F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Question RE: TPMS valves
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-06-2017, 09:46 AM   #1
Dave_3
Brigadier General
Dave_3's Avatar
Scotland
196
Rep
3,190
Posts

Drives: F32 430D sDrive Msport
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CH / SCO

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Question RE: TPMS valves

I have an early 2014 430D (one of the first).

They changed the TPMS system a month or so after my build, so my car does not have the actual tyre pressures displayed in the I-drive.

I take it that my system only monitors wheel revolution disparity on an axle to detect a puncture and does not need any dedicated TPMS valves on my Alloy wheels ?

Just speccing up a set of winter wheels ....

D.
__________________
Escort Mk1 RS2000 (2.1 2x44IDFS, BVH, Kent FR32, 5spd, 180 BHP) : Fully Loaded F32 430D M Sport sDrive : Previously Full-Spec 335D E92 2006 : Capri MK1 full rebuild in progress

Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 09:57 AM   #2
Smee
Lieutenant Colonel
Smee's Avatar
234
Rep
1,732
Posts

Drives: 435d
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Norfolk

iTrader: (0)

you need the TPMS with the rubber shaft i believe
__________________
Current : F32 435d M Sport - Mods : HR Sport Springs, 20" Veemann V-FS23 in Gun Metal, M Performance Body Kit, Pedal Covers, Eurspec CF Mirror Caps, More-BHP remap 364 BHP 741 NM, M4 Under Chassis Brace, 15mm Rear ARB, 8.8" Screen Retrofit and LCI Stereo facia Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 10:17 AM   #3
troggy1969
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
28
Rep
476
Posts

Drives: 335D MSport 2016
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ludlow

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Look at your existing wheels, if they have rubber shafts then you don't have tpms monitors on your car, just the revolution monitor so you can fit any valve.

If you have metal valves then you have monitors and if you don't fit them you will get a warning when you start (it doesn't affect performance). I had the warning last year but I've bought a set of monitor to fit this year to be on the safe side.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 11:07 AM   #4
robbiep
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
463
Rep
1,555
Posts

Drives: F31 325d M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Wales, UK

iTrader: (0)

If your car does not display the tyre pressures then you only need standard 'dumb' valves.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2017, 06:27 PM   #5
bmnut
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
110
Rep
511
Posts

Drives: A blue/green one!
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North East England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbiep View Post
If your car does not display the tyre pressures then you only need standard 'dumb' valves.
This ^ !
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST