F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > USB stick for audio
jb4store
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-16-2012, 02:13 AM   #23
Sirrus
Private First Class
6

 
Sirrus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA


Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM90 View Post
This thread reminded me that I do have a USB input.
Now I'm going to load up some .wav files.
Your system should support Lossless WMA. I've been using those on my e92 for a while and they also worked on the HK system I test drove last week. The only gotcha is to make sure they don't have a bunch of extraneous metadata / tags.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2012, 11:27 PM   #24
RPM90
Major General
196

 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago


Posts: 6,095
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirrus View Post
Your system should support Lossless WMA. I've been using those on my e92 for a while and they also worked on the HK system I test drove last week. The only gotcha is to make sure they don't have a bunch of extraneous metadata / tags.
Cool. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2012, 04:05 AM   #25
zibawal
Major
United_States
18

 
Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA


Posts: 1,059
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabaitu View Post
Your issue with the car's HDD is that it doesn't rip from a CD at a decent bit rate AFAIK.

You're better off doing what the OP and I do, which is RIP to a WMA lossless or 320 rated file and store it on a USB. It will pick up album art too if done correctly, and the 32GB Sandisk I use is about half the size of a thumb.
What is the best software to rip WMA lossless?
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2012, 05:29 AM   #26
Dabaitu
Colonel
Australia
86

 
Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au


Posts: 2,962
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by zibawal View Post
What is the best software to rip WMA lossless?
Windows Media Player (WMA = Windows Media Audio)
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 12:37 AM   #27
Sirrus
Private First Class
6

 
Sirrus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA


Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zibawal
What is the best software to rip WMA lossless?
I like dBpoweramp.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 04:19 PM   #28
Mamasgotkids
Private First Class
United_States
10

 
Drives: 2012 Bmw 328 Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Seattle


Posts: 129
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone have tips for getting ALL iTunes - Apple purchased music uploaded? That's all we have. I could never get it to load onto my VW hard drive. VW even told me it wasn't supported (which sucked). Since this car is only 2 days old I haven't gotten around to trying it yet.
__________________
Past:
2006 328d Touring, 2008 318i, 2008 118i

Current:
2012 328i Sport in Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2012, 08:26 PM   #29
RPM90
Major General
196

 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago


Posts: 6,095
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mamasgotkids View Post
Does anyone have tips for getting ALL iTunes - Apple purchased music uploaded? That's all we have. I could never get it to load onto my VW hard drive. VW even told me it wasn't supported (which sucked). Since this car is only 2 days old I haven't gotten around to trying it yet.
I can't help you with the iTunes question. I don't like using iTunes for that very reason, Apple is much too restrictive in allowing people to use the music they paid for in any manner they want to use it.

My suggestion is simply to use your ipod device and plug it in via USB or use the audio cable supplied by BMW that goes from your ipod to a stereo plug. The plug then plugs into the input inside the center armrest.
It sounds just as good.

Sorry I couldn't answer your question. Hopefully someone will chime in and tell you how to do it. IIRC there is 3rd party software that may let you do what you want, which is getting the audio files off you iTunes and onto your HDD.
This may or may not work, but what if you created a CD using iTunes and then put that CD in the CD player, then see if he audio system will rip the audio files from the CD and onto your HDD, just as it would with a regular audio CD.
Just make sure to create an actual audio CD and just use the CD as a file transport, IOW, burn an actual audio CD with your iTunes music.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 02:59 AM   #30
RichardM
Lieutenant Colonel
England
28

 
Drives: F31 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK


Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mamasgotkids View Post
Does anyone have tips for getting ALL iTunes - Apple purchased music uploaded? That's all we have. I could never get it to load onto my VW hard drive. VW even told me it wasn't supported (which sucked). Since this car is only 2 days old I haven't gotten around to trying it yet.
Can you not just copy the files from the iTunes music folder on your PC to the USB stick? That's all I did.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 08:33 AM   #31
yepeztroncoso
New Member
Dominican Republic
0

 
Drives: 2013 BMW 3 Series Luxury 320i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Caribbean


Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

I noticed i cant save the files frmo my USB to the car HDD. It seems tracks can only be recorded via CD.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 09:05 AM   #32
TonyS
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
23

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South West


Posts: 599
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by yepeztroncoso View Post
I noticed i cant save the files frmo my USB to the car HDD. It seems tracks can only be recorded via CD.
Yes you can. You need to plug your USB stick into the socket in the glove box for it to work. However, the whole implementation is completely b*ggered and useless as far as I'm concerned, to the extent that I've given up using it and just have all my music on a tiny USB stick in the centre console, which works so much better.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2012, 04:59 AM   #33
Micleg
F31 320d msport w/HUD
Sweden
13

 
Drives: 320d F31 m, 520d F11 m
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden, Linköping


Posts: 302
iTrader: (0)

Playlist problems

Have any of you guys any problems with the playlists on the USB stick?

I got a USB3 Kingston Hyper-X, yeah I know, total overkill, but I wanted it to be fast when transferring from a PC.

The first batch of music files and playlist files worked fine although sorted from Z to A.

Then I added some more music and playlists only to see most of them not appear on the display! And the ones that showed up were put on top of the last one, listed before Z, Y, X... but in random order.

It's all crazy. By the way, I have an F31 with the new prof nav system and HK audio.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2012, 05:50 AM   #34
RichardM
Lieutenant Colonel
England
28

 
Drives: F31 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK


Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyS View Post
Yes you can. You need to plug your USB stick into the socket in the glove box for it to work.
That's only for the old Nav. The new Nav doesn't have the USB socket in the glovebox any more, it's all done through the centre console socket.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2012, 05:54 AM   #35
TonyS
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
23

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South West


Posts: 599
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardM View Post
That's only for the old Nav. The new Nav doesn't have the USB socket in the glovebox any more, it's all done through the centre console socket.
Ah - wasn't aware of that difference.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2012, 06:05 AM   #36
RichardM
Lieutenant Colonel
England
28

 
Drives: F31 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Herts UK


Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (1)

I spent a while looking for it to load music
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 06:53 PM   #37
Jeffersontp
New Member
1

 
Drives: 2013 328i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Richmond Va


Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Good to know. I wasn't having much luck transferring music to the harddrive.
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2013, 05:00 PM   #38
DJHakim
Second Lieutenant
12

 
DJHakim's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA


Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirrus View Post
Your system should support Lossless WMA. I've been using those on my e92 for a while and they also worked on the HK system I test drove last week. The only gotcha is to make sure they don't have a bunch of extraneous metadata / tags.
Does the 2013 F30 iDrive manual (can't find e-version) specify what formats are supported? I wonder if WMA lossless support is official.
__________________
F30 (2013 328xi): Step, ZCP, Nav, PDC, Alarm, Shades, GS Metallic
E90 (2009 328xi): Step, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, Alarm, Shades, SG Metallic [Retired]
E90 (2006 325xi): Step, ZSP, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, CA, Xenons, Shades, CrO3 Exhaust, TiAg Metallic [Retired]
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2013, 05:20 PM   #39
zibawal
Major
United_States
18

 
Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA


Posts: 1,059
iTrader: (0)

Some one suggested to use WMA but it was no go
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2013, 11:47 PM   #40
Sirrus
Private First Class
6

 
Sirrus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County, CA


Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJHakim

Does the 2013 F30 iDrive manual (can't find e-version) specify what formats are supported? I wonder if WMA lossless support is official.
I don't know if it's official, but I'm using it. If having trouble, remove as much tagging info as you can.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2013, 12:42 PM   #41
momo3605
Captain
38

 
Drives: 328i M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Norcal


Posts: 863
iTrader: (0)

I'm trying to use wma lossless as well but it says file not supported. It works fine in my e9x 3series though
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2013, 03:36 PM   #42
dzaborn
Private
United_States
1

 
Drives: 2013 BMW 328i F30
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL


Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by momo3605 View Post
I'm trying to use wma lossless as well but it says file not supported. It works fine in my e9x 3series though
I ripped direct from CD to WMA lossless using WMP12 in Windows 7 and had no issues playing from a USB drive in my F30.

My disappointment is that the F30 playback is not gapless (as should be the case with lossless formats). The abilty to achieve gapless playback was my main reason for trying out a lossless format (as opposed to sound quality).
__________________
2013 BMW 328i Sedan | Mojave Metallic Modern Line
Premium | Technology | Lighting | Rear View Camera | PDC | Harman Kardon | Heated Front Seats | 8AT
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2013, 03:48 PM   #43
zibawal
Major
United_States
18

 
Drives: 2012 X5D
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SFO BAY AREA


Posts: 1,059
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzaborn View Post
I ripped direct from CD to WMA lossless using WMP12 in Windows 7 and had no issues playing from a USB drive in my F30.

My disappointment is that the F30 playback is not gapless (as should be the case with lossless formats). The abilty to achieve gapless playback was my main reason for trying out a lossless format (as opposed to sound quality).
my tracks play in m3 not in f30?
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 01:52 PM   #44
DJHakim
Second Lieutenant
12

 
DJHakim's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA


Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzaborn View Post
I ripped direct from CD to WMA lossless using WMP12 in Windows 7 and had no issues playing from a USB drive in my F30.

My disappointment is that the F30 playback is not gapless (as should be the case with lossless formats). The abilty to achieve gapless playback was my main reason for trying out a lossless format (as opposed to sound quality).
I have Lossless WMA files that BMW sees, but does not play. It skips them. Media rights are not set for them. They do have a bit rate of >1 Mbps. Other lossless WMA files play fine. All were ripped from CD in WMP.

In the printed F30 Navigation/Entertainment manual (p. 51, top/right), BMW states that playback cannot be guaranteed for bit rates >256 kbit/s. This sux BIG TIME if I have to batch transcode my files to 256 kbit/s!!!
__________________
F30 (2013 328xi): Step, ZCP, Nav, PDC, Alarm, Shades, GS Metallic
E90 (2009 328xi): Step, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, Alarm, Shades, SG Metallic [Retired]
E90 (2006 325xi): Step, ZSP, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, CA, Xenons, Shades, CrO3 Exhaust, TiAg Metallic [Retired]
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST