F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Any way to "upgrade" iDrive?
proTUNING Freaks

05-13-2015, 11:06 AM   #1
QuikSilver_
Captain
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2016 F36 M Sport

Garage List
Any way to "upgrade" iDrive?

Hey guys, newbie here on Bimmerpost...

I'm aware that you can update the iDrive software in your BMW via a USB flash drive, but was wondering if there's any way to actually upgrade the iDrive to a newer version.

I'll explain: I have a 2014 F30 320i, without navigation. I took my car in for an oil change the other day and got a loaner car, which was a 2015 F30 320i, without navigation. Pretty much the same options, just a different color interior and no sunroof... But I noticed the interface of the iDrive in the loaner car was slightly different than mine. The layout and menus were the same, but the way the screens switched was a little more animated, and it was a little smoother-running than the iDrive in my car.

The changes were very subtle, but enough to make me want it! Lol. Anyone know if it would be possible to upgrade my version to that version? I'm assuming I'd probably have to find somewhere/someone to download the software from and then do some coding...

Any info would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Attached Images

Appreciate 1
      05-13-2015, 11:14 AM   #2
jondaman
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 328i

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpjustinn View Post

I'm aware that you can update the iDrive software in your BMW via a USB flash drive, but was wondering if there's any way to actually upgrade the iDrive to a newer version.