F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > AUSTRALIA > Dashcam Installation
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-07-2016, 07:13 AM   #67
feng
First Lieutenant
feng's Avatar
Australia
47
Rep
395
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 328i M-Sport AW
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyboxers View Post
Also when the voltage drops below 11.8v will the PMP light still be lit and the Blackvue just not turn on or will then PMP be off as well?
I can check for you... but my car is in for service at the moment, so unfortunately it'll need to wait till the weekend.

From my understanding, the light will be off.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2016, 06:40 PM   #68
Monkeyboxers
Private First Class
Australia
20
Rep
149
Posts

Drives: '16 F30 330i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Thanks feng. Just another update, the PMP seems to be dead at the moment. After last night's adjustment of 11.8v/6 hrs and firmware update, I cannot restart the unit. Switching off and on is not turning it on, even after driving 40 mins to work.

I've unplugged the connector to the PMP and see if that will revive it this afternoon. Not looking good!
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2016, 08:13 PM   #69
feng
First Lieutenant
feng's Avatar
Australia
47
Rep
395
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 328i M-Sport AW
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyboxers View Post
Thanks feng. Just another update, the PMP seems to be dead at the moment. After last night's adjustment of 11.8v/6 hrs and firmware update, I cannot restart the unit. Switching off and on is not turning it on, even after driving 40 mins to work.

I've unplugged the connector to the PMP and see if that will revive it this afternoon. Not looking good!
ah bummer... yeah it did sound like the PMP wasn't working as it should.

If you have the PMP off though, I thought the dashcam should work in normal bypass mode? I'd have to confirm with mine when I get my car back this arvo (i.e. turns on with ACC and off after 20min standby).
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2016, 10:01 PM   #70
Monkeyboxers
Private First Class
Australia
20
Rep
149
Posts

Drives: '16 F30 330i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

I'll give that bypass a try today. I'll switch the PMP off and drive and see the Blackvue powers on.

One thing I've noticed though, you have two fuses on the fuse bridge whilst I only have 1; original fuse for rear lights. Fuse 161.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2016, 12:08 AM   #71
MikeVictor
Brigadier General
Australia
142
Rep
3,284
Posts

Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by feng View Post
ah bummer... yeah it did sound like the PMP wasn't working as it should.

If you have the PMP off though, I thought the dashcam should work in normal bypass mode? I'd have to confirm with mine when I get my car back this arvo (i.e. turns on with ACC and off after 20min standby).
That's my understanding too.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2016, 12:15 AM   #72
MikeVictor
Brigadier General
Australia
142
Rep
3,284
Posts

Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyboxers View Post
I'll give that bypass a try today. I'll switch the PMP off and drive and see the Blackvue powers on.

One thing I've noticed though, you have two fuses on the fuse bridge whilst I only have 1; original fuse for rear lights. Fuse 161.
I think this might be your problem right here at 161. Look at how a fuse tap works:

Appreciate 1
      04-08-2016, 04:13 AM   #73
Monkeyboxers
Private First Class
Australia
20
Rep
149
Posts

Drives: '16 F30 330i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

MikeVictor i thought it looked weird. Purchased the fuse and seems to be working fine now, will monitor over night. Fingers crossed
Appreciate 1
      04-08-2016, 05:12 AM   #74
MikeVictor
Brigadier General
Australia
142
Rep
3,284
Posts

Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyboxers View Post
MikeVictor i thought it looked weird. Purchased the fuse and seems to be working fine now, will monitor over night. Fingers crossed
Mate I'm cheering for you quietly over here - I know how frustrating this sort of thing can be!
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2016, 06:16 AM   #75
feng
First Lieutenant
feng's Avatar
Australia
47
Rep
395
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 328i M-Sport AW
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

YES! that's definitely it!

The fuse tap should've come with extra fuses... I couldn't see it in the original picture, but as Mike mentioned, you need to have the two in there, so super stoked that it'll probably behave as it should now!

And looking at your picture again, I'm doubtful your antidazzle would've been working (without the bottom fuse).
Appreciate 1
Tux11

      04-10-2016, 08:33 PM   #76
Monkeyboxers
Private First Class
Australia
20
Rep
149
Posts

Drives: '16 F30 330i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

feng MikeVictor guys, this has solved the issue. Geez, such simple thing that was missed made it such a frustration!

Thanks both for the constant guidance.
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2016, 09:13 PM   #77
feng
First Lieutenant
feng's Avatar
Australia
47
Rep
395
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 328i M-Sport AW
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

Great news! and definitely no problems.
Appreciate 0
      04-11-2016, 12:39 AM   #78
MikeVictor
Brigadier General
Australia
142
Rep
3,284
Posts

Drives: anything given a chance
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .au

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyboxers View Post
feng MikeVictor guys, this has solved the issue. Geez, such simple thing that was missed made it such a frustration!

Thanks both for the constant guidance.
You're welcome
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2016, 01:57 PM   #79
AMDG
Private First Class
United_States
48
Rep
184
Posts

Drives: 428iX Gran Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: The Castle Of My Skin

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the post and follow-ups. I'll be trying this in the near future, so hopefully all goes well.
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2016, 06:59 PM   #80
etclam
F30
Australia
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: F30 320i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

SD Card

Hi All,

I am about to pull the trigger on the Blackvue DR650GW-2CH Dash Cam. I like to get some advise for those who has installed and using this model:

1. I am planning to install both cameras and intend to use them for parking mode, is 32GB SD card sufficient (say if look to have at least 3 hours of recording in parking)? I am not sure how fast they will fill up given there are 2 cameras.

2. I have called a couple of dealers, and they told me that I need to buy the SD card from the manufacturing, because they are having issues getting non manufacturer card to work with the unit, is that the case? I thought it will work as long as it is a Class 10 sd card. I guess I want the recording to be reliable otherwise it will defeat the purpose of having the dashcam

3. I am thinking of getting the Celllink battery as well to for its UPS capabilities, and plugging it to the cigarette lighter under the glove compartment. Has anyone used it this way, and has there been any issue?

Thank you in advance!
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2016, 12:29 AM   #81
pmunger
Private
Australia
3
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 335i F30 M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Hi,
I have this dashcam - very good.

I use a 128GB Sandisk MicroSD Ultra Class 10 - works fine, more storage is better as it overwrites older files when space is required.
__________________
335i M Sport | Mineral Grey | HUD | Sunroof | Comfort Access.

Last edited by pmunger; 05-21-2016 at 12:47 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2016, 08:05 PM   #82
etclam
F30
Australia
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: F30 320i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Pmunger, did you have to do anything special to the sd card before it will work with the dashcam?

Also, did you hook up your dashcam to the lighter or you run it direct to car battery? I am interested to see if anyone out there is using a non car-battery setup and what their experience is like.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2016, 11:59 PM   #83
pmunger
Private
Australia
3
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 335i F30 M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

I think I formatted the SD with the software that comes with the Blackvue.

I hard wired mine in using the Blackvue Power Magic PRO to save the cars battery.
__________________
335i M Sport | Mineral Grey | HUD | Sunroof | Comfort Access.
Appreciate 1
      06-09-2016, 09:35 AM   #84
etclam
F30
Australia
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: F30 320i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Bought the DR650GW-2CH (32GB) with the Cellink battery Series 2.

A mate of mine who knows his way around cars, did the install over the weekend. He ran the cables over the headline section, and had the Cellink battery plugged into the boot cigarette lighter socket.

I didn't hook the Cellink battery to the car fuses, as I am concerned it will cause issue with the car electronics and the in-car battery. I understand from the Cellink manual I can plug it direct in to the cigarette socket (5A mode), as it only charge when the car is running and will run the cameras from the Cellink battery in parking mode. Keepigg an eye on this given it is only a week for me.

First impression, the front camera quality is excellent during the day and very good in the dark, and the rear camera is ok given the dark factory tint and the lower res, but in the night it is struggling with low lighting.

I will buy a new Sandisk Class 10 ultra and try to see if it is any good. I have downloaded the Blackvue windows viewer software and will format it using it.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2016, 07:11 AM   #85
feng
First Lieutenant
feng's Avatar
Australia
47
Rep
395
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 328i M-Sport AW
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

hey guys... word of caution... DO NOT buy Sandisk MicroSDs for your Blackvues.

Read here: http://blackvueshop.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=721

I had one of the ultra's die on me. Bought a Lexar 300x off ebay for mine.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2016, 10:34 AM   #86
etclam
F30
Australia
0
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: F30 320i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

I ended up buying a 64GB Lexar 300x as well. So far so good. The OEM 32GB can store a couple of days worth of footage with parking mode on.
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2016, 01:53 AM   #87
mjomaa
Enlisted Member
mjomaa's Avatar
3
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i M sport F30
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sydney, NSW

iTrader: (0)

Hi guys,

Ive got the Blackvue setup with PMP - thanks to feng and everyone whos contributed ideas on this thread to make it all easier.

Just a quick question in regards to hardwiring (not completely finished yet); I purchased the std and mini fuse taps from jaycar, they dont come with extra fuses. Obviously, id need to grab some, so what amperage fuses should i be grabbing?

Also, where has everyone mounted their ground wire?

Thanks guys
__________________
2015 F30 320i M sport
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2017, 08:47 PM   #88
feng
First Lieutenant
feng's Avatar
Australia
47
Rep
395
Posts

Drives: 2014 F31 328i M-Sport AW
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

i'm in a meeting now, but I have since removed my PMP and gone with a Cellink Battery B.

I'll write up a quick review on that when I get a chance.

I must say, it is very worth the money.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST