F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
MINHS Auto Care Center
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-04-2013, 06:57 PM   #2509
pixelfreak0410
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

 
Drives: 125d
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Of course it is possible. The only difference is, that you do not own it
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 07:39 PM   #2510
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
I changed my VO from 6NH to 6NK and got the Bluetooth audio and album art working but whenever I go to office, I do see the messages option but it just keeps saying "Updating list" and when it's done, I get "No Messages".

I'm using the iPhone 5 on IOS 6.0 so not sure why it's still not working. Just about any combox should have this functionality right?
Your issue is due to iOS. Not bmw. Try pairing an android or bb phone, you won't have this problem. Apple did a half ass job with map implementation
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 07:41 PM   #2511
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelfreak0410 View Post
As already mentioned, I successfully went from 6nh to 6nk. My next plan is to activate BMW Online Browser and pass the data through bluetooth. Which FDL must be coded to achieve this?

Thanks a lot for the great help already
You'll want to vo code:
614 Internet
615 extended bmw online info
6AL BMW LIVE
Same thing need to code hu_cic & cmb_media
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:17 PM   #2512
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,911
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman925 View Post
Does anyone know if this could be done to a leased car?
There is no reason a Leased Vehicle can't be coded.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:18 PM   #2513
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,911
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by elchicha View Post
Hi Shawn,
could you please send me the links for the new world: 48.3, 3.22 Esys, and contact to purchase the patch and new token. Thanks.
You do not have enough posts to receive PM's, so I need your email.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:24 PM   #2514
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Your issue is due to iOS. Not bmw. Try pairing an android or bb phone, you won't have this problem. Apple did a half ass job with map implementation
Weird. I tried pairing a Samsung Galaxy Note and had the same problem. I'll see if I can pair a blackberry and see if does the same thing.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:29 PM   #2515
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,911
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by also1412 View Post
...
shawn, do you still have the info regarding telnet or ssh into the cic terminal? lets be hardcore on this shit.
I only know what I previously posted, which is it is possible to access the CIC via Telnet, but the Root Password needs to be cracked, and then the Hard Drive can be accessed via the QNX SDK. Before E-Sys was available, this was done to enable VIM, but then BMW changed the Root password, and around that same time E-Sys became available, so people switched to it, rather than attempting to crack the new password.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:45 PM   #2516
YMB_M3_j2
Captain
YMB_M3_j2's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
645
Posts

 
Drives: YMB M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
There is no reason a Leased Vehicle can't be coded.
I code my leased car all the time! They are only looking for dents, tire wear and mileage when u turn it back in.

Last edited by YMB_M3_j2; 02-04-2013 at 09:51 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:48 PM   #2517
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,911
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw328jc View Post
I code my leased car all the time! They are only looking for dents, tire wear md mileage when u turn it back in.
It sounds like you are disagreeing with me, yet I wrote there is no reason not to code a leased vehicle.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:51 PM   #2518
YMB_M3_j2
Captain
YMB_M3_j2's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
645
Posts

 
Drives: YMB M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
It sounds like you are disagreeing with me, yet I wrote there is no reason not to code a leased vehicle.
No I agree with you... just elaborating for the person that asked in case he has never turned in a leased car. Sometimes people think they go over the car with a fine tooth comb which I have never experienced.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 09:53 PM   #2519
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,911
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw328jc View Post
No I agree with you... just elaborating for the person that asked in case he has never turned in a leased car. Sometimes people think they go over the car with a fine tooth comb which I have never experienced.
True, and of course one can always reset the car back to factory original coding prior to tuning it in if they are worried about it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2013, 10:03 PM   #2520
YMB_M3_j2
Captain
YMB_M3_j2's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
645
Posts

 
Drives: YMB M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
True, and of course one can always reset the car back to factory original coding prior to tuning it in if they are worried about it.
I do that before I take it in for service. I don't change all coded options except for the real noticeable ones like rear view cameras staying on at any speed. I'm sure they put it in reverse and will probably get suspicious if the camera just stays on for a few minutes.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 12:02 AM   #2521
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw328jc View Post
I do that before I take it in for service. I don't change all coded options except for the real noticeable ones like rear view cameras staying on at any speed. I'm sure they put it in reverse and will probably get suspicious if the camera just stays on for a few minutes.
I'm due for an oil change soon and the only one I'm taking out is the M Performance logo on startup. I doubt they will really notice that my tail lights are DRL and that I don't have the amber side markers on when the headlights are on.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 12:08 AM   #2522
pixelfreak0410
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

 
Drives: 125d
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
You'll want to vo code:
614 Internet
615 extended bmw online info
6AL BMW LIVE
Same thing need to code hu_cic & cmb_media
Sounds easy and how can I pass data through my droid phone via Bluetooth? Because per default it will use the telematics box which is not built in my car?
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 12:10 AM   #2523
Puri1
First Lieutenant
Puri1's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
337
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i 2012
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada

iTrader: (0)

I've been going through the final few pages of the post and I'm surprised that people actually got the Bluetooth Audio working.
I've coded my car a few times before thanks to many of you here. I'm trying to learn how to do that. I did check my car and I have a similar combox in the boot.

Does anyone have a step by step for this? I saw pixelfreak's post and then read something about a 'special' code that Shawn has a hookup for, all in all, I'm VERY confused.. :P

Could some one PM or just reply back with a summary of what needs to be done? Thanks guys..
__________________
2012 F30 328i, Alpine White on Black, Luxury, Premium + Exec. Package...
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 12:34 AM   #2524
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelfreak0410 View Post
Sounds easy and how can I pass data through my droid phone via Bluetooth? Because per default it will use the telematics box which is not built in my car?
6nk means data via your phone Bluetooth already. We not have telematic access here either

When u pair your phone, in the phone select settings and make sure you checked "data"
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 01:32 AM   #2525
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puri1 View Post
I've been going through the final few pages of the post and I'm surprised that people actually got the Bluetooth Audio working.
I've coded my car a few times before thanks to many of you here. I'm trying to learn how to do that. I did check my car and I have a similar combox in the boot.

Does anyone have a step by step for this? I saw pixelfreak's post and then read something about a 'special' code that Shawn has a hookup for, all in all, I'm VERY confused.. :P

Could some one PM or just reply back with a summary of what needs to be done? Thanks guys..
Sent you a PM puri. The code you're talking about is the E-sys token which is needed for pszdata 48.3. I remember you mentioned that you able to use 48.1 earlier before you helped me get started with this coding stuff so you're fine =p

Feel free to let me know if you need anymore help on the BT audio because that was one of the first things coded to my car.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 01:35 AM   #2526
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
You'll want to vo code:
614 Internet
615 extended bmw online info
6AL BMW LIVE
Same thing need to code hu_cic & cmb_media
Can this work on a NA spec F30? I read from Shawn's post earlier that you need to program another VIN that has these options in order to get it to work.

I was also wondering what would happen if I change my 6NK to 6NR and VO code my CIC and combox. Will it enable BMW apps? I don't have a telematics combox.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 01:36 AM   #2527
Bman925
Private
2
Rep
84
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 328i xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw328jc View Post
I do that before I take it in for service. I don't change all coded options except for the real noticeable ones like rear view cameras staying on at any speed. I'm sure they put it in reverse and will probably get suspicious if the camera just stays on for a few minutes.
Yea that is my main concern. I am just wondering if anyone has any experience bringing it in to a dealer at the end of a lease or w.e and see if they had any issues with it. If the service department noticed it, would it be something major enough where they wouldn't work on the car?
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 02:13 AM   #2528
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
Can this work on a NA spec F30? I read from Shawn's post earlier that you need to program another VIN that has these options in order to get it to work.

I was also wondering what would happen if I change my 6NK to 6NR and VO code my CIC and combox. Will it enable BMW apps? I don't have a telematics combox.
You will have to wait for the guru to comment on the "ghost vin"... pixelfreak & myself are ECE/Europe spec, so I won't know what exactly BMW built into the coding to localised US vehicle...sorry!

Regardless of country, 6NR require FSC code, so VO code that in will not work...
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 08:58 AM   #2529
1lyfe
Major
1lyfe's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
1,101
Posts

 
Drives: AW F30 328i Xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman925 View Post
Yea that is my main concern. I am just wondering if anyone has any experience bringing it in to a dealer at the end of a lease or w.e and see if they had any issues with it. If the service department noticed it, would it be something major enough where they wouldn't work on the car?
I turned in my e 90 which was coded and they didn't say anything. When I went back to the dealer to check it out as a used car all my codes we're gone. I'm pretty sure they have to do a full system wipe when you return your car so it won't matter.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2013, 10:44 AM   #2530
Puri1
First Lieutenant
Puri1's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
337
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i 2012
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada

iTrader: (0)

I had called BMW a few months back before giving them my car to fix something. I asked the Service Adviser if coding the car was an issue with warranty or anything else.

He flat out said it has no effect what so ever on warranty or lease return, unless the coding affects something that gets messed up and even then the warranty will be void for that specific item only, very rare !!
__________________
2012 F30 328i, Alpine White on Black, Luxury, Premium + Exec. Package...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST