F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > N55 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Jb4 12v wire tap...why?
ARMA SPEED

09-09-2014, 05:43 PM   #1
BMRGUY
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 335xi

Jb4 12v wire tap...why?

Does anyone know the technical reason why the jb4 needs a power tap and the stage 1 does not? I'm an engineer thus my inquisitive side is coming out.

It seems to me this little requirement is what tends to sway people away from the jb4 to stage 1... I am one if those who don't want ANY physical installation trace.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2014, 06:53 PM   #2
rickinaz
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: BMW 435i

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMRGUY View Post
Does anyone know the technical reason why the jb4 needs a power tap and the stage 1 does not? I'm an engineer thus my inquisitive side is coming out.

It seems to me this little requirement is what tends to sway people away from the jb4 to stage 1... I am one if those who don't want ANY physical installation trace.
From what I've gleaned from this forum, whether you leave a physical trace or not, the diagnostic system will leave electronic bread crumbs for BMW to find if they look.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2014, 07:48 PM   #3
jair_onsa
jairon2
Rep
Drives: vt1-445 z4 MC- 14 335i M Sport

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickinaz View Post
From what I've gleaned from this forum, whether you leave a physical trace or not, the diagnostic system will leave electronic bread crumbs for BMW to find if they look.
As far as I know, that hasn't happened to anybody yet. It will be easier to find a split wire than to look and prove you had a tune installed at some point.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2014, 08:22 PM   #4
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 m4