F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Canadian F30 Combox Coding?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-13-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
Stokkes
Grand Pumba
Stokkes's Avatar
Canada
4
Rep
49
Posts

Drives: 2013 328xi Sport Line (GS/Red)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ottawa

iTrader: (0)

Canadian F30 Combox Coding?

Hey all,

I currently have a 2012 328i which I leased a bit in haste last year (deal was too good) but I was never really happy as I never had the premium package and do a lot of skiing (my seats don't go down). My dealer is willing to give me a break on a demo 2013 328xi with premium.

I looked at the car and noticed there is a combox in the trunk (whereas mine is absent). From reading on these forums it appears the 2013 F30 all contain a combox and therefore coding the Enhanced BT is possible because the hardware and wiring is already there.

Can someone confirm this? The new demo does NOT have bmw assist with enhanced bluetooth nor BMW apps. So if I get the car, will I be able to code :

1. Enhanced BT
2. Office functionality (connected drive)
3. BMW Apps (I realize I will probably need to pay as it requires an FSC code)

I have coded my 2012 with E-Sys so I am a familiar with the process.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2013, 04:02 PM   #2
avantix
Captain
Canada
113
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2016 Silverstone M3
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (6)

You can enable enhanced bluetooth if your car has options 6NH (bluetooth) and 609 (navigation) I've done it and it gives you access to Office and enhanced bluetooth. As far as apps you would have to buy an activation code as I understand it.
__________________
2013 335i Xdrive Mineral Gray M sport package 6 MT
2009 335i Alpine White M sport package 6 MT
2006 Jet Black / Black ZSP 325i 6MT
2004 Jet Black / Black 320i 6MT
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2013, 04:31 PM   #3
HFW003
Colonel
HFW003's Avatar
Australia
678
Rep
2,367
Posts

Drives: MY16 MG F10 528
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newcastle, Australia

iTrader: (0)

1.Yes
2.Yes
3.Yes
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2013, 01:37 PM   #4
csemaa
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: BMW X4 2015 xDrive 35i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ottawa

iTrader: (0)

Stokkes- did you find anybody to help you change the bluetooth code to 6NF?
i live in ottawa and i am also looking to change the codes on my BT to 6NF along with some other changes. so maybe you can share some of the info or help direct me to the right resources. thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2013, 02:00 PM   #5
Stokkes
Grand Pumba
Stokkes's Avatar
Canada
4
Rep
49
Posts

Drives: 2013 328xi Sport Line (GS/Red)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ottawa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csemaa View Post
Stokkes- did you find anybody to help you change the bluetooth code to 6NF?
i live in ottawa and i am also looking to change the codes on my BT to 6NF along with some other changes. so maybe you can share some of the info or help direct me to the right resources. thanks
Took delivery of the car last week and it had the Enhanced BT. I coded some options though over the weekend. Depending on what you're looking for, I could help out. PM me if you're interested.
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2013, 08:53 PM   #6
csemaa
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: BMW X4 2015 xDrive 35i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ottawa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by avantix View Post
You can enable enhanced bluetooth if your car has options 6NH (bluetooth) and 609 (navigation) I've done it and it gives you access to Office and enhanced bluetooth. As far as apps you would have to buy an activation code as I understand it.
Avantix - i have 6NH (basic bluetooth) and 609 (navigation) ; how did you enabled the enhanced bluetooth? did you have to buy an extra hardware piece or it is just coding ?
i am also interested in getting the bmw apps; where can i buy the activation code? thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 04:52 PM   #7
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
10
Rep
249
Posts

Drives: 2016 F25 35xi
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csemaa
Stokkes- did you find anybody to help you change the bluetooth code to 6NF?
i live in ottawa and i am also looking to change the codes on my BT to 6NF along with some other changes. so maybe you can share some of the info or help direct me to the right resources. thanks
I'm from ottawa if you need some coding done to you Fxx series pm me.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2013, 03:33 PM   #8
euro-r
Private
euro-r's Avatar
3
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 17' BMW X5 | MSport | MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csemaa View Post
Avantix - i have 6NH (basic bluetooth) and 609 (navigation) ; how did you enabled the enhanced bluetooth? did you have to buy an extra hardware piece or it is just coding ?
i am also interested in getting the bmw apps; where can i buy the activation code? thanks


Same here, only have basic bluetooth and navigation on my f30 13' 335i. I woul d like to know how to enable the enhanced bluetooth as well.
Thanks,
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2013, 10:32 PM   #9
shawnsheridan
Lieutenant General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
1519
Rep
14,263
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro-r View Post
Same here, only have basic bluetooth and navigation on my f30 13' 335i. I woul d like to know how to enable the enhanced bluetooth as well.
Thanks,
Step 1. Change FA from 6NH to 6NS:
E-Sys - How to change FA in F-series car.pdf
Step 2. VO Code Head Unit and standalone Combox (CMB_MEDIA) if present:
Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on Head Unit ECU (e.g. HU_NBT, HU_CIC, HU_CHAMP, HU_ENTRY, HU_ENTRYNAV, etc.) (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE (Not Code FDL).
Repeat Step 2 above for and standalone Combox (CMB_MEDIA) if present.

* Note: 6NS is used for NBT Head Unit. For cars with 6NH and ENTRY or CHAMP2 Head Units, use 6NK, or 6NL if car is equipped with BMW Assist.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 05-17-2017 at 07:52 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2013, 04:29 AM   #10
euro-r
Private
euro-r's Avatar
3
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 17' BMW X5 | MSport | MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 12:08 PM   #11
75fusca
Enlisted Member
75fusca's Avatar
Canada
5
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i (May ED)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

I have a Canadian 2014 F30 base with large screen NAV and enhanced Bluetooth.
My car has BMW Assist and shows Connected Drive in the menu (Service appointments, customer relations, etc.)

But I cannot send Google maps to my car (Even via Classic maps) or login to BMW App US. After been told by the dealership I should be able to do it, they now say that I need to upgrade to "Professional" ($900).

Is it possible to activate send maps or even office via a less expensive option?
Is it just coding or some activation that BMW only can do?
__________________
May 2014 ED 320i Sedan / Liquid Blue Metallic
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 01:31 PM   #12
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
178
Rep
1,558
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75fusca View Post
I have a Canadian 2014 F30 base with large screen NAV and enhanced Bluetooth.
My car has BMW Assist and shows Connected Drive in the menu (Service appointments, customer relations, etc.)

But I cannot send Google maps to my car (Even via Classic maps) or login to BMW App US. After been told by the dealership I should be able to do it, they now say that I need to upgrade to "Professional" ($900).

Is it possible to activate send maps or even office via a less expensive option?
Is it just coding or some activation that BMW only can do?

To send directions to the car, you will need remote services and it is subscription based and thus cannot be activated via coding.

I believe BMW just whitelists your VIN for that and you just do a BMW Assist update on your idrive to enable the option.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(416)833-4921 (9:00am - 7:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
Competitive pricing on Enhanced Bluetooth, Sirius XM, Backup Cameras as well as NBT and NBT EVO Retrofits
Appreciate 1
      08-27-2014, 12:42 PM   #13
IainSmith
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: M135i May 2014
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Leeds UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Step 1. Change FA from 6NH to 6NS:
Attachment 953972
Step 2. VO Code Head Unit and standalone Combox (CMB_MEDIA) if present:
Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on Head Unit ECU (e.g. HU_NBT, HU_CIC, HU_CHAMP, HU_ENTRY, HU_ENTRYNAV, etc.) (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE (Not Code FDL).
Repeat Step 2 above for and standalone Combox (CMB_MEDIA) if present.

* Note: 6NS is used for newer Head Unit firmwares >= 07/13. For older Head Unit firmwares, use 6NK or 6NL if car is equipped with BMW Assist.


Shawn.. one step further, Im onto step 2 but when i go and select code, it says Please activate an FA first. [G008], which i had already done. I had already activated it? am i missing something?
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2014, 04:50 PM   #14
shawnsheridan
Lieutenant General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
1519
Rep
14,263
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by IainSmith View Post
Shawn.. one step further, Im onto step 2 but when i go and select code, it says Please activate an FA first. [G008], which i had already done. I had already activated it? am i missing something?
Close E-Sys and try again, and make sure you do not Save FA first, and make sure you are in the Coding Module.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 10:59 PM   #15
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
15
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Step 1. Change FA from 6NH to 6NS:
Attachment 953972
Step 2. VO Code Head Unit and standalone Combox (CMB_MEDIA) if present:
Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on Head Unit ECU (e.g. HU_NBT, HU_CIC, HU_CHAMP, HU_ENTRY, HU_ENTRYNAV, etc.) (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE (Not Code FDL).
Repeat Step 2 above for and standalone Combox (CMB_MEDIA) if present.

* Note: 6NS is used for newer Head Unit firmwares >= 07/13. For older Head Unit firmwares, use 6NK or 6NL if car is equipped with BMW Assist.
Hi Shawn,

My car build date is 10/12, and I'm going to retrofit a very new NBT unit with build date 05/14. I originally have 6NF, 6NK , is that I need to replace these 2 codes with 6NS? Just want to double confirm.

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 11:12 PM   #16
shawnsheridan
Lieutenant General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
1519
Rep
14,263
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolala View Post
Hi Shawn,

My car build date is 10/12, and I'm going to retrofit a very new NBT unit with build date 05/14. I originally have 6NF, 6NK , is that I need to replace these 2 codes with 6NS? Just want to double confirm.

Thanks in advance!
6NK, yes.

6NF is your Baseplate. You would not remove this unless you were also removing your Baseplate.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 11:28 PM   #17
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
15
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
6NK, yes.

6NF is your Baseplate. You would not remove this unless you were also removing your Baseplate.
Shawn,

I found someone or you in the previous posts mentioned that when adding 6NS, it will include the baseplate function 6NF too. So, for my case:
1. 6NF, 6NK -> 6NS alone or
2. 6NF, 6NK -> 6NF, 6NS

a little bit confusing....

Thanks again!
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 11:47 PM   #18
shawnsheridan
Lieutenant General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
1519
Rep
14,263
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolala View Post
Shawn,

I found someone or you in the previous posts mentioned that when adding 6NS, it will include the baseplate function 6NF too. So, for my case:
1. 6NF, 6NK -> 6NS alone or
2. 6NF, 6NK -> 6NF, 6NS

a little bit confusing....

Thanks again!
I know when 6NK came out, it eliminated 6FL USB Port. I don't recall if when 6NS came out though, it also eliminated 6NF.

I's remove 6NF, and if baseplate quits working, just add it back.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 11:54 PM   #19
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
15
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I know when 6NK came out, it eliminated 6FL USB Port. I don't recall if when 6NS came out though, it also eliminated 6NF.

I's remove 6NF, and if baseplate quits working, just add it back.
Ok, I will just remove 6NF first. Actually, I don't have mobile phone slot-in adapter.

What I know there may be a USB wire connected under the baseplate (which originally connected to the trunk Combox as I found there are 2 Fraka cable connected).

Thanks a lot!
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2015, 10:19 PM   #20
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
15
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I know when 6NK came out, it eliminated 6FL USB Port. I don't recall if when 6NS came out though, it also eliminated 6NF.

I's remove 6NF, and if baseplate quits working, just add it back.
Hi Shawn,

For my case, car build date 10/12 and NBT head unit build date mid 2014, do I need to change the build date of FA when VO coding NBT?

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2015, 06:01 AM   #21
shawnsheridan
Lieutenant General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
1519
Rep
14,263
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolala View Post
Hi Shawn,

For my case, car build date 10/12 and NBT head unit build date mid 2014, do I need to change the build date of FA when VO coding NBT?

Thanks in advance!
If your NBT was retrofitted, then you should use newer FA build date to VO Code it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2015, 08:59 PM   #22
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
15
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If your NBT was retrofitted, then you should use newer FA build date to VO Code it.
Thanks Shawn!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST