F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-04-2013, 08:02 PM   #3499
10nelyboi
Private First Class
9
Rep
140
Posts

Drives: 2012 - 335I
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Those who coded to have your windows roll up/down with the key fob and with the engine off, does your window Lock still work ? I noticed today that my window lock doesn't work, when I locked it, my passengers were able to roll the window up and down. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with coding
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 08:14 PM   #3500
10nelyboi
Private First Class
9
Rep
140
Posts

Drives: 2012 - 335I
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kromix
Figured the above out, it enables Sport+ as an option.



Hey side question, is it just me or is it so hard to remove the coding cable from the car by hand I have to use pliers to rip it out with force???

is there an easy disconnect method I'm missing??
I have the same problem, you wouldn't believe how hard it was for me. I ended up leaving the cable in the car, drove home and took it out with a long flat head screw driver and some lubricant oils. I scratched my odb port a lil
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 08:20 PM   #3501
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
1,128
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10nelyboi View Post
I have the same problem, you wouldn't believe how hard it was for me. I ended up leaving the cable in the car, drove home and took it out with a long flat head screw driver and some lubricant oils. I scratched my odb port a lil
There must be some trick we are missing????

I used some large head pliers to rip it out with lots of force, it's like wtf???
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2013, 08:28 PM   #3502
npgatech
Private First Class
npgatech's Avatar
7
Rep
169
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Talking

Code:
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_H_L_OUTPUT	off	sl_l
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_H_R_OUTPUT	off	ls_r
MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_OUTPUT	off	sl_2_l
MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_OUTPUT	off	sl_2_r
Hey guys,

I tried changing these values. As noted in the Google spreadsheet, the inner (MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_X_OUTPUT) parameters don't work after 48.2. I just verified this. Yes, DRL only works with outer tail lights.

Any idea how to enable inner lights? May be a different parameter?

Also, are the tail light PWM levels adjustable? The tail lights kind of suck...can't see them properly during the day. They fade in comparison with Audi LEDs.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 12:11 AM   #3503
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
105
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10nelyboi View Post
Those who coded to have your windows roll up/down with the key fob and with the engine off, does your window Lock still work ? I noticed today that my window lock doesn't work, when I locked it, my passengers were able to roll the window up and down. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with coding
That switch only affects the rear windows, not the front passenger window (from the manual).

Are you saying that the lock no longer works for the rear door windows?

I don't have that coded on my car, but if you can confirm that the switch no longer locks out the rears, I'll code it on my car and see if I get the same behavior.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 12:16 AM   #3504
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
105
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10nelyboi View Post
I have the same problem, you wouldn't believe how hard it was for me. I ended up leaving the cable in the car, drove home and took it out with a long flat head screw driver and some lubricant oils. I scratched my odb port a lil
I think it depends on where you got the cable from.

I can attest to 10nelyboi's being almost impossible to remove. The OBD-II part of his cable is pretty small and we tried for about 10 minutes to get it out with no success.

My cable (open ended bought from amazon) has an OBI-II plug that is pretty big and with a good grip. It comes out with only a bit of a tug.

I've seen other posts where people reported the same difficulty removing the plug.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 12:31 AM   #3505
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
105
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by npgatech View Post
Code:
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_H_L_OUTPUT	off	sl_l
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_H_R_OUTPUT	off	ls_r
MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_OUTPUT	off	sl_2_l
MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_OUTPUT	off	sl_2_r
Hey guys,

I tried changing these values. As noted in the Google spreadsheet, the inner (MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_X_OUTPUT) parameters don't work after 48.2. I just verified this. Yes, DRL only works with outer tail lights.

Any idea how to enable inner lights? May be a different parameter?

Also, are the tail light PWM levels adjustable? The tail lights kind of suck...can't see them properly during the day. They fade in comparison with Audi LEDs.
I noticed that too last month when I tried to code someones car with both outer and inner tail lights with DRL.

Did you see the 2 lines below the ones you mentioned in the spreadsheet?

REM / 3063 / MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_PWM_LEVEL_1
REM / 3063 / MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_PWM_LEVEL_1

It says to change the werte values from 00 to 64 (100).

I have not tried that yet, so I don't know if it works or not.

It's not clear if the MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_OUTPUT and MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_OUTPUT also need to be coded or not.

If you do go and experiment, please let us know if it works or not!

I'd assume that the power level for the tail lights is already at 100% (64x), but it's hard to tell as there are so many light settings in REM.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 01:27 AM   #3506
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
1,128
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
I want to disable the fogs turning on for both turning and reverse, basically I don't want the fogs to illuminate ever.

is this the way to do it? All 6 of these options? it seems like this is just for turning, is there a seperate option for reverse?

Code:
Fogs on while turning p1	Yes	Fembody	3073	C_CLC_ENA	F30disable	F30enable			Fogs when turning
Fogs on while turning p2	Yes	Fembody	3073	C_BLC_ENA	F30disable	F30enable			continued
Fogs on while turning p3	Yes	Fembody	3066	KL_ENABLE_LI	KL_Aus	KL_Ein			continued
Fogs on while turning p4	Yes	Fembody	3073	KL_ENABLE_RE	KL_Aus	KL_Ein			continued
Fogs on while turning p5	Yes	Fembody	3062	MAPPING_abbiegel_L_output	Off	nsw_l			continued
Fogs on while turning p6	Yes	Fembody	3062	MAPPING_abbiegel_R_output	Off	nsw_r			continued
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 01:36 AM   #3507
npgatech
Private First Class
npgatech's Avatar
7
Rep
169
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
I noticed that too last month when I tried to code someones car with both outer and inner tail lights with DRL.

Did you see the 2 lines below the ones you mentioned in the spreadsheet?

REM / 3063 / MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_PWM_LEVEL_1
REM / 3063 / MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_PWM_LEVEL_1

It says to change the werte values from 00 to 64 (100).

I have not tried that yet, so I don't know if it works or not.

It's not clear if the MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_OUTPUT and MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_OUTPUT also need to be coded or not.

If you do go and experiment, please let us know if it works or not!

I'd assume that the power level for the tail lights is already at 100% (64x), but it's hard to tell as there are so many light settings in REM.
Good point. I will give this a try and confirm for everyone. I am guessing, that the output is there in the inner rear lights, but it is just at 0% duty cycle in PWM.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 03:43 AM   #3508
10nelyboi
Private First Class
9
Rep
140
Posts

Drives: 2012 - 335I
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10nelyboi View Post
Those who coded to have your windows roll up/down with the key fob and with the engine off, does your window Lock still work ? I noticed today that my window lock doesn't work, when I locked it, my passengers were able to roll the window up and down. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with coding
That switch only affects the rear windows, not the front passenger window (from the manual).

Are you saying that the lock no longer works for the rear door windows?

I don't have that coded on my car, but if you can confirm that the switch no longer locks out the rears, I'll code it on my car and see if I get the same behavior.
I know the lock doesn't work on the front passenger for sure but from what you are telling me, it makes more sense from the manual now.

I was able to roll the rear windows up/down using the master switches at the driver side after locking it. I'm not sure if the rear passengers are able to roll it up/down or not. I will have to try it and let you know. I just had my windows tinted so I don't want to mess with it too much.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 04:10 AM   #3509
npgatech
Private First Class
npgatech's Avatar
7
Rep
169
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by npgatech View Post
Good point. I will give this a try and confirm for everyone. I am guessing, that the output is there in the inner rear lights, but it is just at 0% duty cycle in PWM.
Code:
REM > 3062 > MAPPING_TAGAHRL_H_L_OUTPUT = sl_l
REM > 3062 > MAPPING_TAGAHRL_H_R_OUTPUT = sl_r
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_OUTPUT = sl_2_l
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_OUTPUT = sl_2_r
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_PWM_LEVEL_1 = werte=64
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_PWM_LEVEL_1 = werte=64
May be this is already general knowledge here, but I just confirmed. After coding these settings, I was able to get all 4 rear pipe lights ON during DRL.

Thanks Frogman for the suggestion
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 05:14 AM   #3510
npgatech
Private First Class
npgatech's Avatar
7
Rep
169
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
All the experts:

Will enable this setting enabling a brighter "angel eye" ring when headlight is on?
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiegu View Post
Alright.
I'll guve it a go.
BTW, the translation of "Rammelt Angela" into English was bit nasty -
Found this comedy gold while browsing the thread.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 08:11 AM   #3511
also1412
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
PM sent.
Hi Shawn,

Sorry will have to ask for a favour from you again - one of my friends is having a Chinese F10, built in 2013 and is having some small issues with the memory of aircon. He said that the settings of his aircon won't be saved after power off and restart the car.

He did some coding by changing the FDL settings under IHKA, item OFF_MEMORY to aktiv, which, supposingly should solve the problem but apparently no, at least not for the F10 built in 2013.

As I understand you are a F10 owner, do you by any chance have any suggestion on this? Many thanks in advanced, much appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 09:11 AM   #3512
shawnsheridan
Lieutenant General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
1536
Rep
14,399
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by also1412 View Post
Hi Shawn,

Sorry will have to ask for a favour from you again - one of my friends is having a Chinese F10, built in 2013 and is having some small issues with the memory of aircon. He said that the settings of his aircon won't be saved after power off and restart the car.

He did some coding by changing the FDL settings under IHKA, item OFF_MEMORY to aktiv, which, supposingly should solve the problem but apparently no, at least not for the F10 built in 2013.

As I understand you are a F10 owner, do you by any chance have any suggestion on this? Many thanks in advanced, much appreciated.
I have not coded IHKA on my car, but OFF_MEMORY=aktiv only makes it so that if the AC is turned off when the car is turned off, on restart it will still be off. The default behavior is that on every restart, the AC comes on no matter what.

I think he should try coding MEMORY_UMLUFT=aktiv, which is "Always Remember Air Recirculating", and see if that works.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 09:17 AM   #3513
also1412
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I have not coded IHKA on my car, but OFF_MEMORY=aktiv only makes it so that if the AC is turned off when the car is turned off, on restart it will still be off. The default behavior is that on every restart, the AC comes on no matter what.

I think he should try coding MEMORY_UMLUFT=aktiv, which is "Always Remember Air Recirculating", and see if that works.
Thanks mate for the speedy response - will give it a spin.

It is nice to have you around here
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 09:27 AM   #3514
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
United_States
28
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: 2014 328i; 2015 X3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Shawn- my F30 build date is Dec 2011 (MY2012). I started coding this past October and have been using the software versions from October. Any reason I would need the newer versions (only if dealer upgrades me, etc.)? Can you pm me a link? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 09:39 AM   #3515
shawnsheridan
Lieutenant General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
1536
Rep
14,399
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
Shawn- my F30 build date is Dec 2011 (MY2012). I started coding this past October and have been using the software versions from October. Any reason I would need the newer versions (only if dealer upgrades me, etc.)? Can you pm me a link? Thanks.
There is no reason unless your car has newer ISTA/P on it, and what you have no longer works.

If you want the latest, which requires E-Sys 3.22.5, and you currently have E-Sys 3.18.4, then you are going to have to also buy a new patch / token for E-Sys 3.22.5, which you may not want to do if you do not have to. If you do though, send me a PM, and I will point you in the right direction.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 09:55 AM   #3516
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
1,128
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
So anyone know how to disable fog lights completely? from illuminating when reversing and turning?
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 10:13 AM   #3517
nidfix
New Member
0
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: M135i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kromix View Post
There must be some trick we are missing????

I used some large head pliers to rip it out with lots of force, it's like wtf???
On the smaller side of the connector, there is a small area that comes out (see attachment) that allows to guide the plug. It may also be used to secure the connection, it matches a "T" shape on the car connector. Your concern is that depending on the way it is done on your cable, it may prevent easy extraction.
Taking into account that I don't need the cable to stay permanently on, I trimmed my cable that the "T" shape is no more stopped on exit (removing the plastic bond between that area and the rest of the connector did the job). It makes the connection less strong, but I never had any issue to remove my cables while it is enough for proper coding.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 10:46 AM   #3518
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
105
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by npgatech View Post
Code:
REM > 3062 > MAPPING_TAGAHRL_H_L_OUTPUT = sl_l
REM > 3062 > MAPPING_TAGAHRL_H_R_OUTPUT = sl_r
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_OUTPUT = sl_2_l
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_OUTPUT = sl_2_r
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_6_PWM_LEVEL_1 = werte=64
REM > 3063 > MAPPING_UNIVERSAL_7_PWM_LEVEL_1 = werte=64
May be this is already general knowledge here, but I just confirmed. After coding these settings, I was able to get all 4 rear pipe lights ON during DRL.

Thanks Frogman for the suggestion
Cool, thanks for experimenting! I'll add this to my coding sheet.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 11:12 AM   #3519
kromix
Major
kromix's Avatar
United_States
139
Rep
1,128
Posts

Drives: '16 340i AW MSport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 340i (F30)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Cool, thanks for experimenting! I'll add this to my coding sheet.
I just tried this, didn't work, only was able to get the outside ones on.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 01:16 PM   #3520
npgatech
Private First Class
npgatech's Avatar
7
Rep
169
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kromix View Post
I just tried this, didn't work, only was able to get the outside ones on.
It definitely worked for me. I am using Esys 3.22.5 & 49.3 pzsdata.

I also tried reverting these settings back to default values. No DRL tail lights. Then I enabled again to confirm. These definitely are the settings for my f30.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST