F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > DEPO F30/31 Projector Headlights **UK Photos and Chat thread**
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-06-2017, 04:40 PM   #1453
UKF30
Brigadier General
UKF30's Avatar
United Kingdom
1836
Rep
3,461
Posts

Drives: BMW G30 Bluestone
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Planet Carbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Yeah i had H7 all this time. During day time no probs but night time is bad especially if there is no other lights around.
I ordered now 35w 5000K hid kit. I understand that is the option that most of you went for.
Is it difficult to install them on Depos?

I have no idea how difficult to fit after headlights fitted mate as we did it when headlights were out but I do know High beam bulbs are nightmare to change mate .

perhaps someone else can help who fitted HId afterwards.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 04:48 PM   #1454
Dzurifuri
New Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 320d luxury (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKF30 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Yeah i had H7 all this time. During day time no probs but night time is bad especially if there is no other lights around.
I ordered now 35w 5000K hid kit. I understand that is the option that most of you went for.
Is it difficult to install them on Depos?

I have no idea how difficult to fit after headlights fitted mate as we did it when headlights were out but I do know High beam bulbs are nightmare to change mate .

perhaps someone else can help who fitted HId afterwards.
Well, i guess we will have to take bumper off again ?
__________________
Toms Lagzdins
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 05:28 PM   #1455
UKF30
Brigadier General
UKF30's Avatar
United Kingdom
1836
Rep
3,461
Posts

Drives: BMW G30 Bluestone
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Planet Carbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Well, i guess we will have to take bumper off again ?

I would say try it first see how hard it is before taking bumper off mate , you should be able to do it it's just fiddly that all

Give it a try first and then have bumper off last option .
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 05:30 PM   #1456
Dzurifuri
New Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 320d luxury (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKF30 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Well, i guess we will have to take bumper off again ?

I would say try it first see how hard it is before taking bumper off mate , you should be able to do it it's just fiddly that all

Give it a try first and then have bumper off last option .
Will do mate. I am hoping that just turning wheels one side should give me enough access
__________________
Toms Lagzdins
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 05:32 PM   #1457
UKF30
Brigadier General
UKF30's Avatar
United Kingdom
1836
Rep
3,461
Posts

Drives: BMW G30 Bluestone
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Planet Carbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Will do mate. I am hoping that just turning wheels one side should give me enough access
Good luck let us know if you need any help mate
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 05:34 PM   #1458
Dzurifuri
New Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 320d luxury (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKF30 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Will do mate. I am hoping that just turning wheels one side should give me enough access
Good luck let us know if you need any help mate
Will do, cheers.
As soon as this will be completed i will post a pic
__________________
Toms Lagzdins
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2017, 07:04 AM   #1459
Dzurifuri
New Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 320d luxury (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKF30 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Will do mate. I am hoping that just turning wheels one side should give me enough access
Good luck let us know if you need any help mate
Will do, cheers.
As soon as this will be completed i will post a pic
Super excited, got my HID KIT today and will be settig it up later tonight
__________________
Toms Lagzdins
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 07:48 AM   #1460
tristancliffe
New Member
tristancliffe's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2012 F31 320d Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Norwich, UK

iTrader: (0)

Are the motor levelling warnings common? Is it something we just have to live with (they spend 99% of their time on 0 anyway, but with heavy loads it is useful to be able to lower them), or is it a result of something breaking?

Very tempted to get these, but I don't think I could put up with errors, even if the solution is to just not use the dash knob.
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2017, 06:04 PM   #1461
6times7
Second Lieutenant
130
Rep
248
Posts

Drives: F31 330d
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tristancliffe View Post
Are the motor levelling warnings common? Is it something we just have to live with (they spend 99% of their time on 0 anyway, but with heavy loads it is useful to be able to lower them), or is it a result of something breaking?

Very tempted to get these, but I don't think I could put up with errors, even if the solution is to just not use the dash knob.
Yeah, i think the warning is fairly common having followed this thread from early days. I think it's a result of a soft/hardware glitch in the units.

Having had a pair of the Depos fitted, my low beams go through the levelling up and down if they come on when the car is started no problem. However, if i start moving the adjustment wheel i soon get an error. I reckon there's enough time to crank them down if necessary though.

It's a small price to pay for losing halogens.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2017, 08:04 AM   #1462
tristancliffe
New Member
tristancliffe's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2012 F31 320d Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Norwich, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6times7 View Post
Yeah, i think the warning is fairly common having followed this thread from early days. I think it's a result of a soft/hardware glitch in the units.

Having had a pair of the Depos fitted, my low beams go through the levelling up and down if they come on when the car is started no problem. However, if i start moving the adjustment wheel i soon get an error. I reckon there's enough time to crank them down if necessary though.

It's a small price to pay for losing halogens.
Thanks. Much appreciated. I can probably live with that, but I don't want regular errors because it'll make selling the car on harder.

Looks like I'll have to get a pair, fit them, and then save up for the HID bulbs at a later date. Are the projectors with halogens better than the standard reflectors (not that I mind - I find halogens absolutely fine and rarely even bother with high beam, but I do want the angel eyes/halos)?
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2017, 11:34 AM   #1463
Sturrock
Private
12
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: F31
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Was thinking of getting this done but now you say that it throws up errors not so keen. Is this a standard known issue or just occasional??
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2017, 02:44 PM   #1464
6times7
Second Lieutenant
130
Rep
248
Posts

Drives: F31 330d
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tristancliffe View Post
Thanks. Much appreciated. I can probably live with that, but I don't want regular errors because it'll make selling the car on harder.

Looks like I'll have to get a pair, fit them, and then save up for the HID bulbs at a later date. Are the projectors with halogens better than the standard reflectors (not that I mind - I find halogens absolutely fine and rarely even bother with high beam, but I do want the angel eyes/halos)?
Sorry, no idea on halogens/projectors. If you want to stagger fitting I'd say go Phillips diamond vision halogens in the meantime. If you're happy with halogens, for 20ish they are a significant improvement. Make sure you get appropriate high beams fitted before you fit depos as it's bumper off to change.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2017, 02:46 PM   #1465
6times7
Second Lieutenant
130
Rep
248
Posts

Drives: F31 330d
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sturrock View Post
Was thinking of getting this done but now you say that it throws up errors not so keen. Is this a standard known issue or just occasional??
They only throw errors when you start adjusting them, and even then not straight away. Errors clear on next start up.

I seem to recall you can fit the self levelling light switch unit, which doesn't have the level adjust wheel, if you don't want codes thrown. See this linky. They are on E-bay for 49 Euros - search for bmw f30 control element light.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2017, 08:24 AM   #1466
Sturrock
Private
12
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: F31
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Cheers bud. Kinda gone off the idea now. Thought it was a straight forward plug and play, but seems there's a little more to it.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2017, 07:19 PM   #1467
Dzurifuri
New Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 320d luxury (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKF30 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzurifuri View Post
Will do mate. I am hoping that just turning wheels one side should give me enough access
Good luck let us know if you need any help mate
Will do, cheers.
As soon as this will be completed i will post a pic
Super excited, got my HID KIT today and will be settig it up later tonight
Hid fitted and look 100 times better
Attached Images
  
__________________
Toms Lagzdins
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2017, 04:43 PM   #1468
Darudis
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: E91 325d lci
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Bradford

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys I've got depo lights as well and I love them but I get the same error like most of you guys About the levelling motors, but I get this as soon as I get in the car in my case it fails on first check (when you start the car or turn on the lights they go up and down) so I always have the yellow triangle on dash. This can be sorted bet changing resistance parameters in frm, but I don't know which ones yet, maybe some of already known this?
So I don't even need to use the levelling switch (wheel with numbers 0 1 2 3) to get this error like most of you "lucky you"
BTW this beam levelling switch is made for: if you put heavy luggage in boot rear end will go down and the headlight beam will go up and you will be dizzying on coming Trafic so then you have to use that wheel and choose setting 1 2 or 3 depending how much you loaded your car this will set the beam lower (0 is default setting and 3 is the lowest one)
Your help and thoughts would be much appreciated we can sort it together
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2017, 05:03 PM   #1469
tristancliffe
New Member
tristancliffe's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2012 F31 320d Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Norwich, UK

iTrader: (0)

With that and not being able to change high beam bulbs in situ is a serious turn off.
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2017, 04:44 AM   #1470
Darudis
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: E91 325d lci
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Bradford

iTrader: (0)

Guys did any of you managed to sort out the levelling issue? Or found a solution for it, I have this error all the time
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2017, 02:40 PM   #1471
6times7
Second Lieutenant
130
Rep
248
Posts

Drives: F31 330d
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I only get the error when adjusting, not all the time.

You could try disconnecting bulbs, adjust the wheel to the mid point, or other end of its range, let the car go to sleep (ignition off for 15 mins, 30 to be safe) reconnect the headlamps then try igntition on.

Other than that have a chat with Eurowagens, assuming that's were you got them.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2017, 06:07 AM   #1472
tristancliffe
New Member
tristancliffe's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2012 F31 320d Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Norwich, UK

iTrader: (0)

Ordered a pair of these, which have arrived, and waiting for bulbs and HID kit...

What coding is required?
I'm guessing I'll need to turn off Voltage Monitoring for the daytime running lights and sidelights? What about the low beam (HID)?

Hoping to get it fitted this weekend, but if bulbs don't arrive in time I'll rearrange for next week.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2017, 09:39 AM   #1473
BrennanF30
BMWLad
BrennanF30's Avatar
Ireland
1080
Rep
2,196
Posts

Drives: F30 M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
BMW F30 M Sport  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tristancliffe View Post
Ordered a pair of these, which have arrived, and waiting for bulbs and HID kit...

What coding is required?
I'm guessing I'll need to turn off Voltage Monitoring for the daytime running lights and sidelights? What about the low beam (HID)?

Hoping to get it fitted this weekend, but if bulbs don't arrive in time I'll rearrange for next week.
No coding required, fully plug and play
__________________
EBII F30 with M Performance Kit, Ispiri ISR8 wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6times7 View Post
I don't know - BrennanF30 is Irish isn't he? I reckon he's got some super hi def, Ultra HD4K F30 photo taking potato
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2017, 05:15 AM   #1474
TopperXP
Private First Class
TopperXP's Avatar
25
Rep
124
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 320i m sport
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Great Britain

iTrader: (0)

Going to bite the bullet and get a pair , which kit from HID4u is the correct one ?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST