F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > [90% complete] [USB AND STEREO BT WORKING!] DIY HU_NBT Retrofit
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-24-2017, 11:42 AM   #1475
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
162
Rep
1,505
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Whatever you do, DO NOT connect that head unit to the car without an emulator otherwise you will end up with a bricked head unit.

If you already did and it says "No Signal" on the screen, it will be very difficult to get it out of lock down mode. It's happened on ours a few times and in some cases, it will be irreversible.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(416)833-4921 (9:00am - 7:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
Competitive pricing on Enhanced Bluetooth, Sirius XM, Backup Cameras as well as NBT and NBT EVO Retrofits
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2017, 09:30 PM   #1476
rkspeck33
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: 2014 428xi - F32
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

Can any tell me he part number for the Screen connector wire to the box? Usually a purple/pink color on the units, but sometimes the wire connectors come in green. The two top pins broke, and now I cannot get power/info to the screen. Need a new wire and not 100% sure what to buy.
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2017, 04:49 PM   #1477
OleX
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: Z3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

I am also planning to change the Champ2 Navi Business to a NBT EVO on my 2013 F31.
Unfortunately I have a combox, so what I understood from all These threads on here, this will be some wiring work needed. There are just emergency call and teleservice, no CD Services, so I think this will be OK.

I plan to go for a FSC set.

What I am struggeling with is the correct Hardware. I really want to have the new ID5/ID6. Since I don't have a TCB or ATM I will Need a head unit with internal GPS correct? Is the ATM or an emulator needed even if I use Hardware with internal GPS?

I have seen HW2.3 B140 with GPS and HW3.1 from G30/G11 with GPS. What will be the best one for me? Perfect would be Hardware with 4GB Ram.

Is HW2.3 also available with ID5, perhaps B240 versions?

Hope you could help me with this.

Regards, Sven
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2017, 12:25 PM   #1478
steve_jones
New Member
0
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320 Msport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nottingham

iTrader: (0)

Hi all quick question I considering doing the upgrade to NBT Nav,

I have Business Nav currently along with a Combox and HK Sound system

I understand I have to isolate out the combox and install new antenna for GPS and blutooth etc..

Does anything special need to happen to make the HK system work after the conversion either coding or remote activation wires for the amp ?

Many thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2017, 04:12 PM   #1479
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
162
Rep
1,505
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_jones View Post
Hi all quick question I considering doing the upgrade to NBT Nav,

I have Business Nav currently along with a Combox and HK Sound system

I understand I have to isolate out the combox and install new antenna for GPS and blutooth etc..

Does anything special need to happen to make the HK system work after the conversion either coding or remote activation wires for the amp ?

Many thanks

If the donor vehicle had stereo or Hi-Fi, you will need the NBT HU coded to use HK as the signal routing is different on these sound systems.

For Bluetooth and USB, you will need to reroute the existing cables and antennas from the combox back over to the HU. We usually provide new ones to our customers so there is no need to tear up the carpeting or removing your seats. You're also going to need to run a new mic cable directly to quad lock for the Bluetooth Phone and voice control to work. The combox will either need to be coded out or you can use a most loop closing ring to terminate the combox.

Also for HK, if you're using an emulator, don't forget to move the most optical cable from your existing quad lock connector over to the emulator otherwise there will be no sound.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(416)833-4921 (9:00am - 7:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
Competitive pricing on Enhanced Bluetooth, Sirius XM, Backup Cameras as well as NBT and NBT EVO Retrofits
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2017, 04:19 PM   #1480
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
162
Rep
1,505
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by OleX View Post
Hi,

I am also planning to change the Champ2 Navi Business to a NBT EVO on my 2013 F31.
Unfortunately I have a combox, so what I understood from all These threads on here, this will be some wiring work needed. There are just emergency call and teleservice, no CD Services, so I think this will be OK.

I plan to go for a FSC set.

What I am struggeling with is the correct Hardware. I really want to have the new ID5/ID6. Since I don't have a TCB or ATM I will Need a head unit with internal GPS correct? Is the ATM or an emulator needed even if I use Hardware with internal GPS?

I have seen HW2.3 B140 with GPS and HW3.1 from G30/G11 with GPS. What will be the best one for me? Perfect would be Hardware with 4GB Ram.

Is HW2.3 also available with ID5, perhaps B240 versions?

Hope you could help me with this.

Regards, Sven
Yes, my M235i is currently using a HW2.3 from a 2017 X3 28i salvage. Keep in mind that my vehicle already has ATM so there is no need a for a GPS receiver.

If you can get hold of the G30 unit with GPS I would say that's your best bet.

Please check my previous post in regards to the combox.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(416)833-4921 (9:00am - 7:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
Competitive pricing on Enhanced Bluetooth, Sirius XM, Backup Cameras as well as NBT and NBT EVO Retrofits
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2017, 07:23 PM   #1481
blackabass
New Member
United Kingdom
1
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: Estoril Blue 320d MSport
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackabass View Post
Hello, Bimmer Users.

I just got the NBT EVO HU from a BMW breaker. It was removed from a 2016 F30.

My F30 is late 2013 and has the business nav and I'll like to retrofit the NBT EVO HU on it

I managed fixed the 2016 idrive touch controller to my F30 but no touch just knob control.

MY QUESTION
  1. What part do I need to buy to complete the retrofit successfully without damaging any unit
  2. Must I use an emulator or can it be coded
  3. If coding is possible or required, can it be done remotely?
  4. Is there any one in West Midlands UK that can help with coding if it cannot be done remotely
  5. Is there any one in West Midlands UK that can help with fitting for an affordable amount if I cannot do this.

Pictures of my OLD unit + NBT EVO below.

My VIN is WBA3D32090J384786

Your response is appreciated.

Cheers.
All done with help of germaniks
http://www.germaniks.com/

My 2013 F30 is taking a new shape one step at a time. Next is to complete the reverse camera, adaptive LED, and 6WA Cluster ...
See pictures below.

I had to do the following
  1. New harness for the NBT HU
  2. Get an ATM Emulator
  3. An FM splitter for better DAB signal
  4. Rewire both mics to the new harness
  5. Write module for the iDrive touch controller
  6. Disable the combox in trunk
  7. Loop the fiber optic cable
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2017, 03:15 AM   #1482
steve_jones
New Member
0
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320 Msport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nottingham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackabass View Post
All done with help of germaniks
http://www.germaniks.com/

My 2013 F30 is taking a new shape one step at a time. Next is to complete the reverse camera, adaptive LED, and 6WA Cluster ...
See pictures below.

I had to do the following
  1. New harness for the NBT HU
  2. Get an ATM Emulator
  3. An FM splitter for better DAB signal
  4. Rewire both mics to the new harness
  5. Write module for the iDrive touch controller
  6. Disable the combox in trunk
  7. Loop the fiber optic cable

Great job I'm considering the same myself couple of questions

What emulator module did you use ?
Did you use the original mics or just run new ones ?
Is your com box totally disabled now ?
Did you use existing gps and Bluetooth or run new ones ?
What coding was required did you do it ?
Many thanks

Steve
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 05:18 AM   #1483
blackabass
New Member
United Kingdom
1
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: Estoril Blue 320d MSport
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: West Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_jones View Post
Great job I'm considering the same myself couple of questions

What emulator module did you use ?
Did you use the original mics or just run new ones ?
Is your com box totally disabled now ?
Did you use existing gps and Bluetooth or run new ones ?
What coding was required did you do it ?
Many thanks

Steve
Thanks Steve - see my response below.
  • The Emulator is called ATM emulator, it's the black box behind the HU in the pictures I uploaded. I can pm you the email of the contact I got it from.
  • I used original mic but I had to run new wires direct to my new HU and then connect it to both mics
  • Yes combox is completely disabled
  • ATM emulator is now the new GPS system and I connected a Bluetooth and WLAN adapter to the new HU unit
  • I did not bother with the coding so I don't screw things up, Germanics helped me with the coding, he is an expert in BMW retro and coding.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 01:35 PM   #1484
skyactiv0
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 428i
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackabass View Post
Thanks Steve - see my response below.
  • The Emulator is called ATM emulator, it's the black box behind the HU in the pictures I uploaded. I can pm you the email of the contact I got it from.
  • I used original mic but I had to run new wires direct to my new HU and then connect it to both mics
  • Yes combox is completely disabled
  • ATM emulator is now the new GPS system and I connected a Bluetooth and WLAN adapter to the new HU unit
  • I did not bother with the coding so I don't screw things up, Germanics helped me with the coding, he is an expert in BMW retro and coding.
Out of curiosity, what guide did you use to terminate the combox?
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 11:44 PM   #1485
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
162
Rep
1,505
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyactiv0 View Post
Out of curiosity, what guide did you use to terminate the combox?
You can either use a most loop adapter to close the loop after pulling the plug on the combox or you can keep the combox plugged in but disable BT and USB via coding.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(416)833-4921 (9:00am - 7:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
Competitive pricing on Enhanced Bluetooth, Sirius XM, Backup Cameras as well as NBT and NBT EVO Retrofits
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2017, 09:34 AM   #1486
skyactiv0
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 428i
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve@codemybimmer View Post
You can either use a most loop adapter to close the loop after pulling the plug on the combox or you can keep the combox plugged in but disable BT and USB via coding.
Thank you Steve, just the answer I was looking for!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST