F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > M-Display in Kombi
Heel & Toe Apparel
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-25-2015, 07:04 PM   #23
Paolo73
New Member
Italy
1
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw M4 YMB
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pordenone/ITALY

iTrader: (0)

In Europe the Fxx series started to be unlock since beginning 2015.
The Diesel Fxx since last year.
My F33 Was unlocked by my local mechanic.
He is specialized in race cars.
First the ecu must be reached, open the case,remove tuning protection code and that's it.
From now on with OBDII only.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2015, 08:20 PM   #24
x5mad
Major
x5mad's Avatar
98
Rep
1,488
Posts

Drives: F30 340i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

This post made me wonder if someone changed out their kombi, drove for a while and then put old one back in when came time to sell, would the buyer know this has been done?

Ie would the car state less mileage than its actually done? How would one find out? Kinda worrying if this is being used to manipulate mileage. Not saying anyone here is but you never know with all the thousands of cars out there.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2015, 09:23 PM   #25
pikcachu
Brigadier General
pikcachu's Avatar
533
Rep
4,379
Posts

Drives: M235i (F22 Red angel)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: undisclosed

iTrader: (0)

the car probably won't be servicable by BMW with the different combi
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2015, 10:23 PM   #26
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
916
Rep
4,130
Posts

Drives: '14 F32 428 MSport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to smithf80
Quote:
Originally Posted by x5mad View Post
This post made me wonder if someone changed out their kombi, drove for a while and then put old one back in when came time to sell, would the buyer know this has been done?

Ie would the car state less mileage than its actually done? How would one find out? Kinda worrying if this is being used to manipulate mileage. Not saying anyone here is but you never know with all the thousands of cars out there.
Nah since the VIN would match on your original cluster it would just update to the current mileage with no tamper dot (since it is your actual, original, cluster)
__________________

2017 6MT F80 M3 - Mineral Grey over Sakhir - Executive & Lighting Packages, 19" Wheels
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2015, 11:01 PM   #27
Catania830
BMW Client Advisor
Catania830's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: i8
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

That red dot would annoy me... I don't know, the M-kombi makes a lot of sense if you unlock the ecu otherwise I would just want to code the kombi to have the M like display with the huge speedometer and what gear your in. I have a manual so that would be ideal for me
__________________
2016 i8 Tera World
2015 F82 M4 475/LKDA[Sold]
2014 F32 435i 300/KCSW [Sold]
2012 F30 328i A96/LCL3 Sport Line[Sold]
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 04:16 AM   #28
franzzz
Captain
franzzz's Avatar
Italy
52
Rep
790
Posts

Drives: 335i ActiveHybrid
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ITALY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
And this is the M Hud...
http://i.imgur.com/KpAk8pg.jpg

It's used kombi,the red dot will disappear once My Vin will replace the former One.
It takes to clear the eprom inside the cluster.
The kombi costs 499 euros.
I have to Thanks @Franzzz for helping me coding the Kombi.
Some little issues will be fixed soon.
My 435 with MPPK had the Ecu unlocked last month..now is nearly 400hp with no speed limiter..and is very fast and with this M Kombi I can clear watch the speed.
http://i.imgur.com/IUBpVHH.jpg
tnx

it's a good view the HUD M !!!!
__________________
BMW F30 Hybrid 370cv TMC - B40 - step8M S - Navi -Performance Brake - USB-DivX-DVD-TV - Btooth - VoiceControl - Connect - App - Online - TrafficInfo - SpLimInfo - VenetoBeige - PDC - Cam - LedFog - Roof - Antitheft - Servotronic - AdaptiveM - GarageDoorOpen - K&N - Ragazzon Exhaust
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 04:27 AM   #29
juniortabak
Private First Class
juniortabak's Avatar
32
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
And this is the M Hud...
http://i.imgur.com/KpAk8pg.jpg

It's used kombi,the red dot will disappear once My Vin will replace the former One.
It takes to clear the eprom inside the cluster.
The kombi costs 499 euros.
I have to Thanks @Franzzz for helping me coding the Kombi.
Some little issues will be fixed soon.
My 435 with MPPK had the Ecu unlocked last month..now is nearly 400hp with no speed limiter..and is very fast and with this M Kombi I can clear watch the speed.
http://i.imgur.com/IUBpVHH.jpg

Very nice work!!!!!

i just order mine today.

the seller will changed the VIN to mine.

but you wrote something about opening the ECU could you please explain.

its not just replacing the VIN and install and coding?

Thanks for the help

Uri
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 06:54 AM   #30
Paolo73
New Member
Italy
1
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw M4 YMB
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pordenone/ITALY

iTrader: (0)

For the M Kombi you have to clear the former Vin with yours.
Install the New Kombi and then coding.
Remember to code the M view also in you have Hud.
Some little issue i am still facing, but it is matter of time..
You can choose the Bmw logo,M3 or M4.
Now opening the Ecu is for remapping the engine and adds more Hp.
This is the way we follow in Europe now for Fxx series.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 08:00 AM   #31
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
916
Rep
4,130
Posts

Drives: '14 F32 428 MSport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to smithf80
Quote:
Originally Posted by juniortabak View Post
Very nice work!!!!!

i just order mine today.

the seller will changed the VIN to mine.

but you wrote something about opening the ECU could you please explain.

its not just replacing the VIN and install and coding?

Thanks for the help

Uri
He was talking about ECU tuning of his car for performance, that is not necessary for this modification.
__________________

2017 6MT F80 M3 - Mineral Grey over Sakhir - Executive & Lighting Packages, 19" Wheels
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 09:14 AM   #32
juniortabak
Private First Class
juniortabak's Avatar
32
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf32 View Post
He was talking about ECU tuning of his car for performance, that is not necessary for this modification.
thanks i already have Jb4 with stage 2 downpipe 365 HP and 60Kp on a dyno.

replace as well the charge pipe



Thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 01:12 PM   #33
Paolo73
New Member
Italy
1
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw M4 YMB
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pordenone/ITALY

iTrader: (0)

The Ecu tunings works better, many parameters controlled with a better Horse Power gain.
I use 100 octane gas only.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 03:14 PM   #34
juniortabak
Private First Class
juniortabak's Avatar
32
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
The Ecu tunings works better, many parameters controlled with a better Horse Power gain.
I use 100 octane gas only.
Very nice to know.

Could you PM what parameter you changed and how did you do it.

thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 02:33 AM   #35
Paolo73
New Member
Italy
1
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw M4 YMB
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pordenone/ITALY

iTrader: (0)

I am not an expert.
But the Ecu is like the brain that control 100% of the parameters.
JB,scortcher AFE...is like a faked brain that have just few connections with the engine and than less power's gain.
In Europe there are now many tuners that can do Ecu flashing.
For the engine N55 the Ecu's case is in the center of the engine, it takes more than one hour to reach that, then open the case and then the tuning protection codes needs to be cancelled.
You have to do this job the very first time only, then you can use the OBD II because the Ecu is unlocked now.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 06:50 AM   #36
juniortabak
Private First Class
juniortabak's Avatar
32
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
For the M Kombi you have to clear the former Vin with yours.
Install the New Kombi and then coding.
Remember to code the M view also in you have Hud.
Some little issue i am still facing, but it is matter of time..
You can choose the Bmw logo,M3 or M4.
Now opening the Ecu is for remapping the engine and adds more Hp.
This is the way we follow in Europe now for Fxx series.
Thanks,

Could you send me all the codes that you have already done?

regarding the VIN the seller will clear it for me with my VIN number.

i would code the car by myself so i really need your help on that one.

i have F30 335i

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 08:17 PM   #37
Paolo73
New Member
Italy
1
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw M4 YMB
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pordenone/ITALY

iTrader: (0)

Here is a picture of my combi on 435 F33 with digital speedo and gears.
http://i.imgur.com/jihHnQK.jpg
Very cool...
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 08:32 PM   #38
Catania830
BMW Client Advisor
Catania830's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: i8
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73
Here is a picture of my combi on 435 F33 with digital speedo and gears.
http://i.imgur.com/jihHnQK.jpg
Very cool...
Want to put up a DIY guide?
__________________
2016 i8 Tera World
2015 F82 M4 475/LKDA[Sold]
2014 F32 435i 300/KCSW [Sold]
2012 F30 328i A96/LCL3 Sport Line[Sold]
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 11:49 PM   #39
Chris@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Chris@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
93
Rep
1,397
Posts


Drives: AW F30 328i Xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catania830 View Post
That red dot would annoy me... I don't know, the M-kombi makes a lot of sense if you unlock the ecu otherwise I would just want to code the kombi to have the M like display with the huge speedometer and what gear your in. I have a manual so that would be ideal for me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
For the M Kombi you have to clear the former Vin with yours.
Install the New Kombi and then coding.
Remember to code the M view also in you have Hud.
Some little issue i am still facing, but it is matter of time..
You can choose the Bmw logo,M3 or M4.
Now opening the Ecu is for remapping the engine and adds more Hp.
This is the way we follow in Europe now for Fxx series.

in order to get rid of the red tampered dot you must clear the vin AND the mileage on the kombi.
i retrofitted 6WA kombi into my car and when i initially installed i got red dot and service intervals not syncing (cannot communicate because vin mismatch)

Then I cleared the vin and service intervals came back but red dot stayed (mileage mismatch).

Cleared vin and mileage plugged it all back in and red dot went away.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(416)833-4921 (9:00am - 7:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
Competitive pricing on Enhanced Bluetooth, Sirius XM, Backup Cameras as well as NBT and NBT EVO Retrofits
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 11:55 PM   #40
Chris@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Chris@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
93
Rep
1,397
Posts


Drives: AW F30 328i Xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by x5mad View Post
This post made me wonder if someone changed out their kombi, drove for a while and then put old one back in when came time to sell, would the buyer know this has been done?

Ie would the car state less mileage than its actually done? How would one find out? Kinda worrying if this is being used to manipulate mileage. Not saying anyone here is but you never know with all the thousands of cars out there.
The Milage of your car is stored on your CAS and in Kombi. When you replace your cluster it will take the highest mileage and replace both values.

So if your cars mileage is 10k and the cluster you want to retrofit is 32k.
you car will from then on show it is 32k and there is nothing you can really do about it. Well...at least no one on the forums have been able to revert that change.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(416)833-4921 (9:00am - 7:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
Competitive pricing on Enhanced Bluetooth, Sirius XM, Backup Cameras as well as NBT and NBT EVO Retrofits
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2015, 04:58 AM   #41
juniortabak
Private First Class
juniortabak's Avatar
32
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
Here is a picture of my combi on 435 F33 with digital speedo and gears.
http://i.imgur.com/jihHnQK.jpg
Very cool...
Very very cool,

i will get mine in 2 weeks could you please send me the coding that you have change?

thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2015, 12:52 PM   #42
Catania830
BMW Client Advisor
Catania830's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: i8
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by juniortabak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
Here is a picture of my combi on 435 F33 with digital speedo and gears.
http://i.imgur.com/jihHnQK.jpg
Very cool...
Very very cool,

i will get mine in 2 weeks could you please send me the coding that you have change?

thanks
+1 please
__________________
2016 i8 Tera World
2015 F82 M4 475/LKDA[Sold]
2014 F32 435i 300/KCSW [Sold]
2012 F30 328i A96/LCL3 Sport Line[Sold]
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2015, 01:29 PM   #43
Paolo73
New Member
Italy
1
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: Bmw M4 YMB
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pordenone/ITALY

iTrader: (0)

Still workin' on it..
Guru meditation...
The kilometers shown are my effective even with the red dot.
The M cluster bought is used and had a higher kilometers.

Last edited by Paolo73; 03-07-2015 at 01:36 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2015, 03:44 PM   #44
juniortabak
Private First Class
juniortabak's Avatar
32
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: M135i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo73 View Post
Still workin' on it..
Guru meditation...
The kilometers shown are my effective even with the red dot.
The M cluster bought is used and had a higher kilometers.
HA HA could you send us what you have for now?


Thanks
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST