F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Mileage blocker issue
Extreme Powerhouse

06-13-2022, 09:34 AM   #1
gt11990
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: m sport 4 series

Mileage blocker issue

I need some help on how to tell if a millage blocker was installed in a bmw to stop millage from increasing then taken out again.

As i am looking to get a used bmw i see many love milage ones less than 10k but its a 2017 model some the seats do look like its worn but i dont know they seem good to be true plus its sold by trade dealers and not private

I want to know if they had stopped the milage then taken the blocker out once sold

Last edited by gt11990; 06-15-2022 at 07:47 AM..
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2022, 11:33 AM   #2
CoopersF15
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: F15 Xdrive 40e Performance

Have it inspected by an independent to see if engine wear and chassis consumables is commensurate with a 10k mile car. It would have its original tires (check the manufacture date in the side) for example.

Things like bushings etc will indicate a higher mile car. If the place you are buying it from is lazy they wouldn't have done an oil or filter change. Filters in a 10k car would look like new.

Check cabin filters. Also should look new. I don't recall if the cabin filters have manufacturing date on them but if they did they'd be the year before or year of manufacture.

If they put a blocker in, they sure as hell didn't manage it's maintenance at the required intervals.
      06-18-2022, 03:29 PM   #3
BimR
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2016 328