they also worked on the HK system I test drove last week. The only gotcha is to make sure they don't have a bunch of extraneous metadata / tags.
Sirrus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2012, 11:27 PM   #24
RPM90
Major General
 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 6,091
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirrus View Post
Your system should support Lossless WMA. I've been using those on my e92 for a while and they also worked on the HK system I test drove last week. The only gotcha is to make sure they don't have a bunch of extraneous metadata / tags.
Cool. Thanks.
RPM90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2012, 04:05 AM   #25
zibawal
Major
 
Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA

Posts: 1,052
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabaitu View Post
Your issue with the car's HDD is that it doesn't rip from a CD at a decent bit rate AFAIK.

You're better off doing what the OP and I do, which is RIP to a WMA lossless or 320 rated file and store it on a USB. It will pick up album art too if done correctly, and the 32GB Sandisk I use is about half the size of a thumb.
What is the best software to rip WMA lossless?
zibawal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2012, 05:29 AM   #26
Dabaitu
Colonel
 
Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au

Posts: 2,947
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by zibawal View Post
What is the best software to rip WMA lossless?
Windows Media Player (WMA = Windows Media Audio)
Dabaitu is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 12:37 AM   #27
Sirrus
Private First Class
 
Sirrus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zibawal
What is the best software to rip WMA lossless?
I like dBpoweramp.
Sirrus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2012, 04:19 PM   #28
Mamasgotkids
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 Bmw 328 Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Seattle

Posts: 129
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone have tips for getting ALL iTunes - Apple purchased music uploaded? That's all we have. I could never get it to load onto my VW hard drive. VW even told me it wasn't supported (which sucked). Since this car is only 2 days old I haven't gotten around to trying it yet.
__________________
Past:
2006 328d Touring, 2008 318i, 2008 118i

Current:
2012 328i Sport in Melbourne Red
Mamasgotkids is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 08:26 PM   #29
RPM90
Major General
 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 6,091
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mamasgotkids View Post
Does anyone have tips for getting ALL iTunes - Apple purchased music uploaded? That's all we have. I could never get it to load onto my VW hard drive. VW even told me it wasn't supported (which sucked). Since this car is only 2 days old I haven't gotten around to trying it yet.
I can't help you with the iTunes question. I don't like using iTunes for that very reason, Apple is much too restrictive in allowing people to use the music they paid for in any manner they want to use it.

My suggestion is simply to use your ipod device and plug it in via USB or use the audio cable supplied by BMW that goes from your ipod to a stereo plug. The plug then plugs into the input inside the center armrest.
It sounds just as good.

Sorry I couldn't answer your question. Hopefully someone will chime in and tell you how to do it. IIRC there is 3rd party software that may let you do what you want, which is getting the audio files off you iTunes and onto your HDD.
This may or may not work, but what if you created a CD using iTunes and then put that CD in the CD player, then see if he audio system will rip the audio files from the CD and onto your HDD, just as it would with a regular audio CD.
Just make sure to create an actual audio CD and just use the CD as a file transport, IOW, burn an actual audio CD with your iTunes music.
RPM90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 02:59 AM   #30
RichardM
Major
 
Drives: F31 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK

Posts: 1,474
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mamasgotkids View Post
Does anyone have tips for getting ALL iTunes - Apple purchased music uploaded? That's all we have. I could never get it to load onto my VW hard drive. VW even told me it wasn't supported (which sucked). Since this car is only 2 days old I haven't gotten around to trying it yet.
Can you not just copy the files from the iTunes music folder on your PC to the USB stick? That's all I did.
RichardM is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 08:33 AM   #31
yepeztroncoso
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW 3 Series Luxury 320i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Caribbean

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

I noticed i cant save the files frmo my USB to the car HDD. It seems tracks can only be recorded via CD.
yepeztroncoso is offline   Dominican Republic
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 09:05 AM   #32
TonyS
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex, UK

Posts: 555
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by yepeztroncoso View Post
I noticed i cant save the files frmo my USB to the car HDD. It seems tracks can only be recorded via CD.
Yes you can. You need to plug your USB stick into the socket in the glove box for it to work. However, the whole implementation is completely b*ggered and useless as far as I'm concerned, to the extent that I've given up using it and just have all my music on a tiny USB stick in the centre console, which works so much better.
TonyS is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 04:59 AM   #33
Micleg
F31 320d msport w/HUD
 
Drives: 320d F31 m, 520d F11 m
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden, Linköping

Posts: 302
iTrader: (0)

Playlist problems

Have any of you guys any problems with the playlists on the USB stick?

I got a USB3 Kingston Hyper-X, yeah I know, total overkill, but I wanted it to be fast when transferring from a PC.

The first batch of music files and playlist files worked fine although sorted from Z to A.

Then I added some more music and playlists only to see most of them not appear on the display! And the ones that showed up were put on top of the last one, listed before Z, Y, X... but in random order.

It's all crazy. By the way, I have an F31 with the new prof nav system and HK audio.
Micleg is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 05:50 AM   #34
RichardM
Major
 
Drives: F31 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK

Posts: 1,474
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyS View Post
Yes you can. You need to plug your USB stick into the socket in the glove box for it to work.
That's only for the old Nav. The new Nav doesn't have the USB socket in the glovebox any more, it's all done through the centre console socket.
RichardM is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 05:54 AM   #35
TonyS
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex, UK

Posts: 555
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardM View Post
That's only for the old Nav. The new Nav doesn't have the USB socket in the glovebox any more, it's all done through the centre console socket.
Ah - wasn't aware of that difference.
TonyS is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 06:05 AM   #36
RichardM
Major
 
Drives: F31 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK

Posts: 1,474
iTrader: (1)

I spent a while looking for it to load music
RichardM is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 06:53 PM   #37
Jeffersontp
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 328i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Richmond Va

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Good to know. I wasn't having much luck transferring music to the harddrive.
Jeffersontp is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2013, 05:00 PM   #38
DJHakim
Second Lieutenant
 
DJHakim's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA

Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirrus View Post
Your system should support Lossless WMA. I've been using those on my e92 for a while and they also worked on the HK system I test drove last week. The only gotcha is to make sure they don't have a bunch of extraneous metadata / tags.
Does the 2013 F30 iDrive manual (can't find e-version) specify what formats are supported? I wonder if WMA lossless support is official.
__________________
F30 (2013 328xi): Step, ZCP, Nav, PDC, Alarm, Shades, GS Metallic
E90 (2009 328xi): Step, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, Alarm, Shades, SG Metallic [Retired]
E90 (2006 325xi): Step, ZSP, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, CA, Xenons, Shades, CrO3 Exhaust, TiAg Metallic [Retired]
DJHakim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2013, 05:20 PM   #39
zibawal
Major
 
Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA

Posts: 1,052
iTrader: (0)

Some one suggested to use WMA but it was no go
zibawal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2013, 11:47 PM   #40
Sirrus
Private First Class
 
Sirrus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJHakim

Does the 2013 F30 iDrive manual (can't find e-version) specify what formats are supported? I wonder if WMA lossless support is official.
I don't know if it's official, but I'm using it. If having trouble, remove as much tagging info as you can.
Sirrus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2013, 12:42 PM   #41
momo3605
Captain
 
Drives: 328i M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Norcal

Posts: 863
iTrader: (0)

I'm trying to use wma lossless as well but it says file not supported. It works fine in my e9x 3series though
momo3605 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2013, 03:36 PM   #42
dzaborn
Private
 
Drives: 2013 BMW 328i F30
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by momo3605 View Post
I'm trying to use wma lossless as well but it says file not supported. It works fine in my e9x 3series though
I ripped direct from CD to WMA lossless using WMP12 in Windows 7 and had no issues playing from a USB drive in my F30.

My disappointment is that the F30 playback is not gapless (as should be the case with lossless formats). The abilty to achieve gapless playback was my main reason for trying out a lossless format (as opposed to sound quality).
__________________
2013 BMW 328i Sedan | Mojave Metallic Modern Line
Premium | Technology | Lighting | Rear View Camera | PDC | Harman Kardon | Heated Front Seats | 8AT
dzaborn is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2013, 03:48 PM   #43
zibawal
Major
 
Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA

Posts: 1,052
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzaborn View Post
I ripped direct from CD to WMA lossless using WMP12 in Windows 7 and had no issues playing from a USB drive in my F30.

My disappointment is that the F30 playback is not gapless (as should be the case with lossless formats). The abilty to achieve gapless playback was my main reason for trying out a lossless format (as opposed to sound quality).
my tracks play in m3 not in f30?
zibawal is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-29-2013, 01:52 PM   #44
DJHakim
Second Lieutenant
 
DJHakim's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA

Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzaborn View Post
I ripped direct from CD to WMA lossless using WMP12 in Windows 7 and had no issues playing from a USB drive in my F30.

My disappointment is that the F30 playback is not gapless (as should be the case with lossless formats). The abilty to achieve gapless playback was my main reason for trying out a lossless format (as opposed to sound quality).
I have Lossless WMA files that BMW sees, but does not play. It skips them. Media rights are not set for them. They do have a bit rate of >1 Mbps. Other lossless WMA files play fine. All were ripped from CD in WMP.

In the printed F30 Navigation/Entertainment manual (p. 51, top/right), BMW states that playback cannot be guaranteed for bit rates >256 kbit/s. This sux BIG TIME if I have to batch transcode my files to 256 kbit/s!!!
__________________
F30 (2013 328xi): Step, ZCP, Nav, PDC, Alarm, Shades, GS Metallic
E90 (2009 328xi): Step, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, Alarm, Shades, SG Metallic [Retired]
E90 (2006 325xi): Step, ZSP, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, CA, Xenons, Shades, CrO3 Exhaust, TiAg Metallic [Retired]
DJHakim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST