F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-16-2013, 08:33 PM   #2069
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
I think the combox is required for voice control to work so that's why anyone who has the 609+6NH has one. When I took the 320i loaner with 606+6NH, there's no voice control or anything that seems to need a combox.

Now we just need to figure out how to get BMW Live and the internet to work.
Is it not working? ... and that is becoz your connection goes through BMW Assist or...? For those without Assist activating BMW Live & Internet should be easy, just VO code 614 & 6AL (if you don't want to meddle with the FDL code).

And it appear if we VO Code, when the car get sent in to the dealer for software upgrade, these VO stays there - don't know exactly why, I was expecting the dealer to wipe it out, but they didn't.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 08:35 PM   #2070
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by awhk View Post
We have English (UK), Chinese Traditional and Chinese Simplified.
Thanks! Will try this out over the weekend, if there's good news I'll report back, else I'll just keep quiet
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 09:26 PM   #2071
ykau
Private
0
Rep
84
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

HI Kon, call me up if you need any assistant (-: i will be more than willingly to learn from you. btw, any idea how to enable the weather forecast thingy?
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 12:50 AM   #2072
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Is it not working? ... and that is becoz your connection goes through BMW Assist or...? For those without Assist activating BMW Live & Internet should be easy, just VO code 614 & 6AL (if you don't want to meddle with the FDL code).

And it appear if we VO Code, when the car get sent in to the dealer for software upgrade, these VO stays there - don't know exactly why, I was expecting the dealer to wipe it out, but they didn't.
In Canada, the only way to get combox features is by getting the BMW assist and extended Bluetooth package so I would assume it's through BMW assist.

What's the difference between BMW live and BMW assist? Is it that one uses a tethered connection to your iphone?

Do I change the 609 to 614 and the 6NK to 6AL on the VO? I'm currently on 609 and 6NK (originally 6NH).
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 01:20 AM   #2073
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,544
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
In Canada, the only way to get combox features is by getting the BMW assist and extended Bluetooth package so I would assume it's through BMW assist.

What's the difference between BMW live and BMW assist? Is it that one uses a tethered connection to your iphone?

Do I change the 609 to 614 and the 6NK to 6AL on the VO? I'm currently on 609 and 6NK (originally 6NH).
BMW Assist uses combox telematics (6NL) w/built-in simcard. BMW Live uses combox media & thru bt data transfer. Both are mutually exclusive.
Before u do anything, do u have bt data transfer available as a selectable option under ur bt settings? If u have then u should add 6AA, 6AB, 6AL & 8SC (shawn pls confirm) plus some codings (if necessary). U may also need to write a EU VIN to ur combox (ask shawn).
Don't change 609 into anything else cos u'll lose ur nav, & don't change 6NK.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 03:49 AM   #2074
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
HI Kon, call me up if you need any assistant (-: i will be more than willingly to learn from you. btw, any idea how to enable the weather forecast thingy?
Errr... I'm still learning myself... But I am waiting for your coding session meet, so can share...

For weather, I'm guessing you're referring to BMW Live, as mentioned above, add 6AL to your VO then code HU_CIC. Alternatively, FDL code directly HU_CIC 3003 - ONLINE_BROWSER_LIVE, change to aktiv.

After coding, it will not work immediately, leave your car alone and it should work a couple of hours later (code at night, by next morning it'll be working) - the feature will appear immediately in idrive menu, but it won't be able to connect to BMW Server, don't ask me why, no idea, but happen on every single car that I've coded...

Last edited by kon; 01-17-2013 at 03:55 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 06:57 AM   #2075
dos1973
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post

i too can confirm that i was able to make the coding changes necessary to get rid of the y cable on my combox media, and enable bt streaming.

i tried the secondary method suggested by shawnsheridan (thanks!) and changed my vo order from 6nh to 6nk. follow the 3rd supplement guide at the beginning of the thread to do this. once i wrote the vo, then i went to the affected ecus (combox and hu_cic) and highlighted each one, and clicked code (not fdl code). the code changes were implemented automatically and the car now does bt streaming and music over regular usb! thanks for all the tips and help everyone.
Cool, i'm happy you got it.

One question on this, are the office feature also enabled?
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 08:07 AM   #2076
ykau
Private
0
Rep
84
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Errr... I'm still learning myself... But I am waiting for your coding session meet, so can share...

For weather, I'm guessing you're referring to BMW Live, as mentioned above, add 6AL to your VO then code HU_CIC. Alternatively, FDL code directly HU_CIC 3003 - ONLINE_BROWSER_LIVE, change to aktiv.

After coding, it will not work immediately, leave your car alone and it should work a couple of hours later (code at night, by next morning it'll be working) - the feature will appear immediately in idrive menu, but it won't be able to connect to BMW Server, don't ask me why, no idea, but happen on every single car that I've coded...
hi kon, thanks so much , it works!! call at me anytime if you need my assistance.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 08:14 AM   #2077
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
hi kon, thanks so much , it works!! call at me anytime if you need my assistance.
thanks shawn, clarence & the rest of the pioneer group, without their cheat sheet, help etc... we are still living in a world "PML say cannot"...

or... $400 to activate TMC, $50 for folding door mirror, $50 for digital speedo, etc
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 08:33 AM   #2078
ykau
Private
0
Rep
84
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

opps. if you guys wondering what is PML, it is our local authorized distributor in singapore. Btw, you any idea to increase the dvd resolution size?

beer on me when we meet ya.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 09:59 AM   #2079
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post
BMW Assist uses combox telematics (6NL) w/built-in simcard. BMW Live uses combox media & thru bt data transfer. Both are mutually exclusive.
Before u do anything, do u have bt data transfer available as a selectable option under ur bt settings? If u have then u should add 6AA, 6AB, 6AL & 8SC (shawn pls confirm) plus some codings (if necessary). U may also need to write a EU VIN to ur combox (ask shawn).
Don't change 609 into anything else cos u'll lose ur nav, & don't change 6NK.
That's what I thought. Here in North America, all connectivity is done through BMW assist. We have a $300 BMW Apps package but you have to take the $850 BMW assist + extended BT option to be able to have it.

I've seen bimmerretrofit retrofit a combox to a E60 and it was able to access the Internet but not BMW live. I'm not sure if it's something available to North America.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 12:13 PM   #2080
protocolor
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: BMW F30 with Nav, no assist
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dos1973 View Post
Cool, i'm happy you got it.

One question on this, are the office feature also enabled?
no, the office menu appears in idrive after making my changes, but all that shows up is 'contacts.' if anyone has any ideas on what to try to at least get messages working, id be willing to try (again i have a 609 with 6nh modified to 6nk).
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 05:58 PM   #2081
demge01
Private First Class
demge01's Avatar
2
Rep
145
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
In Canada, the only way to get combox features is by getting the BMW assist and extended Bluetooth package so I would assume it's through BMW assist.

What's the difference between BMW live and BMW assist? Is it that one uses a tethered connection to your iphone?

Do I change the 609 to 614 and the 6NK to 6AL on the VO? I'm currently on 609 and 6NK (originally 6NH).
BMW Assist uses combox telematics (6NL) w/built-in simcard. BMW Live uses combox media & thru bt data transfer. Both are mutually exclusive.
Before u do anything, do u have bt data transfer available as a selectable option under ur bt settings? If u have then u should add 6AA, 6AB, 6AL & 8SC (shawn pls confirm) plus some codings (if necessary). U may also need to write a EU VIN to ur combox (ask shawn).
Don't change 609 into anything else cos u'll lose ur nav, & don't change 6NK.
So I have BT data transfer, Live activated and working by FDL coding of my HU_CIC.
I don't have a combox though only 6NH.

Can I VO code anything else?
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 08:30 PM   #2082
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone tried this in KOMBI yet?

3000 Anzeige_Konfiguration, 32 > HINTERGRUNDBILD_ENABLE

Kommentar=VORHALT hinsichtlich kuenftiger Aenderung:
Entscheidet, ob das Hintergrundbild im Kombi dargestellt wird

Translation:
Comment = Lead respect kuenftiger change:
Decide whether the background image is shown in the Combined

What background image?
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 08:35 PM   #2083
Yobyot
Lieutenant
Yobyot's Avatar
15
Rep
558
Posts

 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Here's another "has anyone tried" post. Has anyone given this a shot?

HU_CICHB ==> 3000 HMI ==>L7_SURROUND_CONFIG

There's no comment for this parameter. But I am wondering if it permits configuration of the HK system beyond just tone controls. In the L7 system in my early (2006) E90, there were three additional sound processing settings one could select to alter the sound stage. I've always thought it was odd that the L7 setting is simply or or off in the F30 and I'd sure like to try more signal processing settings, if any are available.
__________________
MY12 335i ZSL with a deep dive into the options list
Produced: 2012-06-22
ED: 2012-07-19; Arrived in Jersey City: 2012-08-23
Redelivered: 2012-09-12
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 08:54 PM   #2084
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yobyot View Post
Here's another "has anyone tried" post. Has anyone given this a shot?

HU_CICHB ==> 3000 HMI ==>L7_SURROUND_CONFIG

There's no comment for this parameter. But I am wondering if it permits configuration of the HK system beyond just tone controls. In the L7 system in my early (2006) E90, there were three additional sound processing settings one could select to alter the sound stage. I've always thought it was odd that the L7 setting is simply or or off in the F30 and I'd sure like to try more signal processing settings, if any are available.
Copy & paste from the recent cheatsheet:
Replaces "Surround" on/off checkbox with "L7 Surround" Slider (-5/+5) on Settings=>Tone screen
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 08:59 PM   #2085
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by protocolor View Post
no, the office menu appears in idrive after making my changes, but all that shows up is 'contacts.' if anyone has any ideas on what to try to at least get messages working, id be willing to try (again i have a 609 with 6nh modified to 6nk).
You need to pair a 'compatible' phone to see "Messages". If you're using Blackberry, make sure MAP is enable.

If you're using iPhone, try repairing your phone (delete then add again) in the telephone menu. Then wait for a while, make sure you also enable "Show Notifications" in your iPhone bluetooth menu.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 10:53 PM   #2086
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
91
Rep
4,901
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post
BMW Assist uses combox telematics (6NL) w/built-in simcard. BMW Live uses combox media & thru bt data transfer. Both are mutually exclusive.
Before u do anything, do u have bt data transfer available as a selectable option under ur bt settings? If u have then u should add 6AA, 6AB, 6AL & 8SC (shawn pls confirm) plus some codings (if necessary). U may also need to write a EU VIN to ur combox (ask shawn).
Don't change 609 into anything else cos u'll lose ur nav, & don't change 6NK.
Yes, this is correct, although I am not positive on if 8SC is a requirement. My car already had it, so it wasn't something I had to add.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 11:07 PM   #2087
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
91
Rep
4,901
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
That's what I thought. Here in North America, all connectivity is done through BMW assist. We have a $300 BMW Apps package but you have to take the $850 BMW assist + extended BT option to be able to have it.

I've seen bimmerretrofit retrofit a combox to a E60 and it was able to access the Internet but not BMW live. I'm not sure if it's something available to North America.
Internet and BMW Live can be made to work in North America, but you must disable BMW Assist, as the two cannot coexist, and you must change the VIN in the Combox to one with factory options 614 & 615.

I posted this already, but it is buried about 50 pages back, so here again is how I got Internet and BMW Live working on U.S. F10 with Combox:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...6&postcount=70

Not that it ever deters anyone, but you can also read here why I think it aint worth a damn:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...6&postcount=68
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2013, 11:13 PM   #2088
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
91
Rep
4,901
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Copy & paste from the recent cheatsheet:
Replaces "Surround" on/off checkbox with "L7 Surround" Slider (-5/+5) on Settings=>Tone screen
The full text from my F10 Cheat Sheet where it originated is:

"Replaces "Surround" on/off checkbox with "L7 Surround" Slider (-5/+5) on Settings=>Tone screen. - Slider still appears to function as off (full left) and on (any setting other than full left)".

Maybe on the F30 the slider is actually functional, but for F10, it was still effectively only an Surround Sound On/Off proposition.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 12:18 AM   #2089
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,797
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Has anyone tried this in KOMBI yet?

3000 Anzeige_Konfiguration, 32 > HINTERGRUNDBILD_ENABLE

Kommentar=VORHALT hinsichtlich kuenftiger Aenderung:
Entscheidet, ob das Hintergrundbild im Kombi dargestellt wird

Translation:
Comment = Lead respect kuenftiger change:
Decide whether the background image is shown in the Combined

What background image?
I think that's the BMW logo splash screen that shows up when you open the car. The logo shows up in the instrument cluster, the main iDrive screen and the HUD too if you have it.

I assume the combined is the LCD area between the Speedo and Tach, right? Or is the combined the main iDrive screen?

I've coded the logo screen from BMW (with red background lines) to //MPerformance for a couple of people, but that only shows up in the instrument cluster and the HUD.

I wonder if this new setting will display //MPerformance in the main iDrive screen? Everyone that I coded wanted that too!
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 12:25 AM   #2090
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,544
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by demge01 View Post
So I have BT data transfer, Live activated and working by FDL coding of my HU_CIC.
I don't have a combox though only 6NH.

Can I VO code anything else?
Not really cos u don't have combox (basic bt, data transfer & BMW Live are all handled by ur L7 Entry HU).
U could have added 6AL into ur VO but that achieves the same objective as ur HU_CIC's FDL coding.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST