F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > AUSTRALIA > Query about Business Navigation
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-08-2013, 02:47 PM   #1
Bmwphile
Private First Class
Australia
14
Rep
183
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i Auto
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Query about Business Navigation

Does Business Navigation have live traffic information?

My B-in-Law has a 2011 X3 with Business Nav. and he has this feature.
__________________
BMWphile
2012 F30 328i Mineral Grey, Auto, Sportline, Sunroof, BiXenon, Headlight washers
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 02:56 PM   #2
CKau
First Lieutenant
7
Rep
387
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sydney, australia

iTrader: (0)

So I take it your current 328i does not have it?
__________________
328i aus spec |M adaptive suspension|sunroof|sport seats|self parking|extended display | aftermarket sound insulation
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 03:57 PM   #3
Spikey
Captain
Australia
8
Rep
773
Posts

 
Drives: erratically
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: around town~

iTrader: (0)

If it does, I don't know about it lol
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 04:27 PM   #4
David328M-Sport
Brigadier General
Australia
45
Rep
3,464
Posts

 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia

iTrader: (0)

It may be a subscription feature
__________________
328i M-Sport, Estoril Blue, Carbon XP 35 Tint, front heated seats, black Dakota, Sports Suspension, Anthracite Headliner, HUD, Pro Nav, Sunroof, hk 600w, Bi-Xenon, 19" 403M wheels, Reversing Camera, DAB+, Xenon, BT Ext Connect.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 08:09 PM   #5
ij05
Private
0
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Dad's X3 has Bus Nav and has Traffic info, he hasn't subscribed to anything, it just works in his car. Same as the 3 series Bus nav you've described, my Pro nav doesn't have traffic info either.

Maybe its some option which is coded in the X3 (as its a US built maybe?) as opposed to the 3 series.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 09:17 PM   #6
David328M-Sport
Brigadier General
Australia
45
Rep
3,464
Posts

 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ij05 View Post
Dad's X3 has Bus Nav and has Traffic info, he hasn't subscribed to anything, it just works in his car. Same as the 3 series Bus nav you've described, my Pro nav doesn't have traffic info either.

Maybe its some option which is coded in the X3 (as its a US built maybe?) as opposed to the 3 series.
I mentioned subscription as it's not currently available on the BMW Australia network. Perhaps it is coded to accept another network as the codings come out of the factories set differently. Even from the same factory!!
__________________
328i M-Sport, Estoril Blue, Carbon XP 35 Tint, front heated seats, black Dakota, Sports Suspension, Anthracite Headliner, HUD, Pro Nav, Sunroof, hk 600w, Bi-Xenon, 19" 403M wheels, Reversing Camera, DAB+, Xenon, BT Ext Connect.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 09:32 PM   #7
Bmwphile
Private First Class
Australia
14
Rep
183
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i Auto
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CKau View Post
So I take it your current 328i does not have it?
Sorry, it wasn't clear from my post. No. It does not have traffic info.
__________________
BMWphile
2012 F30 328i Mineral Grey, Auto, Sportline, Sunroof, BiXenon, Headlight washers
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 09:37 PM   #8
Bmwphile
Private First Class
Australia
14
Rep
183
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i Auto
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ij05 View Post
Dad's X3 has Bus Nav and has Traffic info, he hasn't subscribed to anything, it just works in his car. Same as the 3 series Bus nav you've described, my Pro nav doesn't have traffic info either.

Maybe its some option which is coded in the X3 (as its a US built maybe?) as opposed to the 3 series.
That's odd the Bus Nav (lower spec) has Traffic info but the Pro Nav (higher spec) doesn't???

My Bus Nav definitely does not have traffic info.
__________________
BMWphile
2012 F30 328i Mineral Grey, Auto, Sportline, Sunroof, BiXenon, Headlight washers
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 09:55 PM   #9
Hivetyrant
Private
0
Rep
72
Posts

 
Drives: AW 328i - Sports
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia

iTrader: (0)

No Traffic info on my Pro nav that I'm aware of either, while not a huge thing, I would love to know if it's possible.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 10:57 PM   #10
J1n
Lieutenant Colonel
27
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: R8 V8 '14
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne CBD

iTrader: (0)

Are these X3's new? They might have taken it off
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 11:23 PM   #11
ij05
Private
0
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by David328M-Sport View Post
I mentioned subscription as it's not currently available on the BMW Australia network. Perhaps it is coded to accept another network as the codings come out of the factories set differently. Even from the same factory!!
Yeah maybe, strange, generally the traffic info comes via some RDS info (the same sort of technology used to display song names) of some sort from SUNA via a Traffic Management Channel which in Melbourne is sent out via Mix101.1 and Gold104.3

I would have thought if it worked in the X3 it should work in a 3 series with the same system. But with BMW - who knows
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 11:24 PM   #12
ij05
Private
0
Rep
89
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J1n View Post
Are these X3's new? They might have taken it off
Manufactured Oct/Nov 11 - Delivered Jan or Feb 2012. So relatively new.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 11:29 PM   #13
Bmwphile
Private First Class
Australia
14
Rep
183
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i Auto
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ij05 View Post
I would have thought if it worked in the X3 it should work in a 3 series with the same system. But with BMW - who knows
My thoughts exactly LOL
__________________
BMWphile
2012 F30 328i Mineral Grey, Auto, Sportline, Sunroof, BiXenon, Headlight washers
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2013, 06:00 AM   #14
J1n
Lieutenant Colonel
27
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: R8 V8 '14
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne CBD

iTrader: (0)

No idea.. nvr bothered me. But good to know if it's there
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2013, 10:29 PM   #15
S-BMW
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

It seems a bit stupid that it is enabled on the X3 with bus nav and not on the 3 series bus nav. I asked the dealer about this feature when purchasing the car and he could not give me a proper reason as to why the 3 series doesn't have it. I think it would be quite handy to have. My friend has a 2012 Mercedes C250 and the traffic info is quite useful on the Sat nav.
__________________
BMW F30 328i | Sport Line | Mineral Grey | Bi-Xenon | Rear View Camera | Extended Bluetooth/USB | Sunroof | High-Gloss Shadow Line | Anthracite headliner | Black leather
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST