F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Total noob AT question
Studio RSR

03-04-2015, 03:31 PM   #1
tcm3
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: F30 335i

Total noob AT question

Is there a way to put 8 speed AT on an F30 M sport 335i into "manual mode?"
I know you can use the paddle shifters, but does the AT override and shift if you take it up near redline?

I guess what I'm asking is: can you get a significant MT feel from the paddle shifters of the AT?

All my BMWs in the past have had MT. I'm compromising since I will be using it as a daily driver and not tracking the car (like I did all my others). It would be good if I could open it up on a back road and feel like I am actually controlling the transmission.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 03:32 PM   #2
Mike_L
Banned
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 335xi GT M-Sport MPPK

Slap the shifter to the left and its full manual control with the paddles or shifter.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 03:35 PM   #3
vitchie
Private
Rep
Drives: 2013 F30 328i

Garage List
If you put the car in manual in Sport+ mode it will bounce on the limiter and not upshift for you.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 03:35 PM   #4
ft1330
Major
Rep
Drives: 2014 335i

If you move the AT to the left it will be in manual mode, and it will let you shift with the lever or paddles (and not intervene). As far as getting the feel of manual with this? No, I find that 8 gears is way too much for manual shifting, and without the clutch you don't get the same feel. I decided to go to AT because of the comfort, and the fact it's a very good auto. There is no right or wrong decision. I'm just happy with the AT.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 03:35 PM   #5
tcm3
Private First Class
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L View Post