F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Bimmercode -- Some Don't Work?
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-12-2017, 09:21 PM   #1
reyoasian
Private First Class
Canada
19
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: 340xi MPPSK
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Bimmercode -- Some Don't Work?

I got my Vgate WiFi OBD adapter today and downloaded Bimmercode.
I've done a few things but I noticed some don't work:

- M Laptimer
- M Sport Display (is this just the standard Sport Display the vehicle comes with?)
- M Performance start animation
- Display tire pressure and temperature

I have a 2017 340i xDrive MPPSK

Are the codes not working or simply because the car is not equipped for them to work?
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 09:45 PM   #2
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
689
Rep
5,207
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

M Sport Display switches amber to red/silver colors.
M Performance works on any vehicle with HU_NBT(2).
Tire Pressure & Temp works if you have 2VB as opposed to RDC.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 10:00 PM   #3
reyoasian
Private First Class
Canada
19
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: 340xi MPPSK
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
M Sport Display switches amber to red/silver colors.
M Performance works on any vehicle with HU_NBT(2).
Tire Pressure & Temp works if you have 2VB as opposed to RDC.
What do those mean (HU_NBT, 2VB)?

I have tire pressure in menu but it only shows green tires, but not the actual pressure
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 10:02 PM   #4
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
689
Rep
5,207
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reyoasian View Post
What do those mean (HU_NBT, 2VB)?

I have tire pressure in menu but it only shows green tires, but not the actual pressure
I you have Nav, then you have HU_NBT.

If you decode VIN and find 2VB, you will have metal stems which can measure pressure and temperature. If you have plastic, often found in Canada and other parts of the world, you have RDC which uses revolutions to estimate pressure and you will not get temperature.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 10:03 PM   #5
reyoasian
Private First Class
Canada
19
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: 340xi MPPSK
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
I you have Nav, then you have HU_NBT.

If you decode VIN and find 2VB, you will have metal stems which can measure pressure and temperature. If you have plastic, often found in Canada and other parts of the world, you have RDC which uses revolutions to estimate pressure and you will not get temperature.
Ohh, you mean actual TPMS vs ABS.
I have a feeling I have ABS, but will check again tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 10:08 PM   #6
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
689
Rep
5,207
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reyoasian View Post
Ohh, you mean actual TPMS vs ABS.
I have a feeling I have ABS, but will check again tomorrow.
Yes, different systems and valve stems.
  • rubber= FTMS/RPA
  • metal = TPMS/RDC
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2017, 01:44 PM   #7
CalCarNut
Colonel
CalCarNut's Avatar
United_States
617
Rep
2,905
Posts

Drives: 2015 F36 Jet Black Sport Line
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Blue Skies

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Downloaded the app....I have an OBDII wifi dongle but from I gather, you HAVE to use the Vgate icar model for the app to work? Also, is the purchase a requirement to do the coding? (guessing yes..nothing is free )...

thanks.
__________________
2015 BMW F36 428i JetBlack. Sport Line Edition
25% 3M Tint|-HD Tuning Stage 1 (formerly known as GSR Stage 1|
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2017, 02:04 PM   #8
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
689
Rep
5,207
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalCarNut View Post
Also, is the purchase a requirement to do the coding? (guessing yes..nothing is free )...

thanks.
Correct, you can download, but must purchase to actually code.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2017, 02:07 PM   #9
CalCarNut
Colonel
CalCarNut's Avatar
United_States
617
Rep
2,905
Posts

Drives: 2015 F36 Jet Black Sport Line
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Blue Skies

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thanks, Almaretto. I'm curious as to why you have to use the Vgate module. I use the one I have for OBD Fusion app...so I know it'll connect to the car...any ideas?
__________________
2015 BMW F36 428i JetBlack. Sport Line Edition
25% 3M Tint|-HD Tuning Stage 1 (formerly known as GSR Stage 1|
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2017, 02:23 PM   #10
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
689
Rep
5,207
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalCarNut View Post
Thanks, Almaretto. I'm curious as to why you have to use the Vgate module. I use the one I have for OBD Fusion app...so I know it'll connect to the car...any ideas?
No idea. I have never used any Bluetooth adapter. I have always coded and diagnosed with ENET or ICOM.

Did you try alternative adapter? For Vgate, I do know it must be the Wifi (not Bluetooth) version and icar2 or icar3.
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2017, 05:50 PM   #11
CalCarNut
Colonel
CalCarNut's Avatar
United_States
617
Rep
2,905
Posts

Drives: 2015 F36 Jet Black Sport Line
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Blue Skies

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
No idea. I have never used any Bluetooth adapter. I have always coded and diagnosed with ENET or ICOM.

Did you try alternative adapter? For Vgate, I do know it must be the Wifi (not Bluetooth) version and icar2 or icar3.
The one I have is Wi-fi...interesting..
__________________
2015 BMW F36 428i JetBlack. Sport Line Edition
25% 3M Tint|-HD Tuning Stage 1 (formerly known as GSR Stage 1|
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2017, 08:05 PM   #12
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
689
Rep
5,207
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalCarNut View Post
The one I have is Wi-fi...interesting..
And...any luck getting it to work?
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2017, 11:06 PM   #13
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
805
Rep
3,008
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalCarNut View Post
The one I have is Wi-fi...interesting..
Wi-fi is just another way of getting the car and computer to link up, just as you can use an ethernet cable to connect to most wi-fi modems.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2017, 01:18 PM   #14
CalCarNut
Colonel
CalCarNut's Avatar
United_States
617
Rep
2,905
Posts

Drives: 2015 F36 Jet Black Sport Line
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Blue Skies

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
Wi-fi is just another way of getting the car and computer to link up, just as you can use an ethernet cable to connect to most wi-fi modems.
I get that...point was the Vgate dongle is also wifi to connect to the bimmercode app. I couldntt get the one I do have to connect so I guess I'll have to buy the Vgate one. Curious as to the difference(s) between the two, that's all..
__________________
2015 BMW F36 428i JetBlack. Sport Line Edition
25% 3M Tint|-HD Tuning Stage 1 (formerly known as GSR Stage 1|
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2017, 01:18 PM   #15
CalCarNut
Colonel
CalCarNut's Avatar
United_States
617
Rep
2,905
Posts

Drives: 2015 F36 Jet Black Sport Line
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Blue Skies

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
And...any luck getting it to work?
Nope. I'll order up the Vgate one

thanks.
__________________
2015 BMW F36 428i JetBlack. Sport Line Edition
25% 3M Tint|-HD Tuning Stage 1 (formerly known as GSR Stage 1|
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2017, 09:31 AM   #16
reyoasian
Private First Class
Canada
19
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: 340xi MPPSK
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

I have the Vgate WiFi iCar2 and it works.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST