F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Cosmetic Maintenance: Wash, Wax, Detailing, Repairs > Polish and Sealant/Wax Question
GetBMWParts

03-13-2015, 11:59 PM   #1
JP1200
Rep
Drives: 2012 328

Polish and Sealant/Wax Question

Hey everyone. Last weekend I purchased my first BMW, a CPO 328 in melbourne red. Overall the car is in great shape, but the paint is pretty trashed (at least by my standards). Obviously I dont how it was taken care of by the previous owner, but the swirls and RIDS make think they were drying it with old blue jeans or somthing. I am by no means a professional, but on my previous rides I have always done my own corrections with either a PC or GG6. I was out of the detailing game for a little bit but want to get back in. My question is this, how soft or hard is the clear on these things. And to that end, what polishes have yall found to work best. I was thinking of trying out some of the Wolfgang stuff where I was previously using a bunch of Menz on my GTI. Any opinions?

Thanks for the help.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2015, 05:58 PM   #2
sirhawes
Private First Class
Canada
Rep
Drives: '12 328i Imperial Blue

From what I've read it's a very hard clear coat so you will need a very cut polish
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2015, 06:13 AM   #3
OdinAutoDetailing
Glorified Car Washer
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2014 328i

Test spot! Only way to know.

As far as I know, at least some of the Wolfgang stuff is in fact relabeled Menz.

Meg's (M100, M101, M105), Scholl S2/S3 XXL/S3 Gold, Shine Supply Flat Top/Classic Cut, 3D/HD, Menz... There's a list to start on compounds most of the detailers I know use.

Feel free to check out and "Like" my Facebook business page.
facebook.com/odindetail
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2015, 08:19 AM   #4
smithf80
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: G80 M3 6MT

Garage List