F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > DIY: Illuminated LCI AC/radio trim retrofit
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-24-2017, 07:35 PM   #661
sephiroth127
Registered
sephiroth127's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F32 M4
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSBhopal View Post
Dante How can I get one of these cables premade?
I saw one on ebay,but not sure if it is the right one.
Is anyone who can confirm it for me?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-BMW-...e=STRK:MESE:IT
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2017, 01:29 AM   #662
Dante
Enthusiast
Dante's Avatar
Germany
209
Rep
1,691
Posts

Drives: F31 330d / E89 Z4 30i
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sephiroth127 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSBhopal View Post
Dante How can I get one of these cables premade?
I saw one on ebay,but not sure if it is the right one.
Is anyone who can confirm it for me?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-BMW-...e=STRK:MESE:IT
Yes, that would fit.
But it's quite expensive and doesn't look very well made.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 01:59 AM   #663
kfuglsang
New Member
1
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: BMW 330d F31 MSport
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denmark

iTrader: (0)

I'm trying to do this but I'm currently stuck trying to disconnect the plug that goes to the AC/Radio panels.

Is there a hook on it that I can't see or does it simply just pull out?
I'm not eager to use any more force than I'm currently doing ;-)
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 04:07 AM   #664
Tavicu
New Member
Romania
2
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: F31
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfuglsang View Post
I'm trying to do this but I'm currently stuck trying to disconnect the plug that goes to the AC/Radio panels.

Is there a hook on it that I can't see or does it simply just pull out?
I'm not eager to use any more force than I'm currently doing ;-)
Yup, it has a small hook.

You can pull everything out from the trim to have more visibility.

The key is to lift a little bit when you pull. As it is right now you need to pull to you since the hook is on the inner part.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 07:49 AM   #665
macs
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: f31
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

Hi everybody, I would like to retrofit this in opposite way, I have an LCI model with radio surround LED but without cup holder one. I've already added the cupholder LED but my model has only amber lighting, I miss the fourth cable on the connector for white light. No problem to find, and in case add the missing cable but anybody knows if it's possible to code the double color setting on the HU to make it work?
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 09:00 AM   #666
Dante
Enthusiast
Dante's Avatar
Germany
209
Rep
1,691
Posts

Drives: F31 330d / E89 Z4 30i
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by macs View Post
Hi everybody, I would like to retrofit this in opposite way, I have an LCI model with radio surround LED but without cup holder one. I've already added the cupholder LED but my model has only amber lighting, I miss the fourth cable on the connector for white light. No problem to find, and in case add the missing cable but anybody knows if it's possible to code the double color setting on the HU to make it work?
I don't know what to code exactly, but it is possible.
The LED modules fitted on your car are all able to produce both colors.
It's always 3 wires, brown (ground), red/white or red (orange LED), blue/white or black (white LED). No 4th wire required.
See also post no. 2 in this thread.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2017, 02:01 PM   #667
macs
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: f31
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dante View Post
It's always 3 wires,.
Ooops, you're right, I meant I have 2 wires only: Brown (ground) and white/red (orange light, connected on line 58g), what I miss is the third cable (should be blue/red, that is connected on line 58g_2) for the white light.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 10:00 AM   #668
Exprezzyourself
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW 4 Coupe M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: West Midlands, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dante View Post
Yes, that would fit.
But it's quite expensive and doesn't look very well made.
I'd like to buy one of your adapters. Have you still got them in stock?
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2017, 05:45 PM   #669
jojo7
Private
9
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: F320i
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I just did the retrofit. Great and easy retrofit that adds a lot to the interior of the car. Thanks Dante for an awesome write-up.
Appreciate 1
      09-26-2017, 10:04 PM   #670
Hawkeye10
Registered
2
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (0)

Took less than 10 minutes and the Y cable from Dante was perfect. Thanks dude
Appreciate 0
      09-27-2017, 10:22 AM   #671
jkwhar
Second Lieutenant
28
Rep
274
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Xdrive | F15 x35i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (2)

If anyones is interested, I'm selling my LCI bezel and the Y adapter I made.

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1425632
__________________
Did my post help? Click "Appreciate!"

F30 328i xDrive Sport Line | 475 BSM | 2A5 18" | Cold Weather | Nav Pro | Tech Pkg | Injen Intake | DINAN Sport Tuner | Integral Audio | Retrofit: 522 & 524 EDM | 5AC HBA | VLD | 2TB SAT | 508 | 3AG | 5DL
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2017, 10:49 AM   #672
merlin21
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Hello,

My car doesn't have either the cupholder led or the light package (so no pedal lights).
I was thinking of powering the light strip from the hazard light.

Can it be done?
Does anyone know which of the 4 wires that goes to the hazard switch should i use to connect to the 3 pin socket of the trim?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2017, 08:43 AM   #673
F30-BeeNee
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F30 320D XDRIVE M SPORT
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Thumbs up Help Needed!

Hi All,

Really interested in this.

My car doesn't have the lighting package (I don't think) and doesn't have lights above the cup holders. Can I still do this? and will it need to be coded ?

Is there anyone who is selling the Y Adaptors? or fancies making one and I'll buy it off you? not the best at DIY lol.

Regards
Ben
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2017, 09:03 AM   #674
Dante
Enthusiast
Dante's Avatar
Germany
209
Rep
1,691
Posts

Drives: F31 330d / E89 Z4 30i
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by F30-BeeNee View Post
Hi All,

Really interested in this.

My car doesn't have the lighting package (I don't think) and doesn't have lights above the cup holders. Can I still do this? and will it need to be coded ?

Is there anyone who is selling the Y Adaptors? or fancies making one and I'll buy it off you? not the best at DIY lol.

Regards
Ben
Hi Ben,

if you have an M-Sport Model, you should have the cupholder LED.
Which build date is your car? You can also PN me your VIN if you like, then I can check if my mod works for you or not.

Cheers
C.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST