F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Headlight Xenon Retrofit
TAG Motorsports
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-05-2012, 08:26 PM   #1
wayman519
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 184
iTrader: (0)

Headlight Xenon Retrofit

Hey peeps, I need some help with REALOEM.com and BMW parts.

If I purchased P/N: 63117338705

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...49&hg=63&fg=05

What would be included in this assembly? Do I get everything inside this assembly or just the housing? Found this part for sale for $780. This price seems like it includes the internal parts but I am not too sure.

I can get the rest of the OEM headlight (external from housing) electronics from TisherBMW (HID, control units etc). If coding is necessary I could do some rewiring or code if it is easier.

http://www.partswebsite.com/bmwparts...partnum=accept

Its the housing assembly I am iffy on since even the sellers barely know the product, its all shipped directly from a warehouse.

Right now my guesstimate is around $2500 maximum(with a little magic it would be closer to $2000) for complete retrofit to xenon all OEM parts. No labour lol. I am not too worried about the electronics its the complete internal headlight housing that is slowing me down.

Last edited by wayman519; 12-05-2012 at 09:09 PM.
wayman519 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 05:06 PM   #2
also1412
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

hey wayman519, genuinely it looks like you are the only person in this forum who has this much of knowledge in getting the xenon retrofitted, there are a couple of other threads on this topics but people were more of seeking information and +1ing ...

To me it seems you still need 2 separate controller units to attach to the headlight, which, I think they are to be sold separately and they are not cheap. £115 each here in the UK, P/N: 7 296 090

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/XENON-HEAD...item43b68123f9
also1412 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2012, 04:18 PM   #3
wayman519
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 184
iTrader: (0)

hey thanks, those parts are a little steep from the ebay.uk website, but I am sure I can find it for a better price from a bmw warehouse website. My only real issue is coding(void warranty and don't really know how) or rewire( warranty intact) either way I need to fully assess a halogen setup from an xenon setup in terms of power delivery and voltage switching
wayman519 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2012, 06:04 PM   #4
also1412
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayman519 View Post
hey thanks, those parts are a little steep from the ebay.uk website, but I am sure I can find it for a better price from a bmw warehouse website. My only real issue is coding(void warranty and don't really know how) or rewire( warranty intact) either way I need to fully assess a halogen setup from an xenon setup in terms of power delivery and voltage switching
I am still in the process of waiting for my cable to arrive from Poland, but have downloaded the e-sys and all the daten files, have been reading lots of docs and *almost* ready to start coding.

I may be talking nonsense now but as far as I understand, the term *coding* isn't really coding as an IT term it what it really is just changing some settings in the config files. I am doing this on my linux box almost hourly. so i think you could backup your config files before doing anything, if things go wrong you can always restore, couldn't you?

How would BMW workshop finds out you have been coding your car if all the settings stay the same? I doubted...

God i wish i could have some contacts from BMW technical dept who can give me some detailed docs.
also1412 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2012, 06:09 PM   #5
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,511
iTrader: (0)

You still need all the control units/bulbs listed here:

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...56&hg=63&fg=05
__________________
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2012, 08:24 AM   #6
vaxpilot
Enlisted Member
 
vaxpilot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328 xdrive sport line
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to vaxpilot
Looks like I missed out on the Adaptive lights option. This is something I would really like to do. Can anyone chime in on whether its possible to just add a module to the existing xenon lights?
__________________
2013 F30 -Decked, plus some. 2012 R8 V8, 2010 Ducati Streetfighter S.

GBNF. RD400, Monarch, Monte Carlo, Daytona, Jetta, 535i, 540i, M3, PA180, 745iL, F650CS, K1200S, 997TT, CC.
vaxpilot is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2012, 05:51 PM   #7
wayman519
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 184
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaxpilot View Post
Looks like I missed out on the Adaptive lights option. This is something I would really like to do. Can anyone chime in on whether its possible to just add a module to the existing xenon lights?
i think the entire assembly needs to be replaced. It will cost you a bit more to go adaptive from xenon than from halogen to non adaptive xenon. Then theres the coding for the adapting lights which no one knows yet. I may have to download that BMW firmware image and dig through it to see if all the code is included and just disabled or is just removed entirely.
wayman519 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2012, 05:59 PM   #8
also1412
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayman519 View Post
i think the entire assembly needs to be replaced. It will cost you a bit more to go adaptive from xenon than from halogen to non adaptive xenon. Then theres the coding for the adapting lights which no one knows yet. I may have to download that BMW firmware image and dig through it to see if all the code is included and just disabled or is just removed entirely.
wouldn't it be nice to have a local dev environment setup and ideally have a simulator to emulate the system on a laptop. It is QNX based RTOS it must have one.

By 'firmware' did you mean the psdzdata?
also1412 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2013, 03:43 AM   #9
demge01
Private First Class
 
demge01's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The coding is all there in the FEM module but disabled. However activating it does not work as there is different hardware for the adaptive version.
The cornering fog lights can be coded however on both standard xenon and non xenon cars.
demge01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2013, 04:04 PM   #10
wayman519
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 184
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by also1412 View Post
wouldn't it be nice to have a local dev environment setup and ideally have a simulator to emulate the system on a laptop. It is QNX based RTOS it must have one.

By 'firmware' did you mean the psdzdata?
I guess so, I haven't looked into coding at all for any car but if the psdzdata is where all the variables are for the BMW then yes.
wayman519 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2013, 04:07 PM   #11
wayman519
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 184
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by demge01 View Post
The coding is all there in the FEM module but disabled. However activating it does not work as there is different hardware for the adaptive version.
The cornering fog lights can be coded however on both standard xenon and non xenon cars.
Ok thanks , I do understand that coding will only take place once all hardware is in place.
wayman519 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2013, 04:09 PM   #12
wayman519
Private First Class
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 184
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know where I can get a copy of the entire config files for the f30. I want the full firmware dump for this car?
wayman519 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2013, 06:36 PM   #13
also1412
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayman519 View Post
Does anyone know where I can get a copy of the entire config files for the f30. I want the full firmware dump for this car?
I think the config files should be different as each car is setup differently according to the hardware config. You need to have that ENET cable and a working e-sys software to be able to communicate with your F30 and then you can backup and view your current config. If you understand German the variables will more or less make sense (I used to work with SAP development similarly the variables, constants, classes and methods are all written in German so learnt a bit).

In the coding section in this forum there is step-by-step tutorial.
also1412 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2013, 04:00 AM   #14
luvbirds22
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 with Xenon Headlights
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India

Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to luvbirds22 Send a message via Skype™ to luvbirds22
hey guys!

ok someone now help me with the coding.what all settings I need to change in there??all the hardware installed in the car already.
luvbirds22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2013, 06:34 AM   #15
also1412
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvbirds22 View Post
hey guys!

ok someone now help me with the coding.what all settings I need to change in there??all the hardware installed in the car already.
you have installed the one with or without adaptive controller? If without it should just work provided you wire it correct ...
also1412 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 09:50 AM   #16
luvbirds22
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 with Xenon Headlights
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India

Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to luvbirds22 Send a message via Skype™ to luvbirds22
Hey guys!

I can finally change my status to "drives F30 with Xenon Headlights" lol.
yes it has finally been done and I announce fully working retrofit &following are working successfully without any error:

1. Low Beam Xenon
2. High Beam Xenon
3. Side Markers
4. Xenon Auto Headlights
5. Dipped switch also working
6. Finally I announce Angel eyes working as well

Who is up for Halogen lights ,its on sale lol.Shipping free hehe!

Last edited by luvbirds22; 04-28-2013 at 11:10 AM.
luvbirds22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 09:01 PM   #17
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,975
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvbirds22 View Post
Hey guys!

I can finally change my status to "drives F30 with Xenon Headlights" lol.
yes it has finally been done and I announce fully working retrofit &following are working successfully without any error:

1. Low Beam Xenon
2. High Beam Xenon
3. Side Markers
4. Xenon Auto Headlights
5. Dipped switch also working
6. Finally I announce Angel eyes working as well

Who is up for Halogen lights ,its on sale lol.Shipping free hehe!
I am getting a sense of Déjà Vu...

http://www.f30post.com/forums/showpo...7&postcount=24
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 09:42 PM   #18
mjmonjure
Private
 
mjmonjure's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 81
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvbirds22 View Post
Hey guys!

I can finally change my status to "drives F30 with Xenon Headlights" lol.
yes it has finally been done and I announce fully working retrofit &following are working successfully without any error:

1. Low Beam Xenon
2. High Beam Xenon
3. Side Markers
4. Xenon Auto Headlights
5. Dipped switch also working
6. Finally I announce Angel eyes working as well

Who is up for Halogen lights ,its on sale lol.Shipping free hehe!
This is terrific! So you started off with stock F30 halogens, replaced them with various parts or a kit and coded the new settings yourself. I am curious if you have a hardware list and coding instructions or could point me in the right direction. How much did it total?
mjmonjure is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2013, 12:10 PM   #19
luvbirds22
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 with Xenon Headlights
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India

Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to luvbirds22 Send a message via Skype™ to luvbirds22
ok here i am.I cannot post DIY or any photos at the moment because www.realoem.com has mentioned incorrect quantity of LED units fitted in the Headlights.As a result one of my car's headlight is missing Angel eyes being lit up.I have already ordered the missing LED's.I think I'll post a DIY once both the headlights are fully working.I can confirm the system throws no error except for Auto Headlight Levelling error as I didn't install the sensors and now as I have disabled the Leveller check by coding hence no errors now.Also I didn't have to cut a single wire except for one ground wire which i peeled off a little to bridge it with new ground wires.

For the price pair of headlights cost me 2000 euros excludes shipping including all parts except for xenon bulbs which you can get at any local dealer for under 100.

At this moment I can give you the full list of parts required to complete the retrofit which is following:

1. 63 11 7 338 699 RHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Left Q'ty -1

1a. 63 11 7 314 531 LHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Left Q'ty -1

2. 63 11 7 338 700 RHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Right Q'ty -1

2a.63 11 7 314 532 LHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Right Q'ty -1

3. 63 12 7 296 090 Xenon Ballast Q'ty-2

4. 63 21 7 217 509 Xenon Bulbs Q'ty-2

5. 63 11 7 311 243 LED Module Q'ty-4(here www.realoem.com went wrong and mentioned quantity as 2)

5a. 63 11 7 316 147 LED Module Q'ty-4(only for new builds after 07/2012)

6. 63 11 7 316 143 Headlight Control module Q'ty-2

Your car will fit either 1 or 1a ,2 or 2a depending on RHD and LHD and 5 or 5a depending on Car build Level.

Please note the above list mentions only the parts which need to be purchased and not the parts which will be used from Halogens.

I purchased these parts from Germany.Anyone willing to buy can contact me and I'll guide you thru.
luvbirds22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 08:51 PM   #20
mjmonjure
Private
 
mjmonjure's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 81
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvbirds22 View Post
ok here i am.I cannot post DIY or any photos at the moment because www.realoem.com has mentioned incorrect quantity of LED units fitted in the Headlights.As a result one of my car's headlight is missing Angel eyes being lit up.I have already ordered the missing LED's.I think I'll post a DIY once both the headlights are fully working.I can confirm the system throws no error except for Auto Headlight Levelling error as I didn't install the sensors and now as I have disabled the Leveller check by coding hence no errors now.Also I didn't have to cut a single wire except for one ground wire which i peeled off a little to bridge it with new ground wires.

For the price pair of headlights cost me 2000 euros excludes shipping including all parts except for xenon bulbs which you can get at any local dealer for under 100.

At this moment I can give you the full list of parts required to complete the retrofit which is following:

1. 63 11 7 338 699 RHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Left Q'ty -1

1a. 63 11 7 314 531 LHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Left Q'ty -1

2. 63 11 7 338 700 RHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Right Q'ty -1

2a.63 11 7 314 532 LHD Non Adaptive Headlight Assembly Right Q'ty -1

3. 63 12 7 296 090 Xenon Ballast Q'ty-2

4. 63 21 7 217 509 Xenon Bulbs Q'ty-2

5. 63 11 7 311 243 LED Module Q'ty-4(here www.realoem.com went wrong and mentioned quantity as 2)

5a. 63 11 7 316 147 LED Module Q'ty-4(only for new builds after 07/2012)

6. 63 11 7 316 143 Headlight Control module Q'ty-2

Your car will fit either 1 or 1a ,2 or 2a depending on RHD and LHD and 5 or 5a depending on Car build Level.

Please note the above list mentions only the parts which need to be purchased and not the parts which will be used from Halogens.

I purchased these parts from Germany.Anyone willing to buy can contact me and I'll guide you thru.
Perfect, Thanks for posting! I am assuming that the coding requires the e-sys sw and the ENET cable. I will look for your DIY, have yet to find one that is complete, photos would be great!
mjmonjure is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 05:08 PM   #21
luvbirds22
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 with Xenon Headlights
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India

Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to luvbirds22 Send a message via Skype™ to luvbirds22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjmonjure View Post
Perfect, Thanks for posting! I am assuming that the coding requires the e-sys sw and the ENET cable. I will look for your DIY, have yet to find one that is complete, photos would be great!
yes to do coding you need e-sys sw and the cable.I will post DIY soon,actually i am waiting for 2 of the led units of the headlight to come in from the dealer i purchased the parts which i ordered short last time
luvbirds22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2013, 12:20 AM   #22
mjmonjure
Private
 
mjmonjure's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 81
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvbirds22 View Post
yes to do coding you need e-sys sw and the cable.I will post DIY soon,actually i am waiting for 2 of the led units of the headlight to come in from the dealer i purchased the parts which i ordered short last time
Great, I've read many posts about the extreme costs of retrofitting the stock halogens with Xenons, and frankly, I am not ready to buy another car with only 6K miles on mine to get Xenons. $3K is not a great deal of money these days and worth it to get what I want.

I will be looking forward to your DIY (with pics!). And bravo to you for getting it done with what appears to be little help from this forum. You definitively have a pair of nads to experiment on your new car, but then again, science and skill shall prevail over ignorance and superstition :-)
mjmonjure is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST