F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Will it cause damage?
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-15-2013, 08:03 AM   #1
GB72
Private First Class
7
Rep
136
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport Melbourne red
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Will it cause damage?

Keep forgetting to press button when selecting drive or reverse??
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 08:14 AM   #2
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I didn't think it would let you select a gear without pressing the button?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 09:10 AM   #3
zofinger
First Lieutenant
zofinger's Avatar
England
3
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d MSport
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich1068 View Post
I didn't think it would let you select a gear without pressing the button?
+1, or pressing the brake. Doesn't IDrive tell you this?! it does for me.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 09:17 AM   #4
GB72
Private First Class
7
Rep
136
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport Melbourne red
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

I only do it when stopped. Infact just checked and idrive did tell me, must be pressing it!
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 09:46 AM   #5
zofinger
First Lieutenant
zofinger's Avatar
England
3
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d MSport
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GB72 View Post
I only do it when stopped
ok...so what's the question? Will the car throwing an error at you, cause damage? Er....no, i can't believe for one moment it would.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 09:57 AM   #6
rich1068
has left the building
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,363
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Total lack of oily cogs landing on the passenger seat when I just tried it indicates no damage to me.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 01:34 PM   #7
BMWrules7
Major
20
Rep
1,070
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 750Li, Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boston Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GB72
Keep forgetting to press button when selecting drive or reverse??
No. The gear shifter is a fly by wire. Failure to follow protocol in selecting a forward or reverse gear will throw an error. No harm.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 01:41 PM   #8
ramonE90-NL
Private First Class
Netherlands
4
Rep
167
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F30 320iA
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The netherlands

iTrader: (0)

I can sometimes select R while slowly rolling forward in D

No crunching sound ir whatsoever
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 02:01 PM   #9
zofinger
First Lieutenant
zofinger's Avatar
England
3
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d MSport
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonE90-NL View Post
I can sometimes select R while slowly rolling forward in D

No crunching sound ir whatsoever
You press the button though! (unlike OP)
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 02:38 PM   #10
BMWrules7
Major
20
Rep
1,070
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 750Li, Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boston Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonE90-NL
I can sometimes select R while slowly rolling forward in D

No crunching sound ir whatsoever
Yes! That's what makes for a beautiful design feature. You can back up, still be rolling, shift it into drive, hit the gas and the bloody thing changes directions as smooth as silk!
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 02:39 PM   #11
Tsuvoi
Banned
6
Rep
272
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

What are you guys talking about? You must press a button to change gear but when you don't press it works anyway? What's the point of the button?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 03:19 PM   #12
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,796
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

You need to push the button to get out of P, but you don't need to push it when going from R to D.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 11:44 AM   #13
CoolDude196
.
CoolDude196's Avatar
England
12
Rep
615
Posts

 
Drives: f30 20d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
You need to push the button to get out of P, but you don't need to push it when going from R to D.
+1
__________________
AW Sport 20d, 2tb, 552, lc, 397 plus others
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST