F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Timing chain issue n55
ARMA SPEED

03-13-2024, 10:08 PM   #1
Fl_Rza_99
Rep
Drives: BMW '15 435i Coupe

Timing chain issue n55

I turned my car on Monday morning and got an error as I pulled out of my parking spot. Drivetrain malfunction, power reduced, take to service center... Later in the day, after work, I hooked up my obd scanner and found code 131401; vanos, exhaust, cold start. Wasn't really sure what this meant so I took my car to one of the independent shops. Got a call this afternoon and they say my timing chain/tensioner are off and will have to be replaced.... for a cost of... $5660 😨. I'm new to bmws and have had the car for a little over 4 years. Bought it with 43,000 and now I'm at 82,000. I was careful and researched what could go wrong with the n55 before I bought this car. I knew some of the common flaws, and have dealt with a few, but I didn't see this issue mentioned. Any ideas what could cause such a big problem?
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2024, 08:41 PM   #2
Fl_Rza_99
Rep

For anyone who may run into the same issue, I did not have them do the recommended repair. The advisor told me more frequent oil changes can keep the problem from progressing. Took the car home and have not had a check engine light on since. The codes still show up when I scan. When turning the car on from a cold start I don't notice anything suspicious, warm starts are crisp. I will be getting a second opinion from another mechanic.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2024, 02:23 PM   #3
F22Cam
Rep
Drives: ‘15 Bmw M235

Garage List
2015 BMW M235  [9.25]
How often were you doing oil changes ?
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2024, 05:06 PM   #4
NxTH
AH3 Owner
Rep
Drives: BMW 335i ActiveHybrid 3

Garage List