F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Disappointed in sound system/2015 BMW 328i xDrive Sedan
Extreme Powerhouse

12-01-2016, 01:19 PM   #1
NewOwner
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMW 328i xDrive Sedan

Disappointed in sound system/2015 BMW 328i xDrive Sedan

I am new to BMW ownership and to this forum so please forgive any blunders and if you are kind enough to answer me, if you could go easy on the tech terms, I'd appreciate it. Here's the deal: I've been driving a 2006 Pontiac with a Monsoon sound system and LOVE IT. My husband wanted me in a BMW and everything about the car was appealing to me, I figured a luxury car like this would have a great sound system. The clarity is lacking and I can't get any answers from the dealership. The only time I learned anything was from a local stereo guy who explained the noise cancellation concept to me, had me turn the bass and treble way down, but it's still not good. He said trying to upgrade would create addl problems and not help w the problems I'm describing. My sound is EXTREMELY important to me. I am open to any advice or even a "you're right" post. I think the husband thinks I'm making a big deal over nothing but he doesn't listen to music like I do.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2016, 01:28 PM   #2
sygazelle
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2014 328i M-Sport, 2019 X5 40i

First of all, welcome!

You are right and you're not being too picky.

The stock sound is not very good. BMW offers Harman Kardon as an option and it is much better. Since you already have your car, the Harman Kardon option is probably off the table. I don't think it can be added after the fact, at least in a cost-efficient way. There are some pretty serious audiophiles on this forum who will likely respond and give you some good advice on aftermarket options.