F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-24-2012, 02:11 AM   #1497
zeezz
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 220
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by awhk View Post
Thanks for your input.

I think disabling the cold and warm checks won't affect the actual functions of the lights. The car just won't tell you which bulb is out.

TFL_L or R: front LED corona rings L or R
NSW_L or R: front fog lights
FRA_V_L or R: front turn signals
FRA_Z_L or R: most likely mirror turn signals as the setting is set to LED as default
AL_L or R: low beam
FL_L or R: high beam
POL_L or R: are LEDs according to the settings, maybe the parking light strips on the tail lights.

If the above is correct and AL/FL represents low beam/high beam, then BIX is free-up. The following 2 are either rear turn signals or brake lights? but there is also reverse and rear fog lights (maybe in the LCI entries)... hmm... need to do some testing over Christmas.
SML_L or R: not LED
BIX_L or R: not LED

LCI_0: LED
LCI_1: LED
LCI_2: not LED
LCI_3: LED
LCI_4: LED
LCI_5: LED
LCI_6: LED
LCI_7: LED
LCI_8: LED
I tried SML_L but it didn't fix my problem. Basically, the rear turn signals flicker since I changed them to "error free" LEDs... they work fine and are off most of the time, but upon starting the car they flicker very quick for 1 second (I'm assuming this may be the 'cold check') and then flicker every 5 minutes for a split second while the car is on (this may be the 'warm check').

Very odd that we don't have a FRA_H series (like the X3)... I checked both SML and BIX and they already have the warm/cold coding disabled even though they are not LED. Maybe I read that wrong.
zeezz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 09:32 AM   #1498
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,775
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Could you elaborate more on this procedure, don't quite get where to select the "VIN at the top of the SVT and selecting code"... Sounds like a good thing to learn in case I screw up and break something while playing with FDL...

I'm perfectly alright to recode those minor changes that I code using FDL, not that many
After you read VCM and activate FA, at the top of your SVT is your VIN. If you right-click on the VIN and select Code, you will VO Code the entire car (all ECU's).

Name:  SVT - VIN - VO Code.png
Views: 1330
Size:  23.4 KB
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 10:35 AM   #1499
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)

Woo! Thanks Shawn!!!
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 10:45 AM   #1500
imfloflo
Registered
 
Drives: F30 320d
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Thanks, this topic was very usefull for my new 320D F30.
imfloflo is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 10:52 AM   #1501
rolandleth
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bucharest

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan
A new E-Sys won't change anything. Either your CAFD has the FDL entry (or similar) or it doesn't. Flashing FEM_BODY though with new firmware could produce a new CAFD with the FDL entry.
How do you flash it with new firmare?
Suppose it's not a simple "use latest psdzdata files", right?
rolandleth is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 11:51 AM   #1502
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,775
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolandleth View Post
How do you flash it with new firmare?
Suppose it's not a simple "use latest psdzdata files", right?
Flashing new firmware is possible with just E-Sys and the PSdZData.

Myself and a 3 other Bimmerfest members are working on a DIY Flashing Guide for this; however, it is incredibly risky. And while we have successfully flashed several modules, just last week we bricked a Head Unit.

So, until I am convinced the process is 100% documented and accurate, and all risk has been minimized, the DIY Flashing Guide will not be published.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 03:13 PM   #1503
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Hi,
did somebody code this:

***
Another thing that the extended bluetooth option provides, is the ability to have 2 phones active at the same time.

Calls received from either phone will come through, but outgoing calls will go through the primary phone. The Bluetooth menu provides an option to swap primary and secondary to make outgoing calls on the other phone.

This in contrast to the 'basic' bluetooth where you can have 4 phones linked, but only 1 phone active at any point in time.
***

found something in the COMBOX_MEDIA
- handsfree_secondary, set this to aktive

and in HUCIC
hfp_audio_profile


but nothing happened?


Thank you
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 03:43 PM   #1504
ilhan1103
Private First Class
 
ilhan1103's Avatar
 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 170
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dos1973
Hi,
did somebody code this:

***
Another thing that the extended bluetooth option provides, is the ability to have 2 phones active at the same time.

Calls received from either phone will come through, but outgoing calls will go through the primary phone. The Bluetooth menu provides an option to swap primary and secondary to make outgoing calls on the other phone.

This in contrast to the 'basic' bluetooth where you can have 4 phones linked, but only 1 phone active at any point in time.
***

found something in the COMBOX_MEDIA
- handsfree_secondary, set this to aktive

and in HUCIC
hfp_audio_profile


but nothing happened?


Thank you
I'll check those values on my car. But what you described was possible by default here and I don't have extended Bluetooth
ilhan1103 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 04:13 PM   #1505
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

This is what i'm looking for.
I'd like to enabel these feature.... If possible.
I have also only the "small" BT.
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 05:51 PM   #1506
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Nothing is simple.

1) You would use FA Editor to add PDC Option to VO, then write the VO to the CAR. If you do not write it to the car's VCM, then future dealer programming will wipe it out.

2) I assume the retrofit kit comes with a module, so after connected, it should appear in your SVT, but you will need to use Detect CAF for SWE to add the CAFD to it, then VO Code the module.

3) You will also need to code other affected modules, which I imagine would be KOMBI and HU_CIC, and maybe FEM_BODY.

The easiest thing to do is VO Code the entire car to be safe, which you can do also by selecting your VIN at the top of the SVT and selecting CODE. Since VO Coding though codes the entire module, in this case every module, it will overide and FDL Coding you may have done, and you will need to come back afterwards and redo it.
This only applies to retrofits which involve additional hardware modules?
clarence is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 06:20 PM   #1507
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,775
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post
This only applies to retrofits which involve additional hardware modules?
I'm sorry, but I do not understand your question.

You can use Detect CAF for SWE for adding newer CAFD's or determining which files to be used to create an SVT Target (SVT_soll) to flash new firmware, and of course you can VO Code any module or the entire SVT any time you want.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2012, 05:44 AM   #1508
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I'm sorry, but I do not understand your question.
I mean if u retrofit stuff such as PDC u'll physically install an additional hardware module, whereas other "retrofits" are done to enable features that are market specific. So in the latter case do we still need to use detect CAF?
clarence is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2012, 08:20 AM   #1509
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,775
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post
I mean if u retrofit stuff such as PDC u'll physically install an additional hardware module, whereas other "retrofits" are done to enable features that are market specific. So in the latter case do we still need to use detect CAF?
No. Only if a new ECU is added would you need to use Detect CAF for SWE.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2012, 09:45 AM   #1510
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dos1973 View Post
Hi,
did somebody code this:

***
Another thing that the extended bluetooth option provides, is the ability to have 2 phones active at the same time.

Calls received from either phone will come through, but outgoing calls will go through the primary phone. The Bluetooth menu provides an option to swap primary and secondary to make outgoing calls on the other phone.

This in contrast to the 'basic' bluetooth where you can have 4 phones linked, but only 1 phone active at any point in time.
***

found something in the COMBOX_MEDIA
- handsfree_secondary, set this to aktive

and in HUCIC
hfp_audio_profile


but nothing happened?


Thank you
Did you enable the feature in Bluetooth option? For us, we have to select/tick for the additional phone feature to work. Them when u pair a phone you'll select it as main or additional phone
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2012, 11:28 AM   #1511
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

I don't have any options. Can only pair the phone and tick audio/music. Nothing more :-(

Can you post me a screenshot how this looks like. Maybe i have to search for more values...

edit: got it :-)

you need:

HU_CIC
SECONDARY_HFP = aktiv

Combox_Media
HANDSFREE_SECONDARY = aktiv


now I'm able to support my iphone and BB by Bt, without the need to switch.

Last edited by dos1973; 12-25-2012 at 04:00 PM.
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-26-2012, 12:08 AM   #1512
awhk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 RS4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeezz View Post
I tried SML_L but it didn't fix my problem. Basically, the rear turn signals flicker since I changed them to "error free" LEDs... they work fine and are off most of the time, but upon starting the car they flicker very quick for 1 second (I'm assuming this may be the 'cold check') and then flicker every 5 minutes for a split second while the car is on (this may be the 'warm check').

Very odd that we don't have a FRA_H series (like the X3)... I checked both SML and BIX and they already have the warm/cold coding disabled even though they are not LED. Maybe I read that wrong.
Good news, I was able to find the taillight entries from module REF 01, the entries matches the F25 ones perfectly. Here is the chart showing the light entries of my F30 with the default Cold, Warm and LED settings (A = Active, NA = Not Active).

EDIT: REF01 should be REM
Attached Images
 

Last edited by awhk; 03-07-2013 at 09:30 PM.
awhk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-26-2012, 10:08 AM   #1513
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dos1973 View Post
I don't have any options. Can only pair the phone and tick audio/music. Nothing more :-(

Can you post me a screenshot how this looks like. Maybe i have to search for more values...

edit: got it :-)

you need:

HU_CIC
SECONDARY_HFP = aktiv

Combox_Media
HANDSFREE_SECONDARY = aktiv


now I'm able to support my iphone and BB by Bt, without the need to switch.


Hi can someone with extendet bluetooh tell me what vaule is set to

HUCIC
hfp_audio_profile



Thank you
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-26-2012, 10:55 AM   #1514
Yobyot
Lieutenant
 
Yobyot's Avatar
 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 555
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Flashing new firmware is possible with just E-Sys and the PSdZData.

Myself and a 3 other Bimmerfest members are working on a DIY Flashing Guide for this; however, it is incredibly risky. And while we have successfully flashed several modules, just last week we bricked a Head Unit.

So, until I am convinced the process is 100% documented and accurate, and all risk has been minimized, the DIY Flashing Guide will not be published.
Wow...you guys are, as usual, expanding the frontiers of what's possible with coding. The whole community is grateful, even if you never publish the guide.

I just gotta ask: what happened with the bricked head unit? Was it possible to unbrick it by loading the original firmware?
__________________
MY12 335i ZSL with a deep dive into the options list
Produced: 2012-06-22
ED: 2012-07-19; Arrived in Jersey City: 2012-08-23
Redelivered: 2012-09-12
Yobyot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-26-2012, 11:24 AM   #1515
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,775
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot View Post
Wow...you guys are, as usual, expanding the frontiers of what's possible with coding. The whole community is grateful, even if you never publish the guide.

I just gotta ask: what happened with the bricked head unit? Was it possible to unbrick it by loading the original firmware?
There is a way to generate the SVT Target file automatically, which is preferred, and of course it can also be done manually. In some instances, the automatic generation does not work, and we have no idea why, yet anyway, so the manual method must be employed, which is very risky. It is assumed that during this manual SVT Target creation, a mistake was made.

The car goes in for service today I think. I am not sure if it can be recovered with ISTA/P or if the unit will need to be replaced. We shall see.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-26-2012, 11:42 AM   #1516
Yobyot
Lieutenant
 
Yobyot's Avatar
 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 555
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
There is a way to generate the SVT Target file automatically, which is preferred, and of course it can also be done manually. In some instances, the automatic generation does not work, and we have no idea why, yet anyway, so the manual method must be employed, which is very risky. It is assumed that during this manual SVT Target creation, a mistake was made.

The car goes in for service today I think. I am not sure if it can be recovered with ISTA/P or if the unit will need to be replaced. We shall see.
Well, I didn't understand the answer (my coding experience is limited to trying things from the cheat sheet -- the relationship of all the parts is beyond me) but I hope you get your head unit back!
__________________
MY12 335i ZSL with a deep dive into the options list
Produced: 2012-06-22
ED: 2012-07-19; Arrived in Jersey City: 2012-08-23
Redelivered: 2012-09-12
Yobyot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-26-2012, 11:56 AM   #1517
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,775
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot View Post
Well, I didn't understand the answer (my coding experience is limited to trying things from the cheat sheet -- the relationship of all the parts is beyond me) but I hope you get your head unit back!
Well, thankfully it is not my personal Head Unit, but we appreciate the sentiment.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-26-2012, 05:16 PM   #1518
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

There is a new BT/USB Update at BMW available
- UPD01006

Will this overwrite my codings...?
I have enabled BT Musik by coding...

Thnak you
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST