F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Cool feature, find something, learn anything?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-14-2018, 08:51 AM   #1607
dberry08
Private
dberry08's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M Sport BSM
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
If it did how would you leave the car unlocked when you wanted to?
Related to the first reply, I always have my radio on, and only push the start button once to stop the car, which leaves the radio on. Walking away from the car hearing the radio reminds me to lock the car, which turns the radio off.
My MDX will auto lock after 30 seconds, nice piece of mind.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2018, 08:45 PM   #1608
tex2670
Colonel
tex2670's Avatar
United_States
1127
Rep
2,326
Posts

Drives: '14 328xi Sport Line
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dberry08 View Post
My MDX will auto lock after 30 seconds, nice piece of mind.
After you turn the car off and walk away? I would hate that. All the time, I'm in my home's garage and I need something out of the car. If I had to remember to bring my key out to the garage, or unlock the car from in the house, I'd be annoyed. That's why I park my car in the garage. If it's a setting you can toggle on/off, fine.
__________________

2014 328i xDrive | Black Sapphire / Black Red Dakota | Sport Line | Premium Pkg | Lighting Pkg | Cold Weather Pkg | Driver Assistance | Nav | Sport Automatic Transmission
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2018, 07:27 AM   #1609
JLStock
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 428i XDrive
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Edinboro PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Was trying to save the HP and Torque display
Quote:
Originally Posted by kern417 View Post
what sports settings are you referring to? a lot of options/check boxes can't be saved to a shortcut.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2018, 07:43 AM   #1610
Araemo
First Lieutenant
130
Rep
383
Posts

Drives: 2017 340iX 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NE Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLStock View Post
Was trying to save the HP and Torque display
I have that saved to a button. When you go through the menus, before you press down on the dial to select it, but when you have it highlighted, that's when you press and hold the # button to save it. Not while it's already being displayed (at that point, you haven't highlighted any options with the cursor (since there are none on that screen), so there is nothing to save).
Appreciate 2
kern417481.50
tex26701126.50

      03-15-2018, 07:55 AM   #1611
kern417
Major
United_States
482
Rep
1,118
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Araemo View Post
I have that saved to a button. When you go through the menus, before you press down on the dial to select it, but when you have it highlighted, that's when you press and hold the # button to save it. Not while it's already being displayed (at that point, you haven't highlighted any options with the cursor (since there are none on that screen), so there is nothing to save).
I was also going to mention that after you select sport mode and it comes up with the sport display option, don't do it from there. navigate to it in vehicle settings. When the BMW genius was showing me my car at delivery, he had one of the buttons set up for Sport display.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by umizoomi View Post
As long as 3-pedals are an option, I will exercise my right to suffer the handicap and indignity of slower shifts and reaction times.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2018, 04:07 AM   #1612
eluded
2JZ-GTE
eluded's Avatar
Bulgaria
982
Rep
2,131
Posts

Drives: 340 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sofia

iTrader: (0)

I learned that if you toggle the mirror adjustment and set it so that it's not set for the right or left hand mirror but stuck in the middle… that When you put the car in reverse the mirrors will not move.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2018, 04:27 AM   #1613
RAK92
Private First Class
United_States
61
Rep
167
Posts

Drives: 2016 435i Coupe M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eluded View Post
I learned that if you toggle the mirror adjustment and set it so that it's not set for the right or left hand mirror but stuck in the middle… that When you put the car in reverse the mirrors will not move.
If you toggle the switch to the passenger side, it will also remain deactivated. The curb monitor feature is only activated when the switch is slid to the driver’s side.
Appreciate 1
eluded982.00

      03-16-2018, 08:07 AM   #1614
kern417
Major
United_States
482
Rep
1,118
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eluded View Post
I learned that if you toggle the mirror adjustment and set it so that it's not set for the right or left hand mirror but stuck in the middle… that When you put the car in reverse the mirrors will not move.
Your mirror adjustment has a middle????? That's a cool feature in itself.

As much as it doesn't matter, it still annoys my OCD that it can only be to the left or right on my car.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by umizoomi View Post
As long as 3-pedals are an option, I will exercise my right to suffer the handicap and indignity of slower shifts and reaction times.
Appreciate 2
tex26701126.50
vp44.50

      03-16-2018, 08:16 PM   #1615
Wires
Lieutenant Colonel
236
Rep
1,621
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tex2670 View Post
After you turn the car off and walk away? I would hate that. All the time, I'm in my home's garage and I need something out of the car. If I had to remember to bring my key out to the garage, or unlock the car from in the house, I'd be annoyed. That's why I park my car in the garage. If it's a setting you can toggle on/off, fine.
Keep in mind it takes a rookie about 30 seconds to pop the release, and manually lift up your garage door. They just pull the manually release, and you can lift the door with zero effort.

Just keep that in mind if you store anything of valuable in your car, or if you leave the man door to your garage unlocked.
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2018, 05:50 PM   #1616
Somebloke
Private
20
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLStock View Post
Was trying to save the HP and Torque display
Why take your hand off the steering wheel and "waste" a preset button? You can display it by pressing the voice command button and say "Sports Display".
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2018, 06:10 PM   #1617
tex2670
Colonel
tex2670's Avatar
United_States
1127
Rep
2,326
Posts

Drives: '14 328xi Sport Line
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wires View Post
Keep in mind it takes a rookie about 30 seconds to pop the release, and manually lift up your garage door. They just pull the manually release, and you can lift the door with zero effort.

Just keep that in mind if you store anything of valuable in your car, or if you leave the man door to your garage unlocked.
I don't have an external lock or manual release on my garage door. And an electric garage door opener. So they'd have to break the window at the top of my garage door, directly below my bedroom, then reach in and release the door opener track, then get in the garage and pry open the locked door to the house, then find my keys, then go back out to the garage and take the car. In a neighborhood where tons of people park in the driveway, and probably have their garage door openers in the car (this actually happened in my town last week--an unlocked car in the driveway), so thieves could chose another path with less effort and resistance.

And regardless--I'm fully capable of hitting "LOCK" on my fob if I'm worried about someone breaking into my garage and stealing my car. I don't need the car protecting me from my self by auto locking every time I leave the car--unless there is a setting that I choose to have it do that.

But I appreciate you looking out for me.
__________________

2014 328i xDrive | Black Sapphire / Black Red Dakota | Sport Line | Premium Pkg | Lighting Pkg | Cold Weather Pkg | Driver Assistance | Nav | Sport Automatic Transmission
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2018, 10:21 AM   #1618
superjonesy
New Member
6
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: F31
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: East Mids

iTrader: (0)

I've just realised my screen doubles up as a touch screen?! This may have been posted, I couldn't read all 74 pages!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST