F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F34 3-Series GT (Gran Turismo) Forum > Worthwhile options: Driving school and/or tune?
Studio RSR

04-28-2015, 01:55 PM   #1
granCLop
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2015 328xi GT

Worthwhile options: Driving school and/or tune?

Has anyone tuned/modded their 328GT? I apologize in advance for botching any terminology, am a complete noob.

Our 328GT is a fantastic family car, has a roomy & spacious back seat, and large trunk. It drives well, with nice acceleration and handling. However I regret not opting for the 335 & DHP, never mind M Sport...

I'd sporadically driven a '12 328i coupe, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I naively assumed this would be similar, even given the extra weight and length. The GT is not as sprightly, is much softer, with looser steering. After the purchase I test drove a 335xi, and it was great. Great acceleration, a responsive, stiff ride etc. This car purchase was sprung rather quickly; I'm embarrassed to admit I didn't do any research beforehand - I didn't even know they started using turbocharged 4 cylinders vs their i6s. Instead I spent most of my time advocating for this car over the RX, and Q5.

Do I have any options besides a tradein, to boost the car's performance & handling? Would a Dinan tune be worthwhile on the GT? Or should I just relish the fact I'm not cruising around in the RX and call it a day? The car is a pleasure to drive, it just fell short of my (unrealistic) expectations. Spouse suggested I take a car clinic or M school for fun, was wondering if a tune would be worthwhile as well?
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2015, 06:21 PM   #2
lmcq784
Excited F34 owner
United_States
Rep
Drives: '14 F34 (328iX GT M-Sport)