F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > iDrive 6
VIBE Motorsports
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-27-2017, 12:24 PM   #1
E91-Norway
Enlisted Member
E91-Norway's Avatar
Norway
16
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: 15 F36 420D GC MSport MPerf
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
iDrive 6

Today I tested the brand new X3, because my F36 was on yearly controll. The X3 was a nice drive, but I was mostly interested in the upgraded iDrive.
The new interface is pretty nice with tiles that is alive. But I was disapointed.

The nice tiles did not give me the information I like to see when driving.
In my 14' F36 with iDrive ver 4 I alway use the split screen displaying the Onboard and the Journey computer at the same time.

Can anyone please tell me I'm wrong?
Please confirm that I can have the same information on screen either in different tiles or as in split screen!
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2017, 05:33 PM   #2
jeffc83
Lieutenant Colonel
633
Rep
1,519
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i XDrive Luxury Line
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Philly Burbs, PA

iTrader: (0)

Sub'd (would like to know the answer to this as well)

I sure hope they didn't remove the split-screen option!
__________________
Originally Posted by jmg

That seat was meant to be used, are you going to deny it's purpose in life?
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2017, 07:47 PM   #3
Encanto
Captain
Encanto's Avatar
321
Rep
817
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Select Map and you will see the split screen. You can customize the Tiles layout as well.

You should go back and try again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by E91-Norway View Post
Today I tested the brand new X3, because my F36 was on yearly controll. The X3 was a nice drive, but I was mostly interested in the upgraded iDrive.
The new interface is pretty nice with tiles that is alive. But I was disapointed.

The nice tiles did not give me the information I like to see when driving.
In my 14' F36 with iDrive ver 4 I alway use the split screen displaying the Onboard and the Journey computer at the same time.

Can anyone please tell me I'm wrong?
Please confirm that I can have the same information on screen either in different tiles or as in split screen!
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2017, 05:41 AM   #4
E91-Norway
Enlisted Member
E91-Norway's Avatar
Norway
16
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: 15 F36 420D GC MSport MPerf
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Encanto View Post
Select Map and you will see the split screen. You can customize the Tiles layout as well.

You should go back and try again.
As far as I understood you can only have one tile with "My Car" and select between three options in that tile. If I can have two "My Car" tiles with on-board and journey it will be perfect, but I'm afraid not.

Yes, you can select Map in split screen. But that was not what I asked for. Most of the time I drive on roads I know very well and dont need to be told where to turn
But for sure, If I can select Map and 2x My Car with computer data as front tiles, that will be just perfect..... Buuuuuut, is it so?

I have been watching several YouTubes, but no ones covers individual set ups. Only moving the tiles to the left to the right and back again

BTW, I asked the BMW product specialist at the store.....but there is a reason why I ask you guys
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2017, 08:37 AM   #5
Encanto
Captain
Encanto's Avatar
321
Rep
817
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

What you used to do with the iDrive 4.x displays are still present with iDrive 5 and 6. The major change is the horizontal tile layout as the main menu instead of a vertical list of entries.

It seems to me that you want the main menu to display split screen when it already is displaying 3 tiles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by E91-Norway View Post
As far as I understood you can only have one tile with "My Car" and select between three options in that tile. If I can have two "My Car" tiles with on-board and journey it will be perfect, but I'm afraid not.

Yes, you can select Map in split screen. But that was not what I asked for. Most of the time I drive on roads I know very well and dont need to be told where to turn
But for sure, If I can select Map and 2x My Car with computer data as front tiles, that will be just perfect..... Buuuuuut, is it so?

I have been watching several YouTubes, but no ones covers individual set ups. Only moving the tiles to the left to the right and back again

BTW, I asked the BMW product specialist at the store.....but there is a reason why I ask you guys
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2017, 12:06 PM   #6
E91-Norway
Enlisted Member
E91-Norway's Avatar
Norway
16
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: 15 F36 420D GC MSport MPerf
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Encanto View Post
What you used to do with the iDrive 4.x displays are still present with iDrive 5 and 6. The major change is the horizontal tile layout as the main menu instead of a vertical list of entries.

It seems to me that you want the main menu to display split screen when it already is displaying 3 tiles.
OK, if 5 and 6 can display the computer info in split screen as in iDrive 4 its perfect. I just could'n find the way. But thats my problem.

No, I dont need the main menu to display split screen. It will be very good if I can have two tiles showing computer infos and the third showing whatever...
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2017, 12:19 PM   #7
Encanto
Captain
Encanto's Avatar
321
Rep
817
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E91-Norway View Post
OK, if 5 and 6 can display the computer info in split screen as in iDrive 4 its perfect. I just could'n find the way. But thats my problem.

No, I dont need the main menu to display split screen. It will be very good if I can have two tiles showing computer infos and the third showing whatever...
You can change the tiles displays.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2017, 12:40 PM   #8
E91-Norway
Enlisted Member
E91-Norway's Avatar
Norway
16
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: 15 F36 420D GC MSport MPerf
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Encanto View Post
You can change the tiles displays.
Yes, you can change the display within a tile.
But can you change type of tiles in the main menu?
I want to know if you can have two "My car" (with different computer info) together with the "Map" tile. That's all I want for Christmas
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
id6, idrive, idrive 6, idrive update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST