F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > 2016 428i Gran Coupé Remote Start
Studio RSR

09-02-2017, 07:10 AM   #1
Bart_Man
Enlisted Member
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2016 428xi Gran Coupé

2016 428i Gran Coupé Remote Start

Hey guys!

Been reading a lot of posts about remote start and idling not being okay in Germany and so forth, but anyway, I live in Canada and I want one, I don't care what it costs, and I need to be able to start my car with an iPhone app.

Here in Calgary it can get bitter cold. I work at the airport, and I have to walk 15 minutes to the parking lot where my car is, in easily -20°C with a good wind (it's Calgary), and my car is out of range of even the furthest reaching FOB when I leave work (I'm a pilot and I want to be able to start my car as soon as I get out of my airplane and into the terminal and take my phone out of airplane mode).

Several other employees have had frost bite in their fingers from walking to the parking lot and cleaning the snow off their cars, and that's with gloves and scarf and toque and everything you'd expect a prepared person to wear in those conditions. I've had it happen too, and I can take the pain during the drive home, but it just shouldn't have to be a regular part of leaving work, it's a little absurd. Also it's not that safe driving with a thumb that feels like it's soaking in dry ice, it's distracting.

Does anyone have a remote start installed in their 2016 or later Beamer and if so, which brand is it and are you happy with it? How much did it cost and does it come with a reliable iPhone app, how long does it idle before it shuts off again, and where did you get it installed?

Thanks,
BartMan
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2017, 10:38 AM   #2
xlover
Colonel
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2023 X7 40i