F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-01-2013, 09:21 PM   #1673
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Right-Click on CMB_MEDIA (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

Do the same for CMB_ECALL if you have it, and HU_CIC.
Thanks. Gonna try this in the next hour before heading to work.

Does it matter if I also add in 6NR? I know it needs fsc code, just want to see the extent of it working/not working.
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 09:36 PM   #1674
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Thanks. Gonna try this in the next hour before heading to work.

Does it matter if I also add in 6NR? I know it needs fsc code, just want to see the extent of it working/not working.
No, don't do it. If you add 6NR, you are basically just FDL Coding HU_CIC / A4A_REMOTE_APPS = aktiv.

If 6NR is in the VO, or you FDL Code HU_CIC / A4A_REMOTE_APPS, with no valid 6NR FSC Code, it will override the HU_CIC / CONNECTED_DRIVE setting and ConnectedDrive on Main Menu will revert to BMW Assist.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 09:42 PM   #1675
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I don't know on the F30, but for the F10, the initial Gong can be coded on or off in the same section of ACSM / 3000 via:

Initialwarnung_GWF_IW

In your case then, since you like the Gongs, you can enable the passenger one.
FYI only, F30 does have this same settings
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 09:44 PM   #1676
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No, don't do it. If you add 6NR, you are basically just FDL Coding HU_CIC / A4A_REMOTE_APPS = aktiv.

If 6NR is in the VO, or you FDL Code HU_CIC / A4A_REMOTE_APPS, with no valid 6NR FSC Code, it will override the HU_CIC / CONNECTED_DRIVE setting and ConnectedDrive on Main Menu will revert to BMW Assist.
Roger! Actually I did FDL code before, and like you said, though my menu was changed to ConnectedDrive, once I activated A4A, it revert to "BMW Services"
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 09:48 PM   #1677
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
FYI only, F30 does have this same settings
Plus on the F10, we also have these two, which disables the Seatbelt Gongs on disconnect:

SPW_BF (aka SBR_PreWarning_Beifahrer)
SPW_FA (aka SBR_PreWarning_Fahrer)

So in total, there are 7 FDL Codes for Seatbelt disabling of some sort.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 09:51 PM   #1678
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Roger! Actually I did FDL code before, and like you said, though my menu was changed to ConnectedDrive, once I activated A4A, it revert to "BMW Services"
Yes, it would revert to BMW Assist in the U.S., and BMW Services elsewhere.

FYI. You can buy a 6NR FSC Code and Import and Activate it, and get BMW Apps without having 6NF, except you just wont won't have Video and iPod out functions.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 10:02 PM   #1679
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, it would revert to BMW Assist in the U.S., and BMW Services elsewhere.

FYI. You can buy a 6NR FSC Code and Import and Activate it, and get BMW Apps without having 6NF, except you just wont won't have Video and iPod out functions.
What is the estimated price for such FSC code? If it's too costly I'll probably pass since I'm only doing it to see what it is capable off. Tried it while in Germany, I doubt i will ever use them
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 10:03 PM   #1680
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Plus on the F10, we also have these two, which disables the Seatbelt Gongs on disconnect:

SPW_BF (aka SBR_PreWarning_Beifahrer)
SPW_FA (aka SBR_PreWarning_Fahrer)

So in total, there are 7 FDL Codes for Seatbelt disabling of some sort.
These 2 is if one were to release the seatbelt while the car is moving then it'll start to chime?
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 10:05 PM   #1681
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Shawn, what's your thought on the Sports Display? Are they fake (report base on accelerator press), or are they real?

A fren was asking if we can up the torque limit displayed, right now it is maxing out at 400NM, the M135i or the PPK would increase the torque further, so wondering how to enable the higher limit, and if done, is it worth anything
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 10:06 PM   #1682
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
These 2 is if one were to release the seatbelt while the car is moving then it'll start to chime?
Yes, exactly.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 10:10 PM   #1683
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
What is the estimated price for such FSC code? If it's too costly I'll probably pass since I'm only doing it to see what it is capable off. Tried it while in Germany, I doubt i will ever use them
I paid $200 for mine, but if I wanted them to also Import and Activate the FSC Code in my CIC, it would have been another $50 ($250 total).

I did it just for the Pandora App, which is much better than just normal Pandora Phone App streamed via BT.

I could care less about Facebook, Twitter, and Video.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 10:26 PM   #1684
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Shawn, what's your thought on the Sports Display? Are they fake (report base on accelerator press), or are they real?

A fren was asking if we can up the torque limit displayed, right now it is maxing out at 400NM, the M135i or the PPK would increase the torque further, so wondering how to enable the higher limit, and if done, is it worth anything
You know, I enabled mine, looked at them once, and that's been about it. I personally think they are "ballpark" numbers, and more of a gimmick than anything.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 11:00 PM   #1685
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Thanks. Gonna try this in the next hour before heading to work.

Does it matter if I also add in 6NR? I know it needs fsc code, just want to see the extent of it working/not working.
Well, what happened? Office or still no Office?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2013, 11:59 PM   #1686
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,544
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Thanks for the explanation.

So F10's with 606 went from CIC-MID to HU-Champ beginning 7/10?

I thought CIC-MID was the better of the two?
From the ETK it looks like it, & it seems if ur pre-07/10 car w/606 have a HU hardware failure the dealer can replace the CIC-MID HU with a CHAMP2 HU.
Actually, wht are the hardware differences between the 2 platforms?
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 12:22 AM   #1687
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Well, what happened? Office or still no Office?
Sorry for the long wait... our garage is not exactly near to where we work & live...

Just finished all the step, the good news is Office menu is finally available...

BUUUUUT, within the Office menu, there is nothing more than Contacts, no message or anything of that sort, but i did notice the bluetooth option in iPhone 4S (IOS6.0.1) now has a "Sync Notification" that I turned on - it wasn't there previously. I send a message to myself, but nothing happen

Will need to do more testing, or is there something else I miss.

I did VO code CMB_Media & HU_CIC. No error of any sort, all went thru like clockwork on first attempt!

I went to check YouTube video on Office presentation, seems that I should/need to enable "Office" (along with "Bluetooth audio") in the Telephone/Bluetooth device setup screen. I did went there to check, but I don't see an "Office" checkbox... I'm gonna try it with my Blackberry Bold later, which does support MAP earlier than iPhone.

Last edited by kon; 01-02-2013 at 12:27 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 12:41 AM   #1688
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Sorry for the long wait... our garage is not exactly near to where we work & live...

Just finished all the step, the good news is Office menu is finally available...

BUUUUUT, within the Office menu, there is nothing more than Contacts, no message or anything of that sort, but i did notice the bluetooth option in iPhone 4S (IOS6.0.1) now has a "Sync Notification" that I turned on - it wasn't there previously. I send a message to myself, but nothing happen

Will need to do more testing, or is there something else I miss.

I did VO code CMB_Media & HU_CIC. No error of any sort, all went thru like clockwork on first attempt!

I went to check YouTube video on Office presentation, seems that I should/need to enable "Office" (along with "Bluetooth audio") in the Telephone/Bluetooth device setup screen. I did went there to check, but I don't see an "Office" checkbox... I'm gonna try it with my Blackberry Bold later, which does support MAP earlier than iPhone.
I'm glad it is working now.

I think that is normal for iOS. Apple Users got BMW Apps, and Blackberry Users got Office. Now with the new iOS6 though, I think Apple Office functionality is there now.

But you need to make sure your Combox has the latest UPD01006 firmware (MX-3.5.4, TX-3.5.6) on it though:

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/owners/nav...update_vin.jsp
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 12:49 AM   #1689
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I'm glad it is working now.

I think that is normal for iOS. Apple Users got BMW Apps, and Blackberry Users got Office. Now with the new iOS6 though, I think Apple Office functionality is there now.

But you need to make sure your Combox has the latest UPD01006 firmware (MX-3.5.4, TX-3.5.6) on it though:

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/owners/nav...update_vin.jsp
Theoretically, it's not working yet , and I already loaded the latest bluetooth firmware last week, I doubt i need to reload it again, right?
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 12:56 AM   #1690
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Theoretically, it's not working yet , and I already loaded the latest bluetooth firmware last week, I doubt i need to reload it again, right?
No, not if you updated just last week.

Hookup a Blackberry with MAP, and I think you will find it works just fine. On your Blackberry under the MAP Options you will have to select which email accounts you want and if you want SMS to appear.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 01:37 AM   #1691
ilhan1103
Private First Class
ilhan1103's Avatar
4
Rep
170
Posts

 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Good God BMW makes it damn difficult to understand them.

You are referring to the Head Unit name in E-Sys I assume, but I also assume that with 606 your maps are still HU-Champ Motion maps.

Yes, I meant the name in e-sys like you allready guessed.

No idea what you mean by 'Motion maps' ...
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 01:41 AM   #1692
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,895
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilhan1103 View Post
Yes, I meant the name in e-sys like you allready guessed.

No idea what you mean by 'Motion maps' ...
I was referring to your maps assuming you had 606 Business Nav.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 01:46 AM   #1693
awhk
Private First Class
2
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 RS4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No, not if you updated just last week.

Hookup a Blackberry with MAP, and I think you will find it works just fine. On your Blackberry under the MAP Options you will have to select which email accounts you want and if you want SMS to appear.
Thank you Shawn for the info and Kon for the testing!

Now for me to do some coding later today.

Edit: Also thanks to Clarence as well!

Last edited by awhk; 01-02-2013 at 09:34 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2013, 01:46 AM   #1694
ilhan1103
Private First Class
ilhan1103's Avatar
4
Rep
170
Posts

 
Drives: f30 318 2012
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 318D  [0.00]
2010 Golf 1.6  [0.00]
I do, but still no idea what motion maps are
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST