F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > First Crack at Coding, all worked except 1 thing
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-23-2014, 10:23 PM   #1
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
173
Rep
435
Posts

Drives: 2015 m4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: pottstown pa

iTrader: (1)

First Crack at Coding, all worked except 1 thing

So I took my first crack at coding thanks to all of the great write ups on here.

I was able to disable my idrive and camera disclaimer and put the mlogo on the cluster. I also enabled video in motion but honestly I haven't tried that yet. one issue I did have problems with is the amber hud. I tried to make it white all of the time with the following:

KOMBI 3007 DIM_NACHT_EIN Aktiv Aktiv 32 FF

if I change that value from 32 to FF, when I come back in Aktiv is now unknown, it seems you cannot set it to FF and have it still say Aktiv. I also tried changing it to the nonactive german equivalent that didn't work either. it still shows up amber in the hud.

I have a 2014 435i maybe its not supported for some odd reason? or is there something else I need to change?
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 12:20 AM   #2
radair
Private
radair's Avatar
21
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: G26 i4 M50
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Probably the range goes from 0 to 100%.
You tried FF Hex which means 255 B. This is not possible.

Try 64 Hex which means 100%

Greetings
Radair
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 09:57 AM   #3
Halsifer
Captain
Halsifer's Avatar
United_States
251
Rep
640
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi RS7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

If it's coded as unknown, that's fine. This feature is to have it so the instrument cluster staying day-mode during the night, correct? I assume if it's unknown, it will not be aktiv, achieving the fact that it will not transition, which is the whole point of the code.
__________________
2018 Audi RS7 4.0T
2006 BMW e46 330Ci Convertible ZHP
2010 Audi S5 4.2L [Sold]
2014 BMW 335i xDrive M-Sport [Sold]
2010 Audi A6 3.0T [Sold]
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 10:07 AM   #4
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
173
Rep
435
Posts

Drives: 2015 m4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: pottstown pa

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halsifer View Post
If it's coded as unknown, that's fine. This feature is to have it so the instrument cluster staying day-mode during the night, correct? I assume if it's unknown, it will not be aktiv, achieving the fact that it will not transition, which is the whole point of the code.
maybe but it is not achieving any result at all, it is operating as if I didn't code it. I will try the suggestion of setting it to 64 but that is not what the guide states. I am thinking there is possibly something different for the f32. I believe the default value is 8a instead of what the guide states so there are some differences.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 09:27 PM   #5
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
10487
Rep
40,944
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halsifer View Post
If it's coded as unknown, that's fine. This feature is to have it so the instrument cluster staying day-mode during the night, correct? I assume if it's unknown, it will not be aktiv, achieving the fact that it will not transition, which is the whole point of the code.
No. The predefined Dropdown box settings and the Werte values are a matched set. So when you change the Dropdown box setting, the Werte value automatically changes with it.

So for example, if you change a Dropdown box settings from nicht_aktiv to aktiv, the Werte value automatically changes from Werte=00 to Werte=01.

That said, it's the Werte value only that matters. However, since hexadecimal values are hardly descriptive, the Dropdown box settings serve to provide a more descriptive way of representing what the Werte value's mean, and to ease changing them.

So, when you change a Werte Value directly to a custom value, the predefined Dropdown box setting, which does not have a match for the custom value, displays "Unknown". The custom Werte value though is most certainly active so long as it is a valid value.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 10:06 PM   #6
Halsifer
Captain
Halsifer's Avatar
United_States
251
Rep
640
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi RS7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No. The predefined Dropdown box settings and the Werte values are a matched set. So when you change the Dropdown box setting, the Werte value automatically changes with it.

So for example, if you change a Dropdown box settings from nicht_aktiv to aktiv, the Werte value automatically changes from Werte=00 to Werte=01.

That said, it's the Werte value only that matters. However, since hexadecimal values are hardly descriptive, the Dropdown box settings serve to provide a more descriptive way of representing what the Werte value's mean, and to ease changing them.

So, when you change a Werte Value directly to a custom value, the predefined Dropdown box setting, which does not have a match for the custom value, displays "Unknown". The custom Werte value though is most certainly active so long as it is a valid value.
Right, I understood the tie between the dropdown menu and the werte value, and how they change dependent on the each other's value. I guess I don't quite understand the meaning of Unknown.

I assume the value range of this code DIM_NACHT_EIN was from 0 to 100 dec (00 to 64 hex) based off what radair pointed out. Say I chose 63 hex (99 dec). Even though it would be labeled as UNKNOWN, that would still correspond to aktiv, just at a custom value so there's no predefined label in the dropdown. We are on the same page about this, yes?

However, I also assumed the if value was set to FF hex (255 dec), this would lead to nicht_aktiv since it's out of range. That's the only reason I thought it UNKNOWN would correspond to nicht_aktiv, as I posted above. Is this true or am I mistaken?

An extension question, are you even able to FDL code values out of range?
__________________
2018 Audi RS7 4.0T
2006 BMW e46 330Ci Convertible ZHP
2010 Audi S5 4.2L [Sold]
2014 BMW 335i xDrive M-Sport [Sold]
2010 Audi A6 3.0T [Sold]
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 11:26 PM   #7
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
10487
Rep
40,944
Posts

Drives: 2018 Alpina B6 650ix GC
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I do not know the valid range of DIM_NACHT_EIN. But generally speaking, I think it all depends on the specific function being coded, and that some items, even those expressed as a percent, can have valid values greater than 100%, and FF could very well be 255% of nominal, particularly when the werte value corresponds to an underlying variable such as voltage, so 3 volts nominal at 255% would be 7.65 volts, or time, so 3 ms nominal would be 7.65 ms. So in these cases, 255 would not be out of range, rather it's just the upper limit.
__________________

2018 F06 Alpina B6 650ix GC; Space Grey; Vermillion Red Nappa Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant
2017 F15 X5 xDrive50i MSport; Glacier Silver Metallic; Black Dakota Leather; Executive; B&O; Driving Assistant; RSE
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2014, 05:13 AM   #8
G30 B58
Pace Car Driver
1551
Rep
3,165
Posts

Drives: '22 AW G30 B58 M-Sport
Join Date: May 2014
Location: my garage in PA

iTrader: (0)

cryptz, when you're ready, you can code mine after redelivery?

Allentown area here.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2014, 08:17 AM   #9
cryptz
Lieutenant
United_States
173
Rep
435
Posts

Drives: 2015 m4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: pottstown pa

iTrader: (1)

does anyone have specific experience with this value though? i appreciate all of the input about what the ranges could be but this particular value has already been listed on everyone's cheat sheets. it just seems that the sheets are wrong which leads me to believe it is different for the f32. it may not even be a codable option on this car..
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2014, 12:50 PM   #10
Halsifer
Captain
Halsifer's Avatar
United_States
251
Rep
640
Posts

Drives: 2018 Audi RS7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I do not know the valid range of DIM_NACHT_EIN. But generally speaking, I think it all depends on the specific function being coded, and that some items, even those expressed as a percent, can have valid values greater than 100%, and FF could very well be 255% of nominal, particularly when the werte value corresponds to an underlying variable such as voltage, so 3 volts nominal at 255% would be 7.65 volts, or time, so 3 ms nominal would be 7.65 ms. So in these cases, 255 would not be out of range, rather it's just the upper limit.
Sweet, thank you for the clarification.
__________________
2018 Audi RS7 4.0T
2006 BMW e46 330Ci Convertible ZHP
2010 Audi S5 4.2L [Sold]
2014 BMW 335i xDrive M-Sport [Sold]
2010 Audi A6 3.0T [Sold]
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST