F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > BMW remote coolness
MINHS Auto Care Center
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-24-2012, 06:47 AM   #1
jzcrna
Captain
31
Rep
904
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Have any of you used the BMW remote app to send destinations to the nab in your car? This is such an awesome feature. It sure beats trying to dial it in from Idrive!!

After 10 months in my F30 I finally figured out how to delete "last destinations" and save a previous destination to my addresses. There IS a purpose for the "Options" button
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 07:13 AM   #2
SomeRandomer123
Colonel
SomeRandomer123's Avatar
England
89
Rep
2,572
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Luxury - Sport Auto
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, North West England, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jzcrna View Post
Have any of you used the BMW remote app to send destinations to the nab in your car? This is such an awesome feature. It sure beats trying to dial it in from Idrive!!

After 20 months in my F30 I finally figured out how to delete "last destinations" and save a previous destination to my addresses. There IS a purpose for the "Options" button
The Options button is underrated!

But yes, I use the BMW Remote App and it's very handy! I just wish the vehicle location could be displayed at more than 0.9mls!!
__________________

Gone: 2006 BMW E60 520d SE 6MT
Gone: 2009 BMW E90-LCI 330d SE 6MT
Current: 2012 F30 328i Luxury 8AT
My 328i initial thoughts + media!http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712673
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 08:39 AM   #3
cardsdoc
Private First Class
2
Rep
195
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shaker Heights, OH

iTrader: (0)

Been using this feature since I got my 2009 E90 and now on my F30. One of the most convenient features.
__________________
2013 335i xDrive sedan, sport line, melbourne red/black/black trim/red accent, premium, cold weather, tech pkg, dhp, sport AT, PDC, rear cam, auto high beams

2009 335i xDrive sedan (gone, my first BMW)
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 08:46 AM   #4
jzcrna
Captain
31
Rep
904
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cardsdoc
Been using this feature since I got my 2009 E90 and now on my F30. One of the most convenient features.
I used it before with the computer, but the app makes it so much easier as you can do it anywhere at anytime
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 09:07 AM   #5
cardsdoc
Private First Class
2
Rep
195
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shaker Heights, OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jzcrna View Post
I used it before with the computer, but the app makes it so much easier as you can do it anywhere at anytime
Yes true. Wish you could do it from within the google maps app.
__________________
2013 335i xDrive sedan, sport line, melbourne red/black/black trim/red accent, premium, cold weather, tech pkg, dhp, sport AT, PDC, rear cam, auto high beams

2009 335i xDrive sedan (gone, my first BMW)

Last edited by cardsdoc; 12-24-2012 at 09:18 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 12:14 PM   #6
CHCCubs
Lieutenant Colonel
CHCCubs's Avatar
Latvia
18
Rep
1,775
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW 328i xDrive Sport
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Anyone know if the BMW remote app is available for BlackBerry devices?
__________________

2013 BMW 328i xDrive Sport Line
Mineral Grey on Everest Grey
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 01:06 PM   #7
zeezz
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
223
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cardsdoc View Post
Yes true. Wish you could do it from within the google maps app.
You can do this directly from the Google Maps app on Android. Just need to install this program: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...endtocar&hl=en

Works perfectly for me
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 01:52 PM   #8
snowghost
Colonel
snowghost's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,003
Posts

 
Drives: '13 335i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeRandomer123 View Post
The Options button is underrated!

But yes, I use the BMW Remote App and it's very handy! I just wish the vehicle location could be displayed at more than 0.9mls!!
I have the Remote App but don't see an option to mail directions to your car. Just a local search.
__________________
F30 Sapphire Black 335i 6MT|2PE|4AB|LCSW|ZDH|ZMM|ZPP|ZCW|ZDA|ZDB|ZTP|5AC|4 15|688|Dinan Stage 1 Suspension and Shockware ECU tune
Previously - F30 335i, E46 M3, E39 530i, E46 325i
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 02:12 PM   #9
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,798
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowghost View Post
I have the Remote App but don't see an option to mail directions to your car. Just a local search.
Once you find a place in local search, touch the pin and a banner will display with a blue >.

Touch the blue > and you will see a "Send to vehicle" button. Push it and the address will be sent to your car.

I use the feature all the time; very handy!
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 02:17 PM   #10
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,798
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHCCubs View Post
Anyone know if the BMW remote app is available for BlackBerry devices?
Not available sorry.

You can always just send it from google maps running on a PC/Mac.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 02:32 PM   #11
cardsdoc
Private First Class
2
Rep
195
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shaker Heights, OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeezz
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardsdoc View Post
Yes true. Wish you could do it from within the google maps app.
You can do this directly from the Google Maps app on Android. Just need to install this program: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...endtocar&hl=en

Works perfectly for me
Thanks. Not an option for ios.
__________________
2013 335i xDrive sedan, sport line, melbourne red/black/black trim/red accent, premium, cold weather, tech pkg, dhp, sport AT, PDC, rear cam, auto high beams

2009 335i xDrive sedan (gone, my first BMW)
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 02:33 PM   #12
snowghost
Colonel
snowghost's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,003
Posts

 
Drives: '13 335i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Once you find a place in local search, touch the pin and a banner will display with a blue >.

Touch the blue > and you will see a "Send to vehicle" button. Push it and the address will be sent to your car.

I use the feature all the time; very handy!
Cool thanks. I got it to work by touching List which then gives you an arrow to allow you to send to the car. But the pin method is better.
__________________
F30 Sapphire Black 335i 6MT|2PE|4AB|LCSW|ZDH|ZMM|ZPP|ZCW|ZDA|ZDB|ZTP|5AC|4 15|688|Dinan Stage 1 Suspension and Shockware ECU tune
Previously - F30 335i, E46 M3, E39 530i, E46 325i
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 02:54 PM   #13
AZ330FZL
First Lieutenant
United_States
10
Rep
305
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335i Sedan Sport Line
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeRandomer123 View Post
I just wish the vehicle location could be displayed at more than 0.9mls!!
+10000000

Totally agree.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 03:25 PM   #14
playndirty
Private First Class
9
Rep
124
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i Coupe w/ 19" 313
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hawaii/Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

This feature only works if you have navigation system right?
I know might be a dumb question...
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2012, 03:39 PM   #15
Tsuyoi
Lieutenant
10
Rep
561
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 328i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyzfnctional View Post
This feature only works if you have navigation system right?
I know might be a dumb question...
Well yes, as in otherwise your car can't do anything with the nave directions.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 08:20 PM   #16
Revms1
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
334
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335Xdrive MW M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New york

iTrader: (1)

Can't seem to get the app to locate the car even though I'm in range??
__________________
2013 335xdrive Mineral White M Sport, tech, premium, rear camera with pdc, sport 8spd transmission, M kidney grills, M Performance Rear Diffuser, Dinan Exhaust, 19 inch staggered rims, HK system with upgraded amps and 3M film
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 10:12 PM   #17
bcl0328
Major
38
Rep
1,160
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Abingdon, MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revms1 View Post
Can't seem to get the app to locate the car even though I'm in range??
in range? i think it uses satellites.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2012, 10:23 PM   #18
Revms1
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
334
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335Xdrive MW M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New york

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcl0328 View Post
in range? i think it uses satellites.
App says u have to be 0.6 miles in range to be able to locate your car I've tried this within a block range and it doesn't work
__________________
2013 335xdrive Mineral White M Sport, tech, premium, rear camera with pdc, sport 8spd transmission, M kidney grills, M Performance Rear Diffuser, Dinan Exhaust, 19 inch staggered rims, HK system with upgraded amps and 3M film
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 11:53 AM   #19
Tsuvoi
Banned
6
Rep
272
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Do they have this for Blackberry? Some of us are stuck with this crap. If not, is there an API so I can develop my own Blackberry app?
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 01:37 PM   #20
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,798
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revms1 View Post
Can't seem to get the app to locate the car even though I'm in range??
Is you car in a garage?

In order for the locate function to work, the car has to be able to see the NAV satellites to be able to report its position.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 02:21 PM   #21
Revms1
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
334
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335Xdrive MW M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New york

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Is you car in a garage?

In order for the locate function to work, the car has to be able to see the NAV satellites to be able to report its position.
Nope it's in a driveway and I've tried different areas even standing next to it and it doesn't work. I can use the other options fine just the location of the vehicle never works
__________________
2013 335xdrive Mineral White M Sport, tech, premium, rear camera with pdc, sport 8spd transmission, M kidney grills, M Performance Rear Diffuser, Dinan Exhaust, 19 inch staggered rims, HK system with upgraded amps and 3M film
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST