F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Precondition now not for USA!
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-29-2012, 07:26 AM   #1
ric124
Lieutenant Colonel
ric124's Avatar
Jamaica
28
Rep
1,556
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i SP 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Precondition now not for USA!

The BMW my remote app updated this morning and the notes says precondition now Europe only! Is there a law or something preventing us from having this feature over here in the USA?

__________________
Timeline: 335i Sport W/ Adaptive M suspension| Sport Variable steering| Technology PKG| HK Sound PKG| BMW apps| BMW Assist| Sport line hand brake grip| M Performance black kidneys|
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 10:47 AM   #2
Tsuvoi
Banned
6
Rep
272
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

And what is precondition?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 10:48 AM   #3
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,799
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

I've never seen preconditioning enabled in the app for my US F30, even in prior releases of the app.

I have no idea why it's not enabled here.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 10:55 AM   #4
rallybull
Captain
rallybull's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
818
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i w/PPK
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I guess in USA only certain 7 series get this feature.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 10:56 AM   #5
Valour
petrolhead
United_States
3
Rep
58
Posts

 
Drives: 09 evo
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baton Rouge

iTrader: (0)

The details just meant that there was a bug with the precondition now feature. Which happens to be only affecting European users. IF the USA has precondition now then the bug fix wasn't released for us just yet. But the app did not take something away.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 10:56 AM   #6
Heiznberg
Private
United_States
4
Rep
55
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ric124
The BMW my remote app updated this morning and the notes says precondition now Europe only! Is there a law or something preventing us from having this feature over here in the USA?

It would be a nice feature to have but I really wish they would make the app faster and more reliable.
__________________
2013 BMW 335i Sedan | M Sport Line
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 12:28 PM   #7
Accelerometer
First Lieutenant
Accelerometer's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
374
Posts

 
Drives: '13 F30 335i /'11 E90 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The MyBMW remote app is terrible from a functionality standpoint. Commands take 3-5 minutes to actually get to the car. The only thing I use it for is to send directions to the car.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 12:35 PM   #8
BMWFanatic2008
Captain
BMWFanatic2008's Avatar
8
Rep
714
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ft1337 View Post
And what is precondition?
+1
__________________
F30 335xi | MSport | Estoril Blue | Sport 8AT | DHP | 19" 403M | ZDA | ZTP | Sat radio | 494 (Gone)
F30 335xi | MSport | Estoril Blue | 6MT | DHP | 19" 403M (Gone)
E92 335xi | MSport | Le Mans Blue Metallic (Gone)
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 12:36 PM   #9
JamesonWhiskey
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328i Xdrive Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Beach, NY

iTrader: (0)

I just picked up my first BMW yesterday and am very surprised the only option that shows up for on my phone is the lock/unlock. Any ideas? Is there a hack to get the climate control working?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 12:36 PM   #10
chrisv_335EBII
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
239
Posts

 
Drives: 335i 6sp EBII
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWFanatic2008 View Post
+1
+2
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 12:45 PM   #11
Cyberdemon
Captain
15
Rep
897
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWFanatic2008 View Post
+1
Precondition is what they call it to temporarily activate the fans to help cool/warm the car slightly. It doesn't activate the engine/AC compressor like an actual remote start.

Don't know why it's not available in the US...I'm sure there's some stupid law involved.
__________________
2013 335i M Sport /// Alpine White/Coral Red
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 01:16 PM   #12
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,799
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

You can set preconditioning via i-Drive before you leave the car, but you have to set the time when you want it turned on before you lock the car.

The benefit of preconditioning via the remote app is that you are supposed to be able to turn on preconditioning as you are returning to your car and want to have it cooled down a bit before you get there.

My remote app allows me to send addresses to the nav, to lock/unlock the car, flash the lights, and beep the horn. It also will locate the car if you forget where you parked it (my wife uses that).

The commands sometimes take a long time (like 5 to 10 minutes or more) to work, but I've noticed that it seems to be working more quickly recently.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2012, 02:10 PM   #13
MotoEV
Private
MotoEV's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
87
Posts

 
Drives: BMW Active Hybrid 3
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Atlanta Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Stationary Cooling?

I never saw that feature as a menu item on the app. My remote fob lets me perform a similar function on my 2013 AH3

Stationary cooling.
Individual climate control begins even before you start your journey: In the BMW ActiveHybrid 3, the car key is able to remotely active the automatic climate control.
During hot weather, Stationary cooling cools the interior from an extremely high temperature to a bearable level in two to three minutes, without any need to start the engine. The electric climate compressor takes care of the cooling function using the energy gained in the high-power battery.

As soon as the engine starts up, the temperature is then lowered further to a comfortable range or to the desired temperature.

Stationary cooling in the BMW ActiveHybrid 3 can be activated via the radio control key before you enter the vehicle. This allows you to create a more pleasant climate in the vehicle even before you start your journey.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 02:48 AM   #14
pkimM3r
Banned
pkimM3r's Avatar
96
Rep
7,321
Posts

 
Drives: m3 saloon in granny mode.
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: lost angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteNJ
The MyBMW remote app is terrible from a functionality standpoint. Commands take 3-5 minutes to actually get to the car. The only thing I use it for is to send directions to the car.
Me too but i tried unlocking the car from home and when i went to the garage it was actually unlocked. Oops.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 11:42 PM   #15
ric124
Lieutenant Colonel
ric124's Avatar
Jamaica
28
Rep
1,556
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i SP 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoEV View Post
I never saw that feature as a menu item on the app. My remote fob lets me perform a similar function on my 2013 AH3

Stationary cooling.
Individual climate control begins even before you start your journey: In the BMW ActiveHybrid 3, the car key is able to remotely active the automatic climate control.
During hot weather, Stationary cooling cools the interior from an extremely high temperature to a bearable level in two to three minutes, without any need to start the engine. The electric climate compressor takes care of the cooling function using the energy gained in the high-power battery.

As soon as the engine starts up, the temperature is then lowered further to a comfortable range or to the desired temperature.

Stationary cooling in the BMW ActiveHybrid 3 can be activated via the radio control key before you enter the vehicle. This allows you to create a more pleasant climate in the vehicle even before you start your journey.
Hey could you post a pic of your remote?
__________________
Timeline: 335i Sport W/ Adaptive M suspension| Sport Variable steering| Technology PKG| HK Sound PKG| BMW apps| BMW Assist| Sport line hand brake grip| M Performance black kidneys|
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2012, 11:46 PM   #16
ric124
Lieutenant Colonel
ric124's Avatar
Jamaica
28
Rep
1,556
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i SP 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ft1337 View Post
And what is precondition?
I took this screen shot when i was using myremote in demo mode while I waited on my car to be built. I think this screen shot gives a better explanation.

__________________
Timeline: 335i Sport W/ Adaptive M suspension| Sport Variable steering| Technology PKG| HK Sound PKG| BMW apps| BMW Assist| Sport line hand brake grip| M Performance black kidneys|
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2012, 12:00 AM   #17
SamS
Brigadier General
SamS's Avatar
61
Rep
4,579
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ric124 View Post
Hey could you post a pic of your remote?
The remotes for the AH3 are similar, the stationary cooling uses the Panic button to activate the Auxiliary cooling feature. The panic button just has a diamond shape on it.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by SamS; 12-01-2012 at 12:05 AM. Reason: Found a pic!
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 10:44 AM   #18
bluemark81
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
271
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328 x-drive luxury
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ric124 View Post
I took this screen shot when i was using myremote in demo mode while I waited on my car to be built. I think this screen shot gives a better explanation.

I have a 2013 f30 with nav package but the only remote features I am getting is locate vehicle, honk horn, flash lights and lock/unlock. Why can't I get precondition and send map info to car?
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 11:06 AM   #19
roundel335
Brigadier General
roundel335's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
3,630
Posts

 
Drives: 13 335i Sedan, 11 128i Cabrio
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Leland, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Does anyone actually use this feature? I have it on my non-nav F30, but don't really have a need for it, and especially not "remotely". Much ado about nothing IMO.
__________________

2013 F30 335i M-Sport 8AT/MPE/MPPK, 2011 128i M-sport Cabrio 6MT/PE
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 11:15 AM   #20
bluemark81
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
271
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328 x-drive luxury
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roundel335 View Post
Does anyone actually use this feature? I have it on my non-nav F30, but don't really have a need for it, and especially not "remotely". Much ado about nothing IMO.
I would certainly use the two features that I am not getting on mine for some reason. However, I could care less about the three features I am getting.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 11:28 AM   #21
Roki_014
Major
33
Rep
1,231
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago

iTrader: (0)

u need bmw assist right?
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2013, 12:17 PM   #22
bluemark81
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
271
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 328 x-drive luxury
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roki_014 View Post
u need bmw assist right?
Yes
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST