F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Active Cruise w/ Stop&Go: Blocked Sensor
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-25-2013, 11:28 PM   #1
glennQNYC
Captain
glennQNYC's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
826
Posts

 
Drives: M Sport 335i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 335i  [4.83]
Can anyone with "Active Cruise Control with Stop&Go" describe what happens when the front sensor is obstructed? Does the system scale back to conventional cruise control, or do you lose any/all cruise control until the sensor is cleared?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 12:41 AM   #2
Rossifumi
Lieutenant Colonel
Rossifumi's Avatar
No_Country
35
Rep
1,666
Posts

 
Drives: Some BMW
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

If something happens to it you won't have any cruise control at all, just a warning message if you try to engage it.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 01:17 AM   #3
drob23
Lieutenant Colonel
drob23's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,695
Posts

 
Drives: S4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post
Can anyone with "Active Cruise Control with Stop&Go" describe what happens when the front sensor is obstructed? Does the system scale back to conventional cruise control, or do you lose any/all cruise control until the sensor is cleared?
What do you mean by obstructed? You are going to cover the sensor housing with something or you mean there is some small wall in the way?!?

Stop and go ACC on most vehicles uses a combination of forward facing radars and a forward facing camera, i.e. a sensor fusion algorithm. The radars don't work well once the vehicle comes to a stop (or at low speed) and is where the camera works best. The camera is usually mounted in the rear-view mirror housing. I think it's also used for the auto-high beam.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 11:14 AM   #4
glennQNYC
Captain
glennQNYC's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
826
Posts

 
Drives: M Sport 335i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 335i  [4.83]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossifumi
If something happens to it you won't have any cruise control at all, just a warning message if you try to engage it.
Thank you Rossifumi!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 11:24 AM   #5
jdong
Lieutenant
8
Rep
503
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drob23
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post
Can anyone with "Active Cruise Control with Stop&Go" describe what happens when the front sensor is obstructed? Does the system scale back to conventional cruise control, or do you lose any/all cruise control until the sensor is cleared?
What do you mean by obstructed? You are going to cover the sensor housing with something or you mean there is some small wall in the way?!?

Stop and go ACC on most vehicles uses a combination of forward facing radars and a forward facing camera, i.e. a sensor fusion algorithm. The radars don't work well once the vehicle comes to a stop (or at low speed) and is where the camera works best. The camera is usually mounted in the rear-view mirror housing. I think it's also used for the auto-high beam.
I'm not sure what the BMW system uses, but my first gen Chrysler 300C in 2008 used a Hella supplied LIDAR state as the sole sensor. That was easily blocked by either snow accumulation or even heavy rain or direct sunlight, as typical for a LIDAR system. When it was blocked, there was no cruise control at all. It was bad enough that they eventually released a software update that allowed you to hold the cruise control switch to enable legacy cruise control mode.

Usually stop and go systems, as you mentioned, combines two sensor technologies. However, i would still expect that if either sensor reports a fault, the entire system will refuse to operate
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 05:29 AM   #6
oceanview
Private First Class
oceanview's Avatar
Switzerland
2
Rep
178
Posts

 
Drives: 335i F31 RWD Autom.
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossifumi View Post
If something happens to it you won't have any cruise control at all, just a warning message if you try to engage it.
+1
I experienced that on the Autobahn a few days ago during snow fall. The radar got all covered by snow after a few miles ACC stopped working. Unfortunatelly "normal" cruise control also won't work.
Then I stopped and cleaned the radar, but it got covered by snow again after a few miles and ACC stopped working again.

This is a bit of a pain, because it means that in practice you won't have crusie control during "heavy" snow fall.
Still the driving conditions would allow to drive with Cruise Control activated.(Roads where just wet, not covered by snow nor ice)

I was a bit surprised that normal Cruise Control didn't work in this situation, as it is just holding a defined Speed. But I think they made it that way because "normal" Drivers could get confused by ACC suddenly working different as they are used to. (Although the Driver gets display message that ACC is not working)
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 06:29 AM   #7
Rossifumi
Lieutenant Colonel
Rossifumi's Avatar
No_Country
35
Rep
1,666
Posts

 
Drives: Some BMW
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oceanview View Post
+1
I experienced that on the Autobahn a few days ago during snow fall. The radar got all covered by snow after a few miles ACC stopped working. Unfortunatelly "normal" cruise control also won't work.
Then I stopped and cleaned the radar, but it got covered by snow again after a few miles and ACC stopped working again.

This is a bit of a pain, because it means that in practice you won't have crusie control during "heavy" snow fall.
Still the driving conditions would allow to drive with Cruise Control activated.(Roads where just wet, not covered by snow nor ice)

I was a bit surprised that normal Cruise Control didn't work in this situation, as it is just holding a defined Speed. But I think they made it that way because "normal" Drivers could get confused by ACC suddenly working different as they are used to. (Although the Driver gets display message that ACC is not working)
Probably, people could get confused if the car would brake by itself or not so I have no problem really with it not working like a normal CC in these conditions even though it most likely could if they allowed it. Maybe it is possible to code.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 08:46 AM   #8
JaakkoA
New Member
JaakkoA's Avatar
Finland
1
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: German
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

It really is a shame that the ACC Sensor doesn't have any heating. Just a little bit of too warm + snowfall and you have a blocked sensor.

When it gets blocked the ACC just goes standby. It is still on, but won't set. You need to scrub the snow off to get it running, but still the same problem after few kilometres.

However, at least in my F31, you can switch to normal cruise control by pressing the ACC distance buttons (closer or further, no difference) for ~3 seconds. And this works also, when you have a "blocked sensor" -error on.

you can also switch between ACC and normal-CC with the same manouver. Just when you go from CC to ACC you just have to tap the distance buttons.
__________________
Driving: F31 320xdA, E82 135i DCT, Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 319CDI A3A
Ex: E91LCI 330xdA -10, E84 X1 20xd, VW T5 2.5TDI 4Motion, Citröen Ax 1.1 injection -91
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 09:04 AM   #9
Rossifumi
Lieutenant Colonel
Rossifumi's Avatar
No_Country
35
Rep
1,666
Posts

 
Drives: Some BMW
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaakkoA View Post
It really is a shame that the ACC Sensor doesn't have any heating. Just a little bit of too warm + snowfall and you have a blocked sensor.

When it gets blocked the ACC just goes standby. It is still on, but won't set. You need to scrub the snow off to get it running, but still the same problem after few kilometres.

However, at least in my F31, you can switch to normal cruise control by pressing the ACC distance buttons (closer or further, no difference) for ~3 seconds. And this works also, when you have a "blocked sensor" -error on.

you can also switch between ACC and normal-CC with the same manouver. Just when you go from CC to ACC you just have to tap the distance buttons.
Cool, didn't know that!
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 09:11 AM   #10
raleedy
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
18
Rep
1,873
Posts

 
Drives: F10 528i MY 2013
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon

iTrader: (0)

Using any cruise control in low traction conditions is unsafe.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 10:16 AM   #11
giorgioarmani
Private
1
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: silver m sport 335i & 19s
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: rivervalley

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossifumi View Post
Cool, didn't know that!
me neither. will try asap
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 10:51 AM   #12
glennQNYC
Captain
glennQNYC's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
826
Posts

 
Drives: M Sport 335i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 335i  [4.83]
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaakkoA View Post
…at least in my F31, you can switch to normal cruise control by pressing the ACC distance buttons (closer or further, no difference) for ~3 seconds. And this works also, when you have a "blocked sensor" -error on.

you can also switch between ACC and normal-CC with the same manouver. Just when you go from CC to ACC you just have to tap the distance buttons.

Ford lets you toggle their active cruise to conventional-style cruise… I can only hope my future 2014 F30 will let me do the same!
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 12:22 PM   #13
oceanview
Private First Class
oceanview's Avatar
Switzerland
2
Rep
178
Posts

 
Drives: 335i F31 RWD Autom.
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raleedy View Post
Using any cruise control in low traction conditions is unsafe.
Well, it will switch off automatically when ASC is activated.
Which makes sense as you could also be driving on wet road with ACC on and run into Aquaplaning.
Sure I would not activate ACC when there is already snow on the street. That's one of the moments where active driving is needed. ��
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 12:27 PM   #14
drob23
Lieutenant Colonel
drob23's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,695
Posts

 
Drives: S4
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oceanview View Post
+1
I experienced that on the Autobahn a few days ago during snow fall. The radar got all covered by snow after a few miles ACC stopped working. Unfortunatelly "normal" cruise control also won't work.
Then I stopped and cleaned the radar, but it got covered by snow again after a few miles and ACC stopped working again.

This is a bit of a pain, because it means that in practice you won't have crusie control during "heavy" snow fall.
Still the driving conditions would allow to drive with Cruise Control activated.(Roads where just wet, not covered by snow nor ice)

I was a bit surprised that normal Cruise Control didn't work in this situation, as it is just holding a defined Speed. But I think they made it that way because "normal" Drivers could get confused by ACC suddenly working different as they are used to. (Although the Driver gets display message that ACC is not working)
Damn, that sounds pretty frustrating, surprising that snow occludes the radar. Assuming that the headlight washers don't help...
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2013, 03:53 PM   #15
RIOBLAST
Private
RIOBLAST's Avatar
Sweden
0
Rep
99
Posts

 
Drives: 120d M-sport -14
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Trollhättan, Sweden

iTrader: (0)

My ACC also goes down as soon as it is snowing. Why can't they put the sensor behind the grill instead? Less slush from the road. Also the sensor doesn't look that great with Msport.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2013, 08:24 AM   #16
JaakkoA
New Member
JaakkoA's Avatar
Finland
1
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: German
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIOBLAST View Post
My ACC also goes down as soon as it is snowing. Why can't they put the sensor behind the grill instead? Less slush from the road. Also the sensor doesn't look that great with Msport.
That would not propably work well, and same lush find behind the grill also. The previous optical ACC radar had heating, mayde this new radar doesn't tolerate electricity..

Same opinion about the looks, but practicality of ACC wins..
__________________
Driving: F31 320xdA, E82 135i DCT, Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 319CDI A3A
Ex: E91LCI 330xdA -10, E84 X1 20xd, VW T5 2.5TDI 4Motion, Citröen Ax 1.1 injection -91
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2013, 08:25 AM   #17
JaakkoA
New Member
JaakkoA's Avatar
Finland
1
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: German
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post
Ford lets you toggle their active cruise to conventional-style cruise… I can only hope my future 2014 F30 will let me do the same!
Don't worry, it will..
__________________
Driving: F31 320xdA, E82 135i DCT, Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 319CDI A3A
Ex: E91LCI 330xdA -10, E84 X1 20xd, VW T5 2.5TDI 4Motion, Citröen Ax 1.1 injection -91
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2013, 09:55 AM   #18
BavarianFanatic
Too much is never enough
United_States
17
Rep
1,757
Posts

 
Drives: Too Many
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oceanview View Post
Well, it will switch off automatically when ASC is activated.
Which makes sense as you could also be driving on wet road with ACC on and run into Aquaplaning.
Sure I would not activate ACC when there is already snow on the street. That's one of the moments where active driving is needed. ��
This is a very disturbing statement.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2013, 12:03 PM   #19
jdong
Lieutenant
8
Rep
503
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIOBLAST View Post
My ACC also goes down as soon as it is snowing. Why can't they put the sensor behind the grill instead? Less slush from the road. Also the sensor doesn't look that great with Msport.
My 300C had it mounted behind the grill and that does not really help at all. It still gets occluded by snow accumulation on the grill quite readily.

Also, when put there, the car loses peripheral vision of vehicles around you, which leads to much more undesired emergency braking around corners, where the car thinks that the car in the lane next to you appeared out of nowhere.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2013, 12:17 PM   #20
oceanview
Private First Class
oceanview's Avatar
Switzerland
2
Rep
178
Posts

 
Drives: 335i F31 RWD Autom.
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oceanview View Post
Well, it will switch off automatically when ASC is activated.
Which makes sense as you could also be driving on wet road with ACC on and run into Aquaplaning.
Sure I would not activate ACC when there is already snow on the street. That's one of the moments where active driving is needed. ��
Quote:
Originally Posted by BavarianFanatic View Post
This is a very disturbing statement.
Why? What I mean is ACC will switch of as soon as Stability Control (ASC) detects a critical situation and starts stabilizing the car. So if you drive 40 mph on a snow road and the car will loose traction or starts shifitng away, ACC is deactivated.
The car will loose speed (unless the Driver pushes the gas pedal).
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2013, 04:49 AM   #21
RIOBLAST
Private
RIOBLAST's Avatar
Sweden
0
Rep
99
Posts

 
Drives: 120d M-sport -14
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Trollhättan, Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Another disturbing thing about the ACC is when I charge my phone via USB and listen to music using the AUX. When the car brakes (with ACC active) an annoying white noise is transferred to the speakers. If I only connect the AUX and don't connect the USB to charge the phone there is no interferrence. It happends as the car infront gets too close and my car stopps accelerating and starts braking.
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2013, 05:31 AM   #22
Thlian
Second Lieutenant
Thlian's Avatar
Norway
6
Rep
230
Posts

 
Drives: 320d XDrive AT Touring M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Never ever heard this has been an issue in my country, correct me if I`m wrong though
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST