E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > just had SSK installed on 08 335i

07-15-2009, 01:29 AM   #1
veniculum
Rep
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan

just had SSK installed on 08 335i

Hey guys. What a day. I went to the dealer to have my short shift kit installed on my 08 335i.
So I sat there for 2 hours when the writer walks up to me and says, they're having a problem installing it, and that if it's going to take much longer, they'll throw me in a loaner and continue to work on it. 15 minutes later he comes out and says that they give up. They're going to put the stocker (with a lowered shift knob). What could I do..I'm not a mechanic (by any stretch), and couldn't argue with them. What could I say. I did mention this site and all the folks who had installed them. So 15 more minutes go by and they ask me to wait a little longer. They think they figured out the problem and should have the car done shortly.

Well, I finally got the car back, pulled out of the dealer lot, and immediately noticed a difference in the shifts. They're tighter, but more direct, and definitely quicker. I LOVE this thing. Only one problem....

My wife took the car out later today just for a short trip to the store and when she got home, she's telling me there's a strange exhaust noise. I told her she was nuts and that she just likes to complain no matter what .