F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Navigation quirks
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-20-2013, 01:45 AM   #1
rallybull
Captain
United_States
18

 
rallybull's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i w/PPK
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA


Posts: 818
iTrader: (0)

Navigation quirks

I had an accord (with navigation) before I purchased the 2013 335i (f30). I always felt that the navigation lacked something in terms of displaying street names on the maps. I got a E90 loaner from my BMW dealer yesterday which also happened to have navigation and I instantly found it much better.

So here are the problems with the navigation system:
1) Hardly any street names appear at ALL zoom levels. I've noticed 800ft displays the most number of street names, but still not enough.

2) Irrelevant street names are displayed. The names of major streets are not displayed while some random internal micro-street names are displayed. WTF? It is not that the map does not have the data about the major street names -- it just does not display them most of the times.

3) The street names take quite a while to start appearing. If you are in a moving car you would have most likely moved out of that area before the navigation decides to display the street names in that area.

Here are two before and after images of the same map region as displayed by the navigation initially and after 120 seconds. (ignore the actual times, I had to restart the car a few times to get the shots right)

BEFORE

Name:  fr_124.jpg
Views: 927
Size:  256.6 KB

AFTER


Name:  fr_121.jpg
Views: 936
Size:  318.1 KB


Also a video that shows this phenomenon:


Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 02:44 AM   #2
tony20009
Brigadier General
United_States
121

 
tony20009's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i - Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC


Posts: 4,570
iTrader: (0)

Yep, that's definitely not what happens on the e90's navigation.

I looked at your video. I couldn't tell that the car was moving based on the navigation screen. Were you in interactive mode rather than regular mode?

Have you tried a higher level of detail (i.e., closer view)?

When you actually are using the navigation to find your way somewhere, are the directions it provides accurate?
__________________
Cheers,
Tony

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
'07, e92 335i, Sparkling Graphite, Coral Leather, Aluminum, 6-speed
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2013, 07:28 PM   #3
Tsuyoi
Lieutenant
10

 
Drives: 2013 F30 328i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York


Posts: 561
iTrader: (0)

Do you have HUD? I've never had to worry about street names being listed on the main nav display, mainly because I just glance at it once to see roughly what route the nav's taking, and the rest of the time the HUD tells me everything I need to know, including street name for the next direction.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 03:45 PM   #4
rallybull
Captain
United_States
18

 
rallybull's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i w/PPK
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA


Posts: 818
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony20009 View Post
Yep, that's definitely not what happens on the e90's navigation.

I looked at your video. I couldn't tell that the car was moving based on the navigation screen. Were you in interactive mode rather than regular mode?

Have you tried a higher level of detail (i.e., closer view)?

When you actually are using the navigation to find your way somewhere, are the directions it provides accurate?
The car was not moving at the time I took the shots (it would have been difficult). No I was not in interactive mode.

Yes I have tried different zoom levels (a bit more and a bit less than 800ft) but they suck even more.

The directions provided by the system is accurate. No issues with that.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 03:48 PM   #5
rallybull
Captain
United_States
18

 
rallybull's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i w/PPK
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA


Posts: 818
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsuyoi View Post
Do you have HUD? I've never had to worry about street names being listed on the main nav display, mainly because I just glance at it once to see roughly what route the nav's taking, and the rest of the time the HUD tells me everything I need to know, including street name for the next direction.
Yes, I have an HUD. The problem is not really while the navigation system is providing directions from point A to point B. It is more about an issue that while I am travelling (irrespective of where I have any set destination), the maps don't show adequate street names, even the major street names are not shown. Think of it as "situation awareness".

So for example, half a mile short of a major street crossing, I cannot even tell what street I am approaching. Another example would be that almost all GPS systems have a facility to display the current street name on which you are travelling. I have owned several GPS systems before and even a $45 portable no-brand name system does better than this.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2013, 04:52 PM   #6
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
32

 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal


Posts: 1,776
iTrader: (0)

You can see the current street name by displaying the Arrow view on the split screen. Of course, that only works if you are having the car navigate somewhere.

I can see not showing a lot of street names to avoid clutter, but I don't need 2 square inches of empty screen either. Plus (as was previously stated), when it does show some names, they are for minor streets that you couldn't care less about.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2013, 05:53 PM   #7
CKau
First Lieutenant
7

 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sydney, australia


Posts: 387
iTrader: (0)

I didn't notice this issue on demo drives but now that I own the car I have the same issue.

Most of the time the streets I go to are short and this is largely not an issue. However where the streets are long it is a real hassle to locate the label. Sometimes it doesn't even show up at all.

Totally unacceptable as the whole point of built on nav is to not carry a paper street directory with you. The VW RNS510 is way better than this.

I am surprised this shortcoming is not more widely discussed. Maybe cos its hidden in this small specialist subforum
__________________
328i aus spec |M adaptive suspension|sunroof|sport seats|self parking|extended display | aftermarket sound insulation
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2013, 09:41 PM   #8
rallybull
Captain
United_States
18

 
rallybull's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i w/PPK
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA


Posts: 818
iTrader: (0)

yes... perhaps only bmw can get away with this quality of substandard delivery in their products.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2013, 04:37 AM   #9
CKau
First Lieutenant
7

 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sydney, australia


Posts: 387
iTrader: (0)

I played around a bit more and realised that some streets are just not named at all. Thankfully in interactive mode the pointer tells you the road name even if it is not
labelled at any of the zoom levels.

I would say that you have to use the nav as just something that gets you to a known destination or something that helps you plan a route.

I know what you mean by situational awareness... Unfortunately it's clunky and requires the use of interactive mode to achieve that.

When i first saw the on the test drive i assumed it worked ok. Its only when you live with it day to day you realise how s**t it is.
__________________
328i aus spec |M adaptive suspension|sunroof|sport seats|self parking|extended display | aftermarket sound insulation
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2013, 09:49 AM   #10
cfm56d7b
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 2013 BMW 335i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington, DC


Posts: 100
iTrader: (0)

I noticed the same NAV behavior yesterday while driving. While in 3D perspective mode, the next street where I had to make left turn did not have a name. And it was a major street - only 200 feet from the where my car was at that moment.

I changed NAV to non 3D mode (North) and the street names appeared as one would expect.

Very unusual since other NAV systems manage the display of street names in 3D mode more intuitively.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2013, 12:48 AM   #11
DJHakim
Second Lieutenant
4

 
DJHakim's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA


Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

I too am noticing that the F30 nav (CIC) is pretty slow, possibly slower than the E90 nav (CIC).
__________________
F30 (2013 328xi): Step, ZCP, Nav, PDC, Alarm, Shades, GS Metallic
E90 (2009 328xi): Step, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, Alarm, Shades, SG Metallic [Retired]
E90 (2006 325xi): Step, ZSP, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, CA, Xenons, Shades, CrO3 Exhaust, TiAg Metallic [Retired]
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2013, 09:13 AM   #12
Gt5422md
New Member
United_States
0

 
Gt5422md's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Colorado


Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335xi  [0.00]
Slow Nav Start up

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJHakim View Post
I too am noticing that the F30 nav (CIC) is pretty slow, possibly slower than the E90 nav (CIC).
Startup seems slow sometimes on my F30 Nav... Slower than my '09 Subaru or after market Alpine. I realize a lot more is going on w/ the iDrive, but it is still somewhat annoying in a $50k+ car.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2013, 10:18 AM   #13
DJHakim
Second Lieutenant
4

 
DJHakim's Avatar
 
Drives: 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA


Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gt5422md View Post
Startup seems slow sometimes on my F30 Nav... Slower than my '09 Subaru or after market Alpine. I realize a lot more is going on w/ the iDrive, but it is still somewhat annoying in a $50k+ car.
Agreed. Startup is slow, too. E90 used to "preload" the iDrive the moment you unlocked the vehicle. By the time you got in and started up, iDrive was ready (or near ready). F30 does not seem to do that, or it just takes noticeable longer to startup!
__________________
F30 (2013 328xi): Step, ZCP, Nav, PDC, Alarm, Shades, GS Metallic
E90 (2009 328xi): Step, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, Alarm, Shades, SG Metallic [Retired]
E90 (2006 325xi): Step, ZSP, ZCP, iDrive, BMW Assist, PDC, CA, Xenons, Shades, CrO3 Exhaust, TiAg Metallic [Retired]
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2013, 11:36 AM   #14
zenmaster
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
18

 
Drives: '13 AH3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta


Posts: 1,613
iTrader: (1)

I've had a 2007 and now a 2010 E90. Takes a good couple of minutes to start up nav, and after that start up you still have to get satellite lock which can be up to 3-5 minutes longer. Perhaps my GPS is not working properly, or it is due to my area surrounded by buildings. I do not know how fast it is supposed to be under certain conditions, but you can always count on forum members' exaggerations to add to the confusion.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST