F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-14-2013, 07:03 AM   #2003
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,423
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikey View Post
Damn, I've changed my KOMBI / BMW_LOGO = mpm but it still stays as original BMW logo
...
Besides newer software, it seems it only works with the Extended Panel Display. If you have the basic KOMBI, it won't work.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 07:44 AM   #2004
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
hey, you and me come from the same , dun have to tease me lah, you know is a typo
You could have went to retrofit 6NR, alternatively, perhaps (obviously not) it does play USB video, just that I never tried it.

In any case, video is not high in my "wish" list, used to have a headunit on my JDM that could play any format I throw at it, alas I never play any video at all... law abiding
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:10 AM   #2005
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

hi shawnsheridan, I think i have corrupted my FEM_body while doing the angel_light setting.

while reading code, error as followed:
FEM_BODY[40] [yyyyyyy]
readCPS o.k.
cafd_fffffffff-255_255_255 Fehler:
file for "cafd_fffffffff-255_255_255" not found! [c012]

any solution. thanks 9-:
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:12 AM   #2006
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
You could have went to retrofit 6NR, alternatively, perhaps (obviously not) it does play USB video, just that I never tried it.

In any case, video is not high in my "wish" list, used to have a headunit on my JDM that could play any format I throw at it, alas I never play any video at all... law abiding
not inside mine either. Since your 335I has every codes, curiously what is inside your wish list?
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:17 AM   #2007
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
hi shawnsheridan, I think i have corrupted my FEM_body while doing the angel_light setting.

while reading code, error as followed:
FEM_BODY[40] [yyyyyyy]
readCPS o.k.
cafd_fffffffff-255_255_255 Fehler:
file for "cafd_fffffffff-255_255_255" not found! [c012]

any solution. thanks 9-:
You need cafd file, you get the error while reading the code or while writing? Seems to be reading.

No corruption yet

When are we going to have sg f series coding session?
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:18 AM   #2008
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,423
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
hi shawnsheridan, I think i have corrupted my FEM_body while doing the angel_light setting.

while reading code, error as followed:
FEM_BODY[40] [yyyyyyy]
readCPS o.k.
cafd_fffffffff-255_255_255 Fehler:
file for "cafd_fffffffff-255_255_255" not found! [c012]

any solution. thanks 9-:
Well, the first step is to prevent it from happening by making sure your car has power while you are coding it.

Try this:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Left-Click on FEM_BODY => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD matching your I-Level => Select OK => Right-Click on FEM_BODY (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

To determine your I-Level, go to VCM Module => VCM Master Tab => click Read under I-Steps. The I-Step (current) is the one you want to match when you select the CAFD from the "Detect CAF for SWE" options (e.g. F001-08-09-550).
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:19 AM   #2009
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
not inside mine either. Since your 335I has every codes, curiously what is inside your wish list?
6wb, hu_nbt, Asian language... Preferably a new m car to go along
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:22 AM   #2010
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

HI Kon & Shawn , thanks i will try out now.
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:29 AM   #2011
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,423
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
You could have went to retrofit 6NR, alternatively, perhaps (obviously not) it does play USB video, just that I never tried it.

In any case, video is not high in my "wish" list, used to have a headunit on my JDM that could play any format I throw at it, alas I never play any video at all... law abiding
Well, that really depends on the retrofit.

If you do an OEM Retrofit, with 6NF base plate and run the 6NR FBAS Video Lines from the Base Plate to the Head Unit, you will not have Video on the USB Port.

If instead you replace the OEM 6FL Aux-In USB Port with the AV-In USB Port from the Mini Cooper, and run FBAS Lines from the USB Port to the Head Unit, and rewire the Combox, then you can have Video on the USB Port.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:34 AM   #2012
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Well, that really depends on the retrofit.

If you do an OEM Retrofit, with 6NF base plate and run the 6NR FBAS Video Lines from the Base Plate to the Head Unit, you will not have Video on the USB Port.

If instead you replace the OEM 6FL Aux-In USB Port with the AV-In USB Port from the Mini Cooper, and run FBAS Lines from the USB Port to the Head Unit, and rewire the Combox, then you can have Video on the USB Port.
Thanks but skipping this as I hardly stay in the car long enough for video. Like you, if I do 6nr is purely for apps, like radio etc. the amount it cost to retrofit video, iPad/mini with bracket waaaay easier and cheaper
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 09:46 AM   #2013
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,423
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Thanks but skipping this as I hardly stay in the car long enough for video. Like you, if I do 6nr is purely for apps, like radio etc. the amount it cost to retrofit video, iPad/mini with bracket waaaay easier and cheaper
Exactly. I have all of 6NR except Video, and that was fairly cheep, and no hardware modification was needed.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:05 AM   #2014
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Well, the first step is to prevent it from happening by making sure your car has power while you are coding it.

Try this:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Left-Click on FEM_BODY => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD matching your I-Level => Select OK => Right-Click on FEM_BODY (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

To determine your I-Level, go to VCM Module => VCM Master Tab => click Read under I-Steps. The I-Step (current) is the one you want to match when you select the CAFD from the "Detect CAF for SWE" options (e.g. F001-08-09-550).

Hi Shawn, problem solved and new thing learnt. thanks man!!!
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:09 AM   #2015
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,423
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
Hi Shawn, problem solved and new thing learnt. thanks man!!!
Alright brother. FYI, You can code your whole car except DME module with the car running, and you never have to worry about maintaining proper voltage to it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:15 AM   #2016
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Alright brother. FYI, You can code your whole car except DME module with the car running, and you never have to worry about maintaining proper voltage to it.
Is there a dictionary of some sort that explains what each of the ecu abbreviations mean? I'm starting to get familiar with a few, combox, Hu, kombi, ihka, fembody. But still generally clueless about the rest
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 12:43 PM   #2017
dos1973
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

[quote=howiegu]
Quote:
Originally Posted by avgor123
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
All the experts:

Will enable this setting enabling a brighter "angel eye" ring when headlight is on?
Maybe you will try this:

Fem_body>3062

MAPPING_STANDL_V_L_PWM_LEVEL_1
MAPPING_STANDL_V_R_PWM_LEVEL_1

set to 100% instead of 8%
Quote:
Did you mean to change the "werte" to 64 from 08 (in hex term it's 100)?

Have you done that to increase the brightness if the rings?

Thanks.

Did this work?
dos1973 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 07:33 PM   #2018
ramonE90-NL
Private First Class
 
Drives: bmw F30 320iA
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The netherlands

Posts: 167
iTrader: (0)

Is it possible to code dvd movie play on the business navi? Or do you really need the pro nav.

Im hoping to recieve my cable this week, but if i would have some information about this i know if i have look for this or not
ramonE90-NL is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:10 PM   #2019
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonE90-NL View Post
Is it possible to code dvd movie play on the business navi? Or do you really need the pro nav.

Im hoping to recieve my cable this week, but if i would have some information about this i know if i have look for this or not
The business nav unit doesn't have a dvd drive.
clarence is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-14-2013, 10:15 PM   #2020
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,423
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Is there a dictionary of some sort that explains what each of the ecu abbreviations mean? I'm starting to get familiar with a few, combox, Hu, kombi, ihka, fembody. But still generally clueless about the rest
Not that I have ever seen, but I have never looked for one either.

DME is Digital Motor Electronics, which is why the motor can't be running when DME is coded.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 01-15-2013 at 12:20 PM.
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 02:20 AM   #2021
ramonE90-NL
Private First Class
 
Drives: bmw F30 320iA
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The netherlands

Posts: 167
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonE90-NL View Post
Is it possible to code dvd movie play on the business navi? Or do you really need the pro nav.

Im hoping to recieve my cable this week, but if i would have some information about this i know if i have look for this or not
The business nav unit doesn't have a dvd drive.
Ah oke, thanks
ramonE90-NL is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 03:01 AM   #2022
estragos
TUGA
 
estragos's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Luxembourg

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
It is part of BMW Standard Tools (EDIBIAS, INPA, Tool32, and NCS Expert).
ok thanks, I found it and it is allready installed,but:

when I launch INPA or Tool32, I have an warning message from registry:

"registry value failed in subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Serial

May be there are problems!"

just for info, I run the software on a Windows Vista Laptop. I has to launch the installation of the software by select the Windows Xp compatibility.

perhaps it is because I select STD:OBD and Com1 during installation?! wich port I must select, to use INPA and Tool32 with a ENET cable on the LAN port?

I get my new F30 only on March 15, so I have to wait for test!

Thanks again for your help!!
estragos is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 04:49 AM   #2023
avgor123
Private First Class
 
avgor123's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320D Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St.Petersburg

Posts: 113
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post
The business nav unit doesn't have a dvd drive.
I think CHAMP has a DVD drive, but it can read only navigation DVD, not video or audio DVD. For audio CHAMP use audio and MP3/WMA CDs.

Last edited by avgor123; 01-15-2013 at 05:47 AM.
avgor123 is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      01-15-2013, 08:33 AM   #2024
fsfikke
New Member
 
Drives: 320 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

[quote=dos1973;13306310]
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu



Did this work?
Would be interesting just to change one of them to spot if that results into a (big) difference between left and right.
fsfikke is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST